Moray House School of Education and Sport

ETL Institute staff

Contact details of staff based in our Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL).

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Dr Serdar Abaci Lecturer in Data and Digital Literacies serdar.abaci@ed.ac.uk
Dr Ramsey Affifi Lecturer, Science (Biology) & Environmental Philosophy Education ramsey.affifi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6207
Ramone Al Bishawi Research Assistant ramone.bishawi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7112
Dr Mary Andrew Honorary Fellow mary.andrew@ed.ac.uk
Lorraine Archibald Teaching Fellow (Primary Education) lorraine.archibald@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Dr Simon Beames Senior Lecturer in Outdoor Learning simon.beames@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6093
Dr Shereen Benjamin Senior Lecturer in Primary Education shereen.benjamin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6147
Professor Gert Biesta Deputy Head of Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) / Professor of Educational Theory and Pedagogy gert.biesta@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6032
Dr Mary Bovill Programme Director: PGDE (Secondary Education) / Lecturer and Researcher mary.bovill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4837
Fiona Bowie Teaching Fellow in Gaelic Education fiona.bowie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6476
Kevin Brack Senior Teaching Fellow in Educational Leadership kevin.brack@ed.ac.uk
Dr Audrey Cameron Chancellor's Fellow (Science Education and BSL) audrey.m.cameron@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6429
Professor David Carr Professor Emeritus david.carr@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6160
Dr Sue Chapman Programme Director: PGDE Primary Education sue.chapman@ed.ac.uk
Dr Beth Christie Senior Lecturer / Programme Director: Learning for Sustainability programme beth.christie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4720
Dr David A. G. Clarke Teaching Fellow in Outdoor Learning and Sustainability Education david.clarke@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6093
Dorothy Coe Senior Teaching Fellow in Primary Education dorothy.coe@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Dr Laura Colucci-Gray Head of Institute of Education, Teaching and Leadership (ETL) / Senior Lecturer in Science and Sustainability Education laura.colucci-gray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6376
Joanna Courtney Specialist Speech and Language Therapist, CALL Scotland joanna.courtney@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6480
Morag Crolla Deputy Programme Director: PGDE (Primary Education) / Teaching Fellow / FHEA morag.crolla@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6224
Dr Joan Cutting Honorary Fellow joan.cutting@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6324
Dr Pauline Duncan Postdoctoral Research Associate pauline.duncan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6428
Catherine Dunn Research Associate catherine.dunn@ed.ac.uk
Dr Andrea R. English Senior Lecturer in Philosophy of Education (Associate Professor)/ Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion andrea.english@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6172
Dr Maureen Finn Director of STEP maureen.finn@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6440
Isobel Finnie Teaching Fellow in Art isobel.finnie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6007
Professor Lani Florian Bell Chair of Education lani.florian@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4840
Dr Yvonne Foley Senior Lecturer yvonne.foley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6127
Ruth Forrester Lecturer in Mathematics Education ruth.forrester@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6431
Caroline Gordon Literacy Teaching Fellow caroline.gordon9@ed.ac.uk
Rosemary Grady Lecturer in Educational Leadership & Learning rosemary.grady@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6013
Carol Graham Associate Tutor (Specific Learning Difficulties) carol.graham@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6429
Frances Griffin Place2Be Consultant/Trainer frances.griffin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6628
Dr Juliet Hancock Director of Professional Learning / Teaching Fellow juliet.hancock@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Claire Harrison Development Officer - Assistive Technology & Complex Needs, CALL Scotland claire.harrison@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6076
Professor Peter Higgins Chair in Outdoor Environmental & Sustainability Education, Director of the United Nations University Regional Centre for ESD (Scotland), Director of the Global Environment & Society Academy pete.higgins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9795
Dr Jule Hildmann Senior Research Fellow (Outdoor Learning) jule.hildmann@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6031
Dr Deborah Holt Director of Quality Assurance and Enhancement / Lecturer in Health and Wellbeing and mental health promotion deborah.holt@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6609
Nick Hood Senior Teaching Fellow in Secondary Education (Physics Specialist) nick.hood@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6341
Claire Hornby Teaching Fellow in Primary Education (ASL) clairehornby@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6418
Dr Cathy Howieson Honorary Fellow c.howieson@ed.ac.uk
Xiaoyi Hu PG Tutor (ETL) xiaoyi.hu@ed.ac.uk
Demi Hunter Research Assistant demi.hunter@ed.ac.uk
Claire Hyslop Teaching Fellow in English Education claire.hyslop@ed.ac.uk
Dr Andrina Inglis Teaching Fellow andrina.inglis@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6446
Anne Kent Senior Teaching Fellow anne.kent@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Jennifer A L Kirkwood Programme Director: PGDE (Primary Education) / Bicentennial Education Fellow jennifer.kirkwood@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6103
Sheila Laing Honorary Fellow sheila.laing@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6013
Dr Hui-Chuan (Jane) Li Lecturer in Mathematics Education huichuan.li@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6618
Dr Holly Linklater Lecturer in Inclusive Pedagogy holly.linklater@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6254
Dr Michael Lynch Deputy Head of Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) / Senior Lecturer in Language Studies michael.lynch@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6422
Dr Ann MacDonald Senior Lecturer ann.a.m.macdonald@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6430
Lucy MacIntosh Teaching Fellow (History) lucy.macintosh@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6443
Judith Mackinlay Teaching Fellow judith.mackinlay@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6334
John Joe MacNeil Programme Director: MA (Hons) Primary Education with Gaelic / Senior Teaching Fellow in Gaelic Education johnjoe.macneil@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6203
Elizabeth McCann Teaching Fellow - Visual Impairment elizabeth.mccann@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418/651 6501
Monica McGhee Teaching Fellow in History Education m.mcghee@ed.ac.uk
Steve McLeister Senior Teaching Fellow in Geography Education steve.mcleister@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6443
Diane Mclellan Braille Tutor (SSC) diane.mclellan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6501
Heather McMillan Secondment Teaching Fellow (Music) heather.mcmillan@ed.ac.uk
Peter McNaughton Senior Teaching Fellow, Professional Learning peter.mcnaughton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3003
Gillian McNeill Specialist Speech and Language Therapist, CALL Scotland gillian.mcneill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6073
Professor Pamela Munn Professor Emerita pamela.munn@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6357
Dr Diana Murdoch Post-Doctoral Fellow in Inclusive Pedagogy diana.murdoch@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6336
Rosa Murray Deputy Head of Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) / Deputy Director of Teacher Education rosa.murray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4881
Professor Robbie Nicol Professor of Place-Based Education robbie.nicol@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9793
Paul Nisbet Senior Research Fellow paul.nisbet@ed.ac.uk +44 131 651 6072
Dr Nataša Pantić Senior Lecturer natasa.pantic@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6626
Teresa Quail CPD Co-ordinator for Deaf Education, SSC teresa.quail@ed.ac.uk
Professor John Ravenscroft Chair of Childhood Visual Impairment john.ravenscroft@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6181
Claire Ritchie Secondment Teaching Fellow (Chemistry) claire.ritchie@ed.ac.uk
Professor Judy Robertson Chair in Digital Learning judy.robertson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6249
Dr Zoè Robertson Director of Teacher Education zoe.robertson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6143
Dr Gillian Robinson Honorary Fellow gillian.robinson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6426
Dr Shari Sabeti Reader in Arts and Humanities Education shari.sabeti@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6246
Dr Marc Sarazin Post-Doctoral Fellow in Education marc.sarazin@ed.ac.uk
Dr Roger Scrutton Honorary Research Fellow in Outdoor Education roger.scrutton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4117
Dr Brian Shannan Associate Tutor (Deaf Education) brian.shannan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)771 503 8319
Professor Mary Simpson Professor Emerita mary.simpson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6357
Carol Smith Bicentennial Education Fellow carol.smith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4838
Dr Heidi Smith Programme Director and Lecturer Outdoor Learning heidi.smith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6627
Dr Evangelia Soulioti Teaching Fellow (TESOL) evangelia.soulioti@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4878
Maggie Sproule Swire Chinese Teaching Fellow maggie.sproule@ed.ac.uk 44 (0)131 651 6350
Dr Graham Thomson Course organiser and tutor on the Post Graduate Certificate in Middle Leadership and Management graham.thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6179
Kirsty Thomson Teaching Fellow (History) kirsty.thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6443
Dr Deirdre Torrance Honorary Fellow deirdre.torrance@ed.ac.uk
Dr Martin Toye, CPsychol, FRSA Lecturer; Education, Teaching & Leadership martin.toye@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6097
Dr Dimitra Tsakalou Programme Director: Inclusive Education / Teaching Fellow dimitra.tsakalou@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6410
Greig Vickers Lecturer in Secondary Education (Drama Specialism) greig.vickers@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6506
Keith Walton Secondment Teaching Fellow (Biology) keith.walton@ed.ac.uk
David Watkins Academic Coordinator (Work Based Placements) / Teaching Fellow david.watkins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6426
Dr ML White Programme Director: MSc Transformative Learning and Teaching / Senior Lecturer in Teacher Education ml.white@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6331
Russell White Teaching Fellow (Design & Technology) russell.white@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6615
Dr Kevin Wright Senior Personal Tutor (Undergraduate) kevin.wright@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6676

Professional Services staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Esther Beeston Resource Editor /Assistant Administrator for CALL Scotland, IETL esther.beeston@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6236
Valerie Clark Institute Administrator for IETL valerie.clark@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6046
Valerie (Val) Gordon Technical Officer valerie.gordon@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6610
Leonora Gough Institute Administrative Assistant for IETL leonora.gough@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6329
Dr Elaine Gray Outreach Coordinator elaine.gray@ed.ac.uk
Jennifer Haggarty Administration and Finance Officer for Learning for Sustainability Scotland, IETL jennifer.haggarty@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6105
Linda Hayne Senior Technical Officer for IETL linda.hayne@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6625
Annalena Heber Secretary for Scottish Sensory Centre (SSC), IETL sscsec@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6501
Betsy King Development Manager, Learning for Sustainability Scotland, Scotland's UN Regional Centre of Expertise in ESD, IETL betsy.king@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6434
Shirley Lawson Development Officer /Assistive Technology & ASN for CALL Scotland, IETL shirley.lawson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6077
Kirsten Leask Project Manager (Connecting Classrooms), Learning for Sustainability Scotland, IETL kirsten.leask@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9731
Marion Linden Institute Secretary (for IETL: Mon PM, Tues PM, Wed, Thurs PM /for ISPEHS: Mon AM, Tues AM, Thurs AM, Fri) marion.linden@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6520
Sheila Mackenzie Web and Resources Administrator for Scottish Sensory Centre (SSC), IETL sheila.mackenzie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6069
Sarah Marjoribanks Office Manager for CALL Scotland, IETL sarah.marjoribanks@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6235
Craig Mill Assistant Technology Advisor for CALL Scotland, IETL craig.mill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6513
Lyn Seren Science Laboratory Technician for IETL lyn.seren@ed.ac.uk
Ruth Simpson Administrator/Supervisor for Scottish Sensory Centre (SSC), IETL ruth.simpson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6501
Robert Stewart Technology Resources Officer for CALL Scotland, IETL robert.stewart@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4186