Moray House School of Education and Sport

ETL Institute staff

Contact details of staff based in our Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL).

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Dr Ramsey Affifi Lecturer, Science (Biology) & Environmental Philosophy Education ramsey.affifi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6207
Dr Farah Akbar Programme Director: MSc Language Education / Senior Teaching Fellow in Language Education farah.akbar@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6445
Ramone Al Bishawi Research Assistant ramone.bishawi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7112
Dr Maryam Almohammad Teaching Fellow in Language Education maryam.almohammad@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2796
Lorraine Archibald Teaching Fellow (Primary Education) lorraine.archibald@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Dr Simon Beames Senior Lecturer in Outdoor Learning simon.beames@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6093
Dr Shereen Benjamin Senior Lecturer in Primary Education shereen.benjamin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6147
Professor Gert Biesta Professorial Fellow in Educational Theory and Pedagogy gert.biesta@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6032
Dr Florence Bonacina-Pugh Lecturer in Language Education f.bonacina-pugh@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6359
Dr Mary Bovill Bi-centenial Education Fellow mary.bovill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4837
Fiona Bowie Teaching Fellow in Gaelic Education fiona.bowie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6476
Dr Ania Byerly Senior Teaching Fellow in Language Education ania.byerly@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6424
Dr Audrey Cameron Teaching Fellow in Science Education (Chemistry) - PGDE Secondary Education (Chemistry and General Science), PGDE Primary Education (Science) and Associate Tutor on MSc Inclusive Education (Deaf Studies) audrey.m.cameron@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6429
Dr Madeleine Campbell Teaching Fellow in Language Education madeleine.campbell@ed.ac.uk
Professor David Carr Professor Emeritus david.carr@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6160
Dr Nicola Carse Lecturer in Physical Education nicola.carse@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6614
Dr Mark Carver Research Assistant (MQuITE) mark.carver@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6350
Dr Seongsook Choi Deputy Head of Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) / Senior Lecturer in TESOL s.choi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6539
Dr Beth Christie Senior Lecturer / Programme Director: Learning for Sustainability programme beth.christie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4720
Dr David A.G. Clarke Teaching Fellow in Outdoor Learning and Sustainability Education david.clarke@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6093
Dorothy Coe Teaching Fellow (Primary) dorothy.coe@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6418
Dr Laura Colucci-Gray Senior Lecturer in Science Education laura.colucci-gray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6376
Joanna Courtney Specialist Speech and Language Therapist, CALL Scotland joanna.courtney@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6480
Helen Cox Associate Tutor (Primary Education) helen.cox@ed.ac.uk
Professor Do Coyle Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange (RKE) / Chair in Languages Education and Classroom Learning do.coyle@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6104
Morag Crolla Teaching Fellow morag.crolla@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6224
Dr Joan Cutting Senior Lecturer joan.cutting@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6324
Dr Maria Dasli Programme Director: MSc TESOL / Lecturer in TESOL maria.dasli@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6611
Janet de Vigne Teaching Fellow janet.devigne@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Dr Pauline Duncan Postdoctoral Research Associate pauline.duncan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6428
Dr Jite Eferakorho Teaching Fellow in Language Education jite.eferakorho@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4878
Dr Andrea R. English Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) andrea.english@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6172
Maureen Finn Director of STEP maureen.finn@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6440
Isobel Finnie Teaching Fellow in Art isobel.finnie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6007
Professor Lani Florian Bell Chair of Education lani.florian@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4840
Dr Yvonne Foley Head of Institute for Education, Teaching and Leadership (IETL) / Senior Lecturer yvonne.foley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6127
Dr Kenneth Fordyce Director of Internationalization; Lecturer in TESOL kenneth.fordyce@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6411
Ruth Forrester Lecturer in Mathematics Education ruth.forrester@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6431
Dr Nicola Galloway Lecturer in TESOL nicola.galloway@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6624
Rosemary Grady Senior Teaching Fellow: Educational Leadership & Learning rosemary.grady@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6013
Carol Graham Associate Tutor (Specific Learning Difficulties) carol.graham@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6429
Frances Griffin Place2Be Consultant/Trainer frances.griffin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6628
Dr Andy Hancock Director of Postgraduate Studies / Lecturer in Primary Education andy.hancock@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6635
Juliet Hancock Director of Professional Learning / Teaching Fellow juliet.hancock@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Claire Harrison Development Officer - Assistive Technology & Complex Needs, CALL Scotland claire.harrison@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6076
Professor Peter (Pete) Higgins Chair in Outdoor and Environmental Education, Director of the United Nations Regional Centre for ESD (Scotland), Director of the Global Environment & Society Academy pete.higgins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9795
Dr Jule Hildmann Senior Research Fellow (Outdoor Learning) jule.hildmann@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6031
Dr Deborah Holt Director of Quality Assurance and Enhancement / Lecturer in Health and Wellbeing and mental health promotion deborah.holt@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6609
Nick Hood FRSA Senior Teaching Fellow in Secondary Education (Physics Specialist) nick.hood@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6341
Claire Hornby Teaching Fellow in Primary Education (ASL) clairehornby@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6418
Xiaoyi Hu PG Tutor (ETL) xiaoyi.hu@ed.ac.uk
Alan Hyland Lecturer in RMPS alan.hyland@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6405
Andrina Inglis Associate Tutor andrina.inglis@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6446
Dr Aileen Irvine Senior Lecturer in Second Language Teaching and Learning aileen.irvine@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6145
Dr Charlotte Kemp Teaching Fellow (TESOL) charlotte.kemp@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6232
Dr Aileen Kennedy Senior Lecturer in Education aileen.kennedy@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6435
Anne Kent Teaching Fellow (Primary Education) anne.kent@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Jennifer A L Kirkwood Bicentennial Education Fellow jennifer.kirkwood@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6103
Sheila Laing Honorary Fellow sheila.laing@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6013
Dr Hui-Chuan (Jane) Li Lecturer in Mathematics Education huichuan.li@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6618
Dr Holly Linklater Programme Director: PGDE (Primary Education) / Lecturer in Inclusive Pedagogy holly.linklater@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6254
Dr Michael Lynch Deputy Head of Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) / Senior Lecturer in Language Studies michael.lynch@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6422
Dr Ann MacDonald Senior Lecturer ann.a.m.macdonald@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6430
Lucy MacIntosh Teaching Fellow (History) lucy.macintosh@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6443
Judith Mackinlay Teaching Fellow judith.mackinlay@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6334
John Joe MacNeil Programme Director: MA (Hons) Primary Education with Gaelic / Senior Teaching Fellow in Gaelic Education johnjoe.macneil@ed.ac.uk 01316516203
Elizabeth McCann Teaching Fellow elizabeth.mccann@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6418
Steve McLeister Senior Teaching Fellow in Geography Education steve.mcleister@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6443
Diane Mclellan Braille Tutor (SSC) diane.mclellan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6501
Gillian McNeill Specialist Speech and Language Therapist, CALL Scotland gillian.mcneill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6073
Laura Mitchell Bicentennial Fellow laura.mitchell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6503
Professor Pamela Munn Professor Emeritus pamela.munn@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6357
Dr Bróna Murphy Deputy Head of Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) / Lecturer in Language Education brona.murphy@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6408
Rosa Murray Deputy Head of Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) / Co-Director of University of Edinburgh Teacher Education Partnerships / Programme Director for Returning to Teaching course rosa.murray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4881
Professor Robbie Nicol Professor of Place-Based Education robbie.nicol@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9793
Paul Nisbet Senior Research Fellow paul.nisbet@ed.ac.uk +44 131 651 6072
Dr Fiona O'Hanlon Chancellor's Fellow fiona.ohanlon@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4839
Rachel O'Neill Lecturer in Deaf Education rachel.oneill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6429
Dr Mike Orr Teaching Fellow (TESOL) mike.orr@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4878
Dr Nataša Pantić Programme Director: MSc Inclusive Education / Chancellor's Fellow natasa.pantic@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6626
Lynne Pratt Programme Director: PGDE (Secondary Education) / Lecturer in Language Studies lynne.pratt@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6425
Dr Ann J Rae Senior Lecturer in Primary Education ann.rae@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4880
Professor John Ravenscroft Chair of Childhood Visual Impairment john.ravenscroft@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6181
Professor Judy Robertson Chair in Digital Learning judy.robertson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6249
Dr Zoè Robertson Senior Teaching Fellow zoe.robertson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6143
Dr Gillian Robinson Programme Director: MEd Leadership and Learning gillian.robinson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6426
Dr Claudia Rosenhan Teaching Fellow claudia.rosenhan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6464
Dr Shari Sabeti Deputy Director of Postgraduate Studies (PGR) / Reader in Arts and Humanities Education shari.sabeti@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6246
Dr Roger Scrutton Honorary Research Fellow in Outdoor Education roger.scrutton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4117
Brian Shannan Associate Tutor (Deaf Education) brian.shannan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)771 503 8319
Professor Mary Simpson Professor Emeritus mary.simpson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6357
Carol Smith Bicentennial Education Fellow carol.smith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4838
Dr Heidi Smith Lecturer in Outdoor Learning heidi.smith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6627
Dr Evangelia Soulioti Teaching Fellow (TESOL) evangelia.soulioti@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4878
Maggie Sproule Swire Fellow of Pedagogy in Chinese Language maggie.sproule@ed.ac.uk 44 (0)131 651 6350
Dr Kelly Stone Lecturer in Primary Education (Early Literacies) kelly.stone@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 6514
Graham Thomson Course organiser and tutor on the Post Graduate Certificate in Middle Leadership and Management graham.thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6179
Kirsty Thomson Teaching Fellow (History) kirsty.thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6443
Dr Deirdre Torrance Honorary Fellow deirdre.torrance@ed.ac.uk
Dr Martin Toye, CPsychol, FRSA Lecturer martin.toye@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6097
Dr Dimitra Tsakalou Teaching Fellow dimitra.tsakalou@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6410
Greig Vickers Depute Programme Director: PGDE (Secondary Education) / Senior Teaching Fellow (Drama) greig.vickers@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6506
David Watkins Associate Tutor (Mathematics) david.watkins@ed.ac.uk
Jim Whannel Oraidiche/Teaching Fellow (Gaelic) jim.whannel@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6403
Dr ML White Programme Director: MSc Transformative Learning and Teaching / Senior Lecturer in Teacher Education ml.white@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6331
Russell White Teaching Fellow (Design & Technology) russell.white@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6615
Dr Kevin Wright Senior Personal Tutor (Undergraduate) kevin.wright@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6676
Dr Samaneh Zandian Coordinator of Accessible Learning / Senior Teaching Fellow in Language Education (TESOL) s.zandian@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6424

Support staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Esther Beeston Resource Editor / Assistant Administrator for CALL Scotland esther.beeston@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6236
Valerie Clark Institute Administrator for Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) valerie.clark@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6046
Sean Curran STEP National Development Officer: Gypsy/Traveller Education sean.curran@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 ...
Leonora Gough Institute Administrator Assistant for Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) leonora.gough@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6329
Jennifer Haggarty Administration and Finance Officer, Learning for Sustainability Scotland jennifer.haggarty@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6105
Annalena Heber Secretary, SSC sscsec@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6501
Katia Hervy Project Administrator katia.hervy@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6444
Betsy King Development Manager, Learning for Sustainability Scotland, Scotland's UN Regional Centre of Expertise in ESD betsy.king@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6434
Shirley Lawson CALL Scotland: Development Officer/Assistive Technology & ASN shirley.lawson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6077
Kirsten Leask Project Manager (Connecting Classrooms), Learning for Sustainability Scotland kirsten.leask@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9731
Marion Linden Institute Secretary for IETL (Mon PM, Tues PM, Wed, Thurs PM) + for ISPEHS (Mon AM, Tues AM, Thurs AM, Fri) marion.linden@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6520
Sheila Mackenzie Web & Resources Administrator, SSC sheila.mackenzie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6069
Sarah Marjoribanks CALL Scotland: Office Manager sarah.marjoribanks@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6235
Craig Mill CALL Scotland: Assistant Technology Advisor craig.mill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6513
Ruth Simpson Administrator/Supervisor, SSC ruth.simpson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6501
Robert Stewart Technology Resources Officer, CALL Scotland robert.stewart@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4186
Allan Wilson Information Co-ordinator for CALL Scotland allan.wilson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6068