Moray House School of Education and Sport

SPEHS Institute staff

Contact details of staff based in our Institute for Sport, Physical Education & Health Sciences (ISPEHS).

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Dr Graham Baker Lecturer in Physical Activity for Health graham.baker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6034
Dr Davies Banda Director of Learning and Teaching davies.banda@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6001
Dr Colin Brough Teaching Fellow in Physical Education colin.brough@ed.ac.uk
Neil Buchanan Teaching Fellow in Sports Psychology neil.buchanan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6282
Dr Howie Carson Programme Director: MSc Strength and Conditioning / Lecturer in Motor Learning and Control / Lead for the Human Performance Science Research Group howie.carson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6646
Dr Pippa Chapman Programme Director: BSc Sport and Recreation Management / Senior Teaching Fellow pippa.chapman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6644
Professor Dave Collins Professorial Fellow in Human Performance Science dave.collins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6522
Dr Murray Craig Bicentennial Teaching Fellow - Strand Leader PGDE (Secondary) Physical Education murray.craig@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6043
Denise Dewar Teaching Fellow in Physical Education denise.dewar@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6580
Dr Samantha Fawkner Deputy Head of Moray House School of Education and Sport / Senior Lecturer in Physical Activity and Health s.fawkner@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9778
Dr Claire Fitzsimons Lecturer in Physical Activity for Health claire.fitzsimons@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6049
Dr Shirley Gray Senior Lecturer in Physical Education shirley.gray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6681
Dr Andrew Horrell Director of Undergraduate Studies / Senior Lecturer in Physical Education andrew.horrell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6649
Wilma Irvine Teaching Fellow in Primary PE: MAPE Programme Coordinator Year 1 wilma.irvine@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6002
Professor Dr Grant Jarvie University of Edinburgh Chair of Sport and Director (Academy of Sport) - Visiting Professor - University of Toronto grant.jarvie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6546 - Direct
Dr Mike Jess Senior Lecturer in Physical Education mike.jess@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6646
Dr John Kelly Director of Postgraduate Research / Lecturer in Sociology of Sport john.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6642
Dr Paul Kelly Reader in Physical Activity for Health p.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4111
Dr Jung Woo (Jay) Lee Programme Director: MSc Sport Policy, Management and International Development / Lecturer in Sport and Leisure Policy j.w.lee@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4120
Dr Georgios Machtsiras Programme Director: BSc (Hons) Applied Sport Science / Lecturer in Sports Biomechanics georgios.machtsiras@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6146
Dr Sarah MacIsaac Lecturer in Physical Education Sarah.MacIsaac@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6683
Sharon Mackechnie Teaching Fellow in Physical Education sharon.mackechnie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6683
Dr Justine MacLean Lecturer in Physical Education and Programme Director: Year 3 MA (Hons) Physical Education justine.maclean@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9779
Dr Alan MacPherson Deputy Head of Institute for Sport, Physical Education and Health Sciences (ISPEHS) / Programme Director: MSc Performance Psychology / Lecturer alan.macpherson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6647
Dr Amanda Martindale Senior Lecturer in Sport & Performance Psychology amanda.martindale@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9794
Jan McCall Associate Tutor in Physical Education jan.mcintyre@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6002
Dr Matthew L McDowell Lecturer in Sport Policy, Management, and International Development matthew.mcdowell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6598
Dr Paul McMillan Programme Director: MA Physical Education/ Lecturer in Physical Education paul.mcmillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6065
Dr Sarah Morton Senior Research Fellow sarah.morton@ed.ac.uk
Dr Rosemary Mulholland Associate Tutor rosemary.mulholland@ed.ac.uk
Karen Munro Teaching Fellow in Physical Education karen.munro@ed.ac.uk 44 (0)131 651 6591
June Murray Associate Tutor in Physical Education june.murray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6002
Professor Nanette Mutrie MBE Chair in Physical Activity for Health / Director of PAHRC nanette.mutrie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6532
Dr Christine Nash Head of Institute for Sport, Physical Education and Health Sciences (ISPEHS) cnash@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6581
Dr Ailsa Niven Senior Lecturer in Physical Activity and Health ailsa.niven@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6679
Dr Louis Nolte Teaching Fellow in Sports Policy and Management louis.nolte@ed.ac.uk
Gill O'Brien Associate Tutor gillian.o'brien@ed.ac.uk
Dr Debbie Palmer Lecturer in Research Methods debbie.palmer@ed.ac.uk
Dr Len Parker Simpson Teaching Fellow in Sports Physiology Len.ParkerSimpson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Shaun Phillips (PhD, SFHEA) Director of Postgraduate Taught Studies / Senior Lecturer in Sport and Exercise Physiology shaun.phillips@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4110
Dr Stelios Psycharakis Senior Lecturer in Biomechanics stelios.psycharakis@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6587
Dr Gavin L Reid Lecturer g.l.reid@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6654
Hugh Richards Lecturer in Sport & Exercise Psychology hugh.richards@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6092
Brodie Runciman Teaching Fellow in Physical Education brodie.runciman@ed.ac.uk
Dr Dave Saunders Senior Lecturer in Exercise Physiology dave.saunders@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4121
Professor John Sproule Personal Chair of Physical Education john.sproule@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6135
Dr Jamie Taylor Associate Tutor jamie.a.taylor@ed.ac.uk
Colin Thomson Teaching Fellow in Sport Management & Sport Development colin.thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6282
Dr Malcolm Thorburn Honorary Fellow malcolm.thorburn@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6655
Dr Wendy Timmons Programme Director: MSc Dance Science and Education, Senior Teaching Fellow wendy.timmons@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6596
Dr Tony Turner Senior Lecturer in Exercise Physiology / Co-Director of Research, Knowledge Exchange & Impact tony.turner@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6003
Dr Martine Verheul Lecturer in Skill Acquisition & Motor Control martine.verheul@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6643

Professional Services staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Ali Bryden Research Centre Administrator: PAHRC ali.bryden@ed.ac.uk
Anne-Marie Connelly Institute Administrator for ISPEHS anne-marie.connelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6522
Paul Gordon Technician: Modern Apprentice for SPEHS paul.gordon@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9782
Jon Kelly Laboratories Manager for ISPEHS jon.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6533
Marion Linden Institute Secretary (for IETL: Mon PM, Tues PM, Wed, Thurs PM /for ISPEHS: Mon AM, Tues AM, Thurs AM, Fri) marion.linden@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6520
Jenni Rennie Science Laboratory Technician for ISPEHS jennie.rennie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9782