Moray House School of Education and Sport

SPEHS Institute staff

Contact details of staff based in our Institute for Sport, Physical Education & Health Sciences (ISPEHS).

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Mike Ashford Lecturer in Sports Coaching mashford@ed.ac.uk
Dr Graham Baker Lecturer in Physical Activity for Health graham.baker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6034
Dr Davies Banda Lecturer - Sport Policy; Deputy Director - Academy of Sport davies.banda@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6001
Dr Ray Bobrownicki Lecturer in Sport Psychology / Co-Programme Director: BSc (Hons) Applied Sport Science ray.bobrownicki@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6282
Dr Neil Buchanan Programme Director, MSc. Performance Psychology neil.buchanan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6282
Dr Nicola Carse Deputy Head of Institute for Sport, Physical Education and Health Sciences (ISPEHS) / Lecturer in Physical Education nicola.carse@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6614
Dr Howie Carson (PhD BASES C.Sci FPGA) Senior Lecturer in Motor Learning and Control / Co-Programme Director: BSc (Hons) Applied Sport Science / Lead for the Human Performance Science Research Group howie.carson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6646
Dr Pippa Chapman Programme Director: BSc Sport and Recreation Management / Senior Teaching Fellow pippa.chapman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6644
Professor Dave Collins Professorial Fellow in Human Performance Science dave.collins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6522
Dr Murray Craig Bicentennial Teaching Fellow - Strand Leader PGDE (Secondary) Physical Education murray.craig@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6043
Dr Samantha Fawkner Interim Head of School, Moray House School of Education and Sport / Senior Lecturer in Physical Activity and Health s.fawkner@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9778
Dr Claire Fitzsimons Lecturer in Physical Activity for Health claire.fitzsimons@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6049
Dr Shirley Gray Senior Lecturer in Physical Education shirley.gray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6681
Dr Andrew Horrell Acting Director of Learning and Teaching / Senior Lecturer in Physical Education andrew.horrell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6649
Wilma Irvine Teaching Fellow in Primary PE: MAPE Programme Coordinator Year 1 wilma.irvine@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6002
Professor Dr Grant Jarvie University of Edinburgh Professor, Chair of Sport and Director (Academy of Sport) - Visiting Professor - University of Toronto grant.jarvie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6546 - Direct
Dr Mike Jess Senior Lecturer in Physical Education mike.jess@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6646
Dr John Kelly Director of Postgraduate Research / Lecturer in Sociology of Sport john.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6642
Dr Jon Kelly Laboratories Manager MHSES jon.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6533
Dr Paul Kelly Reader in Physical Activity for Health p.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4111
Urvi Khasnis Teaching Fellow in Sport Psychology urvi.khasnis@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jung Woo (Jay) Lee Senior Lecturer in Sport and Leisure Policy j.w.lee@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4120
Dr Georgios Machtsiras Lecturer in Sports Biomechanics georgios.machtsiras@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6146
Dr Sarah MacIsaac Lecturer in Physical Education Sarah.MacIsaac@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6683
Sharon MacKechnie MA Physical Education Depute Programme Director sharon.mackechnie@ed.ac.uk
Dr Justine MacLean Lecturer in Physical Education and Programme Director: Year 3 MA (Hons) Physical Education justine.maclean@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9779
Dr Alan MacPherson Deputy Head of Institute for Sport, Physical Education and Health Sciences (ISPEHS) / Programme Director: MSc Performance Psychology / Lecturer alan.macpherson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6647
Dr Amanda Martindale Senior Lecturer in Sport & Performance Psychology amanda.martindale@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9794
Dr Matthew L McDowell Lecturer in Sport Policy, Management, and International Development matthew.mcdowell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6598
Denise McGee-Dewar Teaching Fellow in Physical Education denise.dewar@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6580
Dr Paul McMillan Programme Director: MA Physical Education/ Lecturer in Physical Education paul.mcmillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6065
Dr Gala Morozova Research Fellow gala.morozova@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9788
Dr Sarah Morton Senior Research Fellow sarah.morton@ed.ac.uk
Karen Munro Teaching Fellow in Physical Education karen.munro@ed.ac.uk 44 (0)131 651 6591
Professor Marie Murphy Director of the Physical Activity for Health Research Centre Marie.Murphy@ed.ac.uk
Professor Nanette Mutrie MBE Professor Emerita nanette.mutrie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6532
Dr Christine Nash Head of Institute for Sport, Physical Education and Health Sciences (ISPEHS) cnash@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6581
Professor Ailsa Niven Personal chair of Psychology of Physical Activity ailsa.niven@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6679
Dr Louis Nolte Teaching Fellow in Sports Policy and Management louis.nolte@ed.ac.uk
Dr Guilherme Nothen Teaching Fellow in Social Sciences in Sports g.nothen@ed.ac.uk
Dr Debbie Palmer Senior Lecturer in Research Methods debbie.palmer@ed.ac.uk
Dr Len Parker Simpson Teaching Fellow in Sports Physiology Len.ParkerSimpson@ed.ac.uk
Ali Pearson Teaching Fellow in Applied Sport Science (Academic Cohort Lead - Years 3 and 4) alastair.pearson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Shaun Phillips (PhD, SFHEA) Senior Lecturer in Sport and Exercise Physiology shaun.phillips@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4110
Dr Stelios Psycharakis Senior Lecturer in Biomechanics stelios.psycharakis@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 6587
Dr Gavin L Reid Lecturer g.l.reid@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6654
Hugh Richards Lecturer in Sport & Exercise Psychology hugh.richards@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6092
Heather Rikic Teaching Fellow in Dance Science and Education heather.rikic@ed.ac.uk
Dr Walker J Ross Lecturer in Sport Management and Digital Marketing walker.ross@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7112
Brodie Runciman Teaching Fellow in Physical Education and Year 2 Cohort Lead MA (Hons) Physical Education brodie.runciman@ed.ac.uk
Sian Salmon Teaching Fellow in Dance Science and Education sian.salmon@ed.ac.uk
Dr Dave Saunders Senior Lecturer in Exercise Physiology dave.saunders@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4121
Professor John Sproule Personal Chair of Physical Education john.sproule@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6135
Dr Gary Standinger Teaching Fellow in Physical Education gary.standinger@ed.ac.uk
Tessa Strain Chancellor's Fellow tessa.strain@ed.ac.uk
Dr Bronwyn Sumption Teaching Fellow in Sports Development bronwyn.sumption@ed.ac.uk
Colin Thomson Teaching Fellow in Sport Management & Sport Development colin.thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6282
Dr Wendy Timmons wendy.timmons@ed.ac.uk
Dr Tony Turner Senior Lecturer in Exercise Physiology / Co-Director of Research, Knowledge Exchange & Impact tony.turner@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6003
Dr Martine Verheul Senior Lecturer in Skill Acquisition & Motor Control martine.verheul@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6643
Dr Matthew Weston Lecturer in Strength & Conditioning matthew.weston@ed.ac.uk
Dr Chloë Williamson Lecturer in Physical Activity for Health chloe.williamson@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 4124

Professional Services staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Niamnh Carter Technician (Physiology)
Anne-Marie Connelly Institute Administrator for ISPEHS anne-marie.connelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6522
Dr Jon Kelly Laboratories Manager MHSES jon.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6533
Sarah Pullar Institute Administrative Assistant for ILE sarah.pullar@ed.ac.uk
Jenni Rennie Science Laboratory Technician for ISPEHS jennie.rennie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9782