Usher Institute

Usher successes at CMVM recognition awards

Winners for this year's College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine Staff Recognition Awards were announced on 30 March at a celebration event in Summerhall, the former home of the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies.

The event was hosted by Professor David Argyle, Head of the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine.

Full information including individuals shortlisted and winners on the CMVM website (secured)


We congratulate all colleagues across the College, but would like to make special mention of our immediate colleagues based in the Usher Institute who received awards this year.

Innovation award

Arlene Casey and Cara Wilson - from Advanced Care Research Centre (nominated together)

Arlene and Cara were jointly nominated for a project on the island of Tiree. They took a group of early-career health-data researchers including data scientists, engineers, social scientists and technologists to Tiree to work together with people in the local community on a five-day residential project. Their aim was to understand what technology means outside the urban digital heartlands and what care means in a rural community by working with a group of older people on the island. Over the course of the project the team gained experience of co-design and public engagement skills. All participants left the island with a much deeper appreciation not just of the techniques learned and each other’s work, but also with an insight into a way of life that is so different to the ones they live as mainly city and suburban dwellers. They established a very good relationship with the community organisation which they plan to develop.

Inspiring Others award

Michelle Evans

Michelle Evans

Michelle is described in her nomination as an outstanding mentor, leader, and role model who encourages others to collaborate and work together to solve challenges.  She leads the Data Driven Innovation Health and Social Care Talent team, which has been growing fast over the last 2 years. Michelle has been a truly excellent leader, balancing the need to strategise and keep an eye on the bigger picture with a commitment to helping all staff members overcome barriers to success.

Internationalism award

Liz Grant

Dave Fearon and Liz Grant (joint winners)

Liz has been nominated for developing a new interdisciplinary project on Compassion and the Sustainable Development goals, focusing on the importance of social justice, care for each other, listening to the voices of those who have been excluded from mainstream decision making, recognition of the importance of developing plans together rather than top down measures, and developing toolkits for creating safe psychological space to speak up about differences.

Dave is a Teaching Fellow with the Masters in Family Medicine. He has been nominated for his exemplary approach to the global student community of Masters in Family Medicine scholars, encouraging them to discuss their own situations, and how they see family medicine training impacting their country need and how they can develop a global movement of family medicine. In addition, his work to develop a strong community of palliative care practitioners is an excellent contribution to global health, and to the University’s standing in global palliative care.

Team Excellence award

Christine Campbell - as a member of Edinburgh Medical Research Ethics Committee core team (joint winners with other teams)

Exceptional Service

Vivien Smith and other DoPS

Vivien Smith (Full award went to: College Finance Business Partnering Team, as well as the directors of Professional Services and operational leads)


Many congratulations to everyone who was nominated, shortlisted and of course to all the winners. Thanks to everyone who took time to nominate colleagues, and of course to those who organised the awards and the event.