Usher Institute

Professors Harrison, Mercer and Nair elected to Royal Society of Edinburgh

Three professors from the Usher Institute announced in this year's intake of Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE), Scotland’s National Academy, has announced its 2023 intake of Fellows, with 91 names representing science, arts, business, sports, civil society and academia from across Scotland and beyond.

They will be joining the RSE’s current Fellowship, which comprises 1,800 people recognised as being some of the greatest thinkers, researchers and practitioners in their field working in or with organisations in Scotland today.

It is a great privilege to welcome our new Fellows – they represent outstanding commitment and achievement at the highest level across a diverse range of sectors. From scientific advancement that changes lives to leading business innovation recognised across the world, the RSE welcomes the best minds to harness their unique insight and make knowledge useful for the greater good.Harnessing our Fellows’ talents and ideas allows us to mobilise a wide range of expertise to tackle some of the most complex challenges society faces. In welcoming our new Fellows, I look forward to seeing the positive effect they will have on society in Scotland and beyond.

Professor Sir John BallPresident of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

Professor Ewen Harrison OBE

Ewen Harrison OBE, Professor of Surgery and Data Science is Co-Head of the Centre for Medical Informatics at the Usher Institute.

Read more about Ewen Harrison OBE

Professor Stewart Mercer

Stewart Mercer, Professor of Primary Care and Multimorbidity, is Deputy Director of the Advanced Care Research Centre, based at the Usher Institute.

Read more about Stewart Mercer

Professor Harish Nair

Harish Nair, Professor of Paediatric Infectious Diseases and Global Health, is Co-Head of the Centre for Global Health at the Usher Institute

Read more about Harish Nair


Congratulation to all this year's new Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh!