Usher Institute

Contact us

Contact details for key staff in the Usher Institute and our Centres.

Please note - following Government guidance wherever possible staff are working from home and hence telephone numbers may not currently be active.

Please email individuals should you wish to get in touch. It will often be possible to arrange a time to speak, likely via MSTeams or Zoom.

Usher Institute

Role Name Phone Email
Director of Institute Professor Aziz Sheikh +44 (0) 131 651 4151 aziz.sheikh@ed.ac.uk
PA to the Director Lynn Anderson +44 (0) 131 651 7878 (Mon & Fri)
+44 (0) 131 650 8102 (Tues-Thurs)
lynn.anderson@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Director Professor Jackie Price jackie.price@ed.ac.uk
Business Manager / Director of Professional Services Vivien Smith +44 (0) 131 650 6984 vivien.smith@ed.ac.uk
Communications Manager Susan Buckingham +44 (0) 131 651 1754 usher.communications@ed.ac.uk
General enquiries Brenda Saetta +44 (0) 131 650 3237 usher.teviot@ed.ac.uk
General enquiries (NINE BioQuarter) Julie Davidson +44 (0) 131 651 7884 usher.bioquarter@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Population Health Sciences

Role Name Phone Email
Head Professor David Weller +44 (0) 131 650 2807 david.weller@ed.ac.uk
PA to the Head of Centre Selina Bairami +44 (0) 131 650 9518 selina.bairami@ed.ac.uk
Head Professor Linda Bauld +44 (0)131 650 3213 linda.bauld@ed.ac.uk
PA to the Head of Centre Kate Massie kate.massie@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Medical Informatics

Role Name Phone Email
Head Professor Ewen Harrison ewen.harrison@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Global Health

Role Name Phone Email
Head Professor Harish Nair harish.nair@ed.ac.uk
Head Professor Igor Rudan +44 (0) 131 650 3210 igor.rudan@ed.ac.uk

Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit

Role Name Phone Email
Director Professor John Norrie +44 (0) 131 651 7895 j.norrie@ed.ac.uk
Clinical Director Professor Rustam Al-Shahi Salman rustam.al-shahi@ed.ac.uk
Chief Operating Officer Joyce Thomson joyce.thomson@ed.ac.uk
Associate Director (Methodology) Professor Steff Lewis +44 (0) 131 651 9956 steff.lewis@ed.ac.uk
Associate Director (Methodology) Professor Chris Weir +44 (0) 131 651 9957 christopher.weir@ed.ac.uk
General enquiries +44 (0) 131 651 9901 ECTU@ed.ac.uk

Data-Driven Innovation Hub Team

Role Name Phone Email
Senior Responsible Officer Professor Nick Mills   nick.mills@ed.ac.uk
Chief Operating Officer Colan Mehaffey   colan.mehaffey@ed.ac.uk
Implementation Lead Michael Gray   m.gray@ed.ac.uk

Find us 

The Usher Institute is split over two main locations, in the historic Old Medical School at Teviot Place, and at NINE Edinburgh BioQuarter.

Find us