Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
REGAN, Lynne Prof Lynne.Regan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5368

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
AUER, Manfred Prof Innovative drug discovery manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk V
BARANOVIC, Jelena Dr Structure and function of neuroreceptors, synaptic transmission, ion channels, electrophysiology jelena.baranovic@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Prof Protein structure, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, immunology, complement system Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk R
BLAKELY, Garry Prof Microbial genetics and biotechnology Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk R
BURGESS, Karl Dr Biological Mass Spectrometry Karl.Burgess@ed.ac.uk
CACHAT, Elise Dr Mammalian synthetic biology, synthetic morphology & patterning Elise.Cachat@ed.ac.uk R
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk R
FRAGKOUDIS, Rennos Dr R.Fragkoudis@ed.ac.uk
FREE, Andrew Dr Microbial communities and their applications in biotechnology and medicine Andrew.Free@ed.ac.uk R
FRENCH, Christopher Prof Biosensors, biomass conversion, gene assembly C.French@ed.ac.uk R V
GALLAGHER, Maurice Prof Bacterial physiology and vaccine development MP.Gallagher@ed.ac.uk R
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis sgrannem@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
GRIMA, Ramon Prof Biomathematics Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk R
HORSFALL, Louise Dr Microbial biotechnology and synthetic biology Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk R
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk R
LAOHAKUNAKORN, Nadanai Dr Cell-free synthetic biology, reliable bioengineering, gene expression biophysics, microfluidics, laboratory automation. Nadanai.Laohakunakorn@ed.ac.uk
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk R
MILLAR, Andrew Prof Science policy, Open Research and Systems Biology Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk R V
OYARZUN, Diego Dr Lecturer in Computational Biology D.Oyarzun@ed.ac.uk
REGAN, Lynne Prof Lynne.Regan@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of molecular machines acting on DNA Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk R
ROSSER, Susan Prof Susan.Rosser@ed.ac.uk R
SIBLEY, Christopher Dr Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology Chris.Sibley@ed.ac.uk
STRACQUADANIO, Giovanni Dr Synthetic biology, cancer biology, machine learning, computational biology giovanni.stracquadanio@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Prof Systems biology of cellular decision-making peter.swain@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk R
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Prof Protein-ligand interactions M.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk R
WALLACE, Stephen Dr Microbial chemistry, pathway engineering for industrial chemicals, whole-cell biocatalysis, bioconjugation chemistry, sustainable synthesis. Stephen.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WANG, Baojun Dr Synthetic biology, Systems biology, Designing customised gene circuits for novel biosensing and bioremediation applications Baojun.Wang@ed.ac.uk R
WEAR, Martin Dr Martin.Wear@ed.ac.uk R
WILSON, Marcus Dr Mechanisms of Epigenetic Modifications Marcus.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
WOOD, Chris Dr chris.wood@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
GILMORE, Linda Dr Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
MICHELS, Paul Professor Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
MUETZELFELDT, Robert Honorary Fellow r.muetzelfeldt@ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Professor Professor of Molecular Microbiology/ Dean of Learning & Teaching G.A.Reid@ed.ac.uk
SAWYER, Lindsay Professor Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ABRAMCZYK, Dariusz Dr Barlow Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate dabramcz@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ANDREOU, Andreas French Lab / Research Assistant aandreo2@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
AREDE REI, Pedro Dr Granneman Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager pedro.rei@ed.ac.uk
BLACKBURN, Elizabeth Dr Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist e.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk R
CAO, Zhixing (Edward) Dr Grima Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate edward.cao@ed.ac.uk
CARDONA-ALBERICH, Aida Dr The Sibley Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate aida.cardona@ed.ac.uk
CASSANO, Fabio Dr / PDRA in Computational Biology fabio.cassano@ed.ac.uk
CHU, Liangcui Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Liangcui.Chu@ed.ac.uk
CLARK, Ivan Swain Group / Experimental Officer Ivan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
CORREIA, Kevin Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate kevin.correia@ed.ac.uk
CROWTHER, Jennifer Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate jennifer.crowther@ed.ac.uk
DALE, Matthew Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate matt.dale@ed.ac.uk
DORNAN, Jacqueline Dr Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Dornan@ed.ac.uk R
ECHAVARRI-BRAVO, Virginia Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Virginia.Echavarri@ed.ac.uk R
EDMUNDSON, Matthew Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Matt.Edmundson@ed.ac.uk R
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant Ian.Eggington@ed.ac.uk R
HONSBEIN, Annegret Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Annegret.Honsbein@ed.ac.uk
ISAKSSON, Rebecka Dr Auer Group / PDRA in Synthetic Organic Chemistry Rebecka.Isaksson@ed.ac.uk
IVANOVA, Ivayla Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate I.Ivanova@ed.ac.uk R
JAYACHANDRAN, Uma Dr Cook Lab / Research Assistant ujayacha@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
JENSEN, Mai-Britt Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mai-Britt.Jensen@ed.ac.uk R
JOHNSTON, Emily Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Emily.Johnston@ed.ac.uk R
KASPROWICZ, Aleksandra Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aleksandra.Kasprowicz@ed.ac.uk
KLEINJAN, Dirk Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Dirk-Jan.Kleinjan@ed.ac.uk R
MCKELLAR, Stuart Granneman Group / Research Assistant smckell2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCNAE, Iain Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Iain.McNae@ed.ac.uk R
MERRICK, Christine Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christine.Merrick@ed.ac.uk R
MOL, Adam Dr Rosser Group / Train@ED Research Fellow amol@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MONTANO GUTIERREZ, Luis Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate L.Montano@ed.ac.uk
NOWICKI, Matthew Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk R
OLIVER, Michael Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Michael.Oliver@ed.ac.uk
PHAM, Nhan Dr Auer Group / Laboratory & Optics Research Manager Nhan.Pham@ed.ac.uk R
PICMANOVA, Martina Burgess Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Metabolomics Martina.Picmanova@ed.ac.uk
PIETSCH, Julian Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Julian.Pietsch@ed.ac.uk R
PINTO, Filipe Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Filipe.Pinto@ed.ac.uk R
ROMANOWSKI, Andrew Millar Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Andrew.Romanowski@ed.ac.uk
SENTHIVEL, Vivek Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vivek.Senthivel@ed.ac.uk
SHAVE, Steven Dr Auer Group / Senior Researcher, Computational Sciences S.Shave@ed.ac.uk R
THORAND, Eric French Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate - Biomaterials ethorand@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
TRUBITSYNA, Maryia Dr Rosser Group / Lab Manager/PDRA M.Trubitsyna@ed.ac.uk R
VERMA, Babita / Postdoctoral Research Associate Babita.Verma@ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xinyi Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate xwan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WAPENAAR, Hannah Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate hannah.wapenaar@ed.ac.uk
ZIELINSKI, Tomasz Dr Millar Group / Computational Resource Manager Tomasz.Zielinski@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
CAMPBELL, Gaynor Dr Rosser Group / Research Technician Gaynor.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
CAPENESS, Michael Dr Horsfall Lab / Laboratory Manager Michael.Capeness@ed.ac.uk
FARQUHAR, Iseabail Swain Group / Research Technician Iseabail.Farquhar@ed.ac.uk
GROSEMANS, Hanne Granneman Group / Research Technician Hanne.Grosemans@ed.ac.uk
HOLYOAKE, Louise Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Research Technician/Lab Manager Louise.Holyoake@ed.ac.uk R
IMRIE, Lisa Walkinshaw Group / Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk R
MCFADDEN, Gillian M. Wilson Lab / Research Technician Gillian.McFadden@ed.ac.uk
MOSES, Tessa Dr Burgess Group / Metabolomics Specialist Tessa.Moses@ed.ac.uk R
PANTIDOS, Nikolaos / Research Technologist Nikolaos.Pantidos@ed.ac.uk R
SALVO-CHIRNSIDE, Eliane Walkinshaw Group / KPF Deputy Lab Manager Eliane.Chirnside@ed.ac.uk R
TUIJTEL, Maarten M. Wilson Lab / Technologist in Cryo-Transmission Electron Microscopy Maarten.Tuijtel@ed.ac.uk
WARDROPE, Caroline Dr Rosser Group / Research Technician C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
FILATOVA, Tatiana Grima Group / PhD Student s1847022@sms.ed.ac.uk
HICKS, Margaret Wang Lab / PhD Student s1833582@sms.ed.ac.uk
SEMENIUK, Sofija / PhD Student s1307393@sms.ed.ac.uk
AGUILERA MILLACURA, Juan Feliipe French Lab / PhD Student J.F.Aguilera-Millacura@sms.ed.ac.uk
AHMED, Dina Horsfall Lab / PhD Student D.Ahmed-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL HASAINI, Atika Cook Lab / PhD Student A.Y.H.Al-Hasaini@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASTLES, Ben Rosser Group / PhD Student s1505870@sms.ed.ac.uk
AUXILLOS, Jamie French Lab / PhD Student s1469975@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARRETT, Georgie Burgess Group / PhD Student G.J.Barrett-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
BILLINGTON, Jamie Rosser Group / PhD Student J.A.Billington@sms.ed.ac.uk
BRYSON, James Rosser Group / PhD Student s1436794@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Justin Auer Group / PhD Student Y.Chen-230@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHRISTOPOLOU, Niki Granneman Group / PhD Student N.Christopoulou@sms.ed.ac.uk
CORTADA GARCIA, Joan Burgess Group / PhD Student J.Cortada-Garcia@sms.ed.ac.uk
CUEVA, Miguel Horsfall Lab / PhD Student m.e.cueva@sms.ed.ac.uk
DONALDSON, James Rosser Group / PhD Student J.S.Donaldson@sms.ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / PhD Student ieggingt@ed.ac.uk
ERA, Yuta Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1854979@sms.ed.ac.uk
FA-ARUN, Jidapha Wang Lab / PhD Student s1797859@sms.ed.ac.uk
FANFANI, Viola / PhD Student v.fanfani@sms.ed.ac.uk
GAETA, Angelo / PhD Student a.gaeta@sms.ed.ac.uk
GALE, Grant Wang Lab / PhD Student G.A.R.Gale@sms.ed.ac.uk
GIDDEN, Zoe Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student Z.L.Gidden@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUKOVA, Alina Richardson Group / PhD Student a.g.gukova@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUPTA, Abhishek Grima Group / PhD Student s1478186@sms.ed.ac.uk
HAYNES, Samuel Grima Group / PhD Student s1895111@sms.ed.ac.uk
HO, Yuan Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.H.T.Ho@sms.ed.ac.uk
HOLEHOUSE, James Grima Group / PhD Student s1402978@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUSSAIN, Ejaz / PhD Student s1686277@sms.ed.ac.uk
IRVINE, Amy Free Group / PhD Student A.L.Irvine@sms.ed.ac.uk
JENNINGS, Christopher Auer Group / PhD Student s1896130@sms.ed.ac.uk
JOHNSON, Nick Wallace Lab / PhD Student Nick.Johnson-2@ed.ac.uk
KNIGHT, Margaret Free Group / PhD Student s1857306@sms.ed.ac.uk
KUMAR, Dhananjay M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student D.Kumar-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
LI, Mengxi French Lab / PhD Student M.Li-74@sms.ed.ac.uk
LI, Wei Auer Group / PhD Student W.Li-82@sms.ed.ac.uk
LILLEY, Charlotte Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1102051@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIU, Yang Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.Liu-187@sms.ed.ac.uk
MADDALENA, Giovanni Horsfall Lab / PhD Student G.Maddalena-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
MANZANARO MORENO, Nahuel Swain Group / PhD Student N.Manzanaro-Moreno@sms.ed.ac.uk
MASTELA, Anna Rosser Group / PhD Student A.Mastela@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCCAUGHAN, Hugh Granneman Group / PhD Student hugh.mccaughan@ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Michael Free Group / PhD Student M.A.McDonald@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCKELLAR, Stuart Granneman Group / PhD Student s1025221@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUHLBAUGER, Lukas Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Lukas.Muhlbauer@ed.ac.uk
NIKOLADOS, Evangelos / PhD Student E.M.Nikolados@sms.ed.ac.uk
PEACH, Hanna Free Group / PhD Student H.C.G.Peach@sms.ed.ac.uk
PRICE, Marcus Rosser Group / PhD Student s0818748@sms.ed.ac.uk
SACHS, Daniel Rosser Group / PhD Student D.Sachs-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHEIER, Matthew Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1326543@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIVASUBRAMANIAM, Pratheesan Wang Lab / PhD Student p.siva@ed.ac.uk
SMIEJA, Connor Auer Group / PhD Student C.B.Smieja@ed.ac.uk
STEELE, Eva Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1403896@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUITOR, Jack Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1431954@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUKYS, Augustinas Grima Group / PhD Student s1452424@sms.ed.ac.uk
TALLIS, Jess Rosser Group / PhD Student J.Tallis@sms.ed.ac.uk
THORNTON, Ella Wang Lab / PhD Student Ella.Thornton@ed.ac.uk
TOWLE, Zak Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Zak.Towle@ed.ac.uk
VALENZUELA ORTEGA, Marcos French Lab / PhD Student M.Valenzuela-Ortega@sms.ed.ac.uk
WATSON, James Cook Lab / PhD Student s1502072@sms.ed.ac.uk
WILL, Alexander Cook Lab / PhD Student s1735859@sms.ed.ac.uk
WINKELMANN, Flo French Lab / PhD Student F.F.M.Winkelmann@sms.ed.ac.uk
WOMGPROMOOON, Arin / PhD Student arin.wongprommoon@ed.ac.uk
ZARAZUA-ARVIZU, Efrain Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1362505@sms.ed.ac.uk