Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
REGAN, Lynne Prof IQB3HOI@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5368

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BARKER, Caron Caron.Barker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
BARANOVIC, Jelena Dr Structure and function of neuroreceptors, synaptic transmission, ion channels, electrophysiology jelena.baranovic@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Prof Protein structure, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, immunology, complement system Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk R
BLAKELY, Garry Prof Microbial genetics and biotechnology Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk R
BURGESS, Karl Dr Biological Mass Spectrometry Karl.Burgess@ed.ac.uk
CACHAT, Elise Dr Mammalian synthetic biology, synthetic morphology & patterning Elise.Cachat@ed.ac.uk R
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk R
FREE, Andrew Dr Microbial communities and their applications in biotechnology and medicine Andrew.Free@ed.ac.uk R
FRENCH, Christopher Prof Biosensors, biomass conversion, gene assembly C.French@ed.ac.uk R V
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis Sander.Granneman@ed.ac.uk R
GRIMA, Ramon Prof Biomathematics Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk R
HORSFALL, Louise Prof Microbial biotechnology and synthetic biology Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk R
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk R
KUSTATSCHER, Georg Dr Systems and Synthetic biology georg.kustatscher@ed.ac.uk R
LAOHAKUNAKORN, Nadanai Dr Cell-free synthetic biology, reliable bioengineering, gene expression biophysics, microfluidics, laboratory automation. Nadanai.Laohakunakorn@ed.ac.uk
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk R
MILLAR, Andrew Prof Science policy, Open Research and Systems Biology Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk R V
OYARZUN, Diego Dr Lecturer in Computational Biology D.Oyarzun@ed.ac.uk
REGAN, Lynne Prof Protein Engineering and Design; Biomaterials; Protein-protein interactions in vivo and in vitro Lynne.Regan@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of molecular machines acting on DNA Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk R
ROSSER, Susan Prof Susan.Rosser@ed.ac.uk R
SADLER, Joanna Dr joanna.sadler@ed.ac.uk
SIBLEY, Christopher Dr Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology Chris.Sibley@ed.ac.uk
STRACQUADANIO, Giovanni Dr Synthetic biology, cancer biology, machine learning, computational biology giovanni.stracquadanio@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Prof Systems biology of cellular decision-making peter.swain@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk R
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Prof Protein-ligand interactions M.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk R
WALLACE, Stephen Dr Microbial chemistry, pathway engineering for industrial chemicals, whole-cell biocatalysis, bioconjugation chemistry, sustainable synthesis. Stephen.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WEAR, Martin Dr Martin.Wear@ed.ac.uk R
WEISSE, Andrea Dr Andrea.Weisse@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Marcus Dr Mechanisms of Epigenetic Modifications Marcus.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
WOOD, Chris Dr chris.wood@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
AUER, Manfred Professor Honorary Professorial Fellow manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk
FOTHERGILL-GILMORE, Linda Dr Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
MICHELS, Paul Professor Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
MUETZELFELDT, Robert Honorary Fellow r.muetzelfeldt@ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Professor Professor Emeritus G.A.Reid@ed.ac.uk
SAWYER, Lindsay Professor Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ANDREOU, Andreas Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate aandreo2@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
AREDE REI, Pedro Dr Granneman Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager pedro.rei@ed.ac.uk
BLACKBURN, Elizabeth Dr Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist e.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk R
BOUGAS, Antonios Dr / Postdoctoral Research Associate Tony.Bougas@ed.ac.uk
BURDETT, Hayden Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate hayden.burdett@ed.ac.uk
CARDONA-ALBERICH, Aida Dr The Sibley Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate aida.cardona@ed.ac.uk
CHU, Liangcui Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Liangcui.Chu@ed.ac.uk
CLARK, Ivan Swain Group / Microscopy Manager Ivan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
DALE, Matthew Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate matt.dale@ed.ac.uk
DAVIDSON, Anne Dr Blakely Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Anne.Davidson@ed.ac.uk
DONOVAN, Sophie Dr / Research Technologist, Edinburgh Genome Foundry s.donovan@ed.ac.uk
DORNAN, Jacqueline Dr Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Dornan@ed.ac.uk R
ECHAVARRI-BRAVO, Virginia Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Virginia.Echavarri@ed.ac.uk R
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant Ian.Eggington@ed.ac.uk R
EL-DAHER, Francois Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate francois.el-daher@ed.ac.uk
HONSBEIN, Annegret Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Annegret.Honsbein@ed.ac.uk
IVANOVA, Ivayla Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate I.Ivanova@ed.ac.uk R
JAYACHANDRAN, Uma Dr Cook Lab / Research Assistant ujayacha@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
JENSEN, Mai-Britt Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mai-Britt.Jensen@ed.ac.uk R
JOHNSTON, Emily Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Emily.Johnston@ed.ac.uk R
KASPROWICZ, Aleksandra Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aleksandra.Kasprowicz@ed.ac.uk
KELLY, Van Dr Kustatscher Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate van.kelly@ed.ac.uk R
KJELDSEN, Annemette Wallace Lab / Research Assistant Annemette.Kjeldsen@ed.ac.uk
KLEINJAN, Dirk Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Dirk-Jan.Kleinjan@ed.ac.uk R
MARDIAN, Rizki Dr French Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rizki.Mardian@ed.ac.uk
MERRICK, Christine Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christine.Merrick@ed.ac.uk R
MOL, Adam Dr Rosser Group / Train@ED Research Fellow amol@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MUSTAFA, Chigdem Dr Baranovic Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate cmustafa@exseed.ed.ac.uk
NOWICKI, Matthew Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk R
O'SHEA, Jack Wells Wood Group / Research Assistant joshea@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ORENDORFF, Andrew / Research Technician andrew.orendorff@ed.ac.uk
PRICE, Marcus Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Cell Engineering - Technology Translator Marcus.Price@ed.ac.uk
SALTEPE, Behide French Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Behide.Saltepe@ed.ac.uk
SCORZA, Livia Dr Millar Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate lscorza3@ed.ac.uk
SENTHIVEL, Vivek Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vivek.Senthivel@ed.ac.uk
SHAMS, Raef Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate raef.shams@ed.ac.uk
SZAVITS-NOSSAN, Juraj Dr Grima Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Juraj.Szavits.Nossan@ed.ac.uk
THORNTON, Ella Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate ella.thornton@ed.ac.uk
THORPE, Thomas Dr Wallace Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate tthorpe@ed.ac.uk
VALENZUELA ORTEGA, Marcos Dr Wallace Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate mvalenz2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xinyi Dr French Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate xwan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WAPENAAR, Hannah Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate hannah.wapenaar@ed.ac.uk
WONG, Jin Dr French Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jin.Wong@ed.ac.uk
ZIELINSKI, Tomasz Dr Millar Group / Computational Resource Manager Tomasz.Zielinski@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
CAMPBELL, Gaynor Dr / Research Technician Gaynor.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
CAPENESS, Michael Dr Horsfall Lab / Laboratory Manager Michael.Capeness@ed.ac.uk
CLIFFORD, Gillian M. Wilson Lab / Research Technician gillian.clifford@ed.ac.uk
DONOVAN, Sophie Dr / Research Technologist, Edinburgh Genome Foundry s.donovan@ed.ac.uk
GILMOUR, Craig / EGF Research Technician craig.gilmour@ed.ac.uk
IMRIE, Lisa Burgess Group / Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk R
MASSIE, Fraser / Junior Technician, EdinOmics Fraser.Massie@ed.ac.uk
MOSES, Tessa Dr Burgess Group / Metabolomics Specialist Tessa.Moses@ed.ac.uk R
WARDROPE, Caroline Dr Rosser Group / Research Technician C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AHMED, Dina Horsfall Lab / PhD Student D.Ahmed-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL HASAINI, Atika Cook Lab / PhD Student A.Y.H.Al-Hasaini@sms.ed.ac.uk
ARRESE-IGOR ROYUELA, Alex Cachat Group / PhD Student A.Arrese-Igor-Royuela@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASTLES, Ben Rosser Group / PhD Student s1505870@sms.ed.ac.uk
BAKER, Benjamin Rosser Group / PhD Student B.W.Baker@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARONAITE, Ugne Cachat Group / PhD Student s1556599@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARRETT, Georgie Burgess Group / PhD Student G.J.Barrett-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
BUNN, Fiona PhD Student F.S.Bunn@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHAUHAN, Mehak Granneman Group / PhD Student M.Chauhan@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Justin Auer Group / PhD Student Y.Chen-230@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHRISTOPOLOU, Niki Granneman Group / PhD Student N.Christopoulou@sms.ed.ac.uk
DAJAK, Martina Free Group / PhD Student s1782124@sms.ed.ac.uk
DAS, Alakta M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student A.Das-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
DEAK, Gauri M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student G.Deak@sms.ed.ac.uk
DONALDSON, James Rosser Group / PhD Student J.S.Donaldson@sms.ed.ac.uk
DWENY, Aya Burgess Group / PhD Student aya.dweny@ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / PhD Student ieggingt@ed.ac.uk
ELSAYED, Kholood Horsfall Lab / PhD Student K.M.G.Elsayed@sms.ed.ac.uk
ERA, Yuta Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1854979@sms.ed.ac.uk
FA-ARUN, Jidapha Wang Lab / PhD Student s1797859@sms.ed.ac.uk
FARQUHAR, Iseabail Cachat Group / PhD Student I.Farquhar@sms.ed.ac.uk
FILATOVA, Tatiana Grima Group / PhD Student s1847022@sms.ed.ac.uk
GAETA, Angelo Stracquadanio Group / PhD Student a.gaeta@sms.ed.ac.uk
GAO, Yuanli Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.Gao-77@sms.ed.ac.uk
GIDDEN, Zoe Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student Z.L.Gidden@sms.ed.ac.uk
HAYNES, Samuel Grima Group / PhD Student s1895111@sms.ed.ac.uk
HEADLEY, Louis Wang Lab / PhD Student s1415681@sms.ed.ac.uk
HICKS, Margaret Wang Lab / PhD Student s1833582@sms.ed.ac.uk
HINDLEY, Hollie / PhD Student H.J.Hindley@sms.ed.ac.uk
HOLEHOUSE, James Grima Group / PhD Student s1402978@sms.ed.ac.uk
IRVINE, Amy Free Group / PhD Student A.L.Irvine@sms.ed.ac.uk
ISLAM, Fohkrul Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student M.F.Islam@sms.ed.ac.uk
JOHNSON, Nick Wallace Lab / PhD Student Nick.Johnson-2@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Luke Burgess Group / PhD Student L.Johnston-18@sms.ed.ac.uk
KAO, Cordelia Wallace Lab / PhD Student T.Kao-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
KNIGHT, Margaret Free Group / PhD Student s1857306@sms.ed.ac.uk
KUMAR, Dhananjay M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student D.Kumar-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
LI, Mengxi French Lab / PhD Student M.Li-74@sms.ed.ac.uk
LI, Wei Auer Group / PhD Student W.Li-82@sms.ed.ac.uk
MADDALENA, Giovanni Horsfall Lab / PhD Student G.Maddalena-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
MARLOW, Louis Wallace Lab / PhD Student louis.marlow@ed.ac.uk
MASTELA, Anna Rosser Group / PhD Student A.Mastela@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Michael Free Group / PhD Student M.A.McDonald@sms.ed.ac.uk
MENDS, Joana Free Group / PhD Student J.Q.Mends@sms.ed.ac.uk
NIKOLADOS, Evangelos Oyarzun Group / PhD Student E.M.Nikolados@sms.ed.ac.uk
PATERSON, Sarah / PhD Student S.Paterson-10@sms.ed.ac.uk
PEACH, Hanna Free Group / PhD Student H.C.G.Peach@sms.ed.ac.uk
POPOV, Alexandru French Lab / PhD Student A.Popov@sms.ed.ac.uk
RANGEL DE FARIA, Pedro Wallace Lab / PhD Student pedro.rangel@ed.ac.uk
SABULYTE, Julija French Lab / PhD Student s1658112@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHEIER, Matthew Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1326543@sms.ed.ac.uk
SEMENIUK, Sofija Cachat Group / PhD Student s1307393@sms.ed.ac.uk
SMIEJA, Connor Auer Group / PhD Student C.B.Smieja@ed.ac.uk
STEELE, Eva Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1403896@sms.ed.ac.uk
STOYANOVA, Darina Burgess Group / PhD Student D.Stoyanova-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUITOR, Jack Wallace Lab / PhD Student s1431954@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUKYS, Augustinas Grima Group / PhD Student s1452424@sms.ed.ac.uk
SURESH BABU, Gautham Wallace Lab / PhD Student G.Suresh-Babu@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUTRADHA, Anima Stracquadanio Group / PhD Student a.sutradhar@ed.ac.uk
TALLIS, Jess Rosser Group / PhD Student J.Tallis@sms.ed.ac.uk
TROTTER, Connor Wallace Lab / PhD Student Connor.Trotter@ed.ac.uk
UNAL, Mert Wells Wood Group / PhD Student s1995825@ed.ac.uk
VALENCIA ALBORNOZ, Ricardo Burgess Group / PhD Student R.G.Valencia-Albornoz@sms.ed.ac.uk
WATSON, James Cook Lab / PhD Student s1502072@sms.ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Mirren Wallace Lab / PhD Student s1031170@sms.ed.ac.uk
WILL, Alexander Cook Lab / PhD Student s1735859@sms.ed.ac.uk
WINKELMANN, Flo French Lab / PhD Student F.F.M.Winkelmann@sms.ed.ac.uk
WINSPEAR, Charlotte Free Group / PhD Student Charlotte.Winspear@hutton.ac.uk
WONGPROMMOON, Arin Oyarzun Group / PhD Student arin.wongprommoon@ed.ac.uk
YADAV, Surendra / PhD Student S.Yadav-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHANG, Lu Richardson Group / PhD Student L.Zhang-98@sms.ed.ac.uk