Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
REGAN, Lynne Prof IQB3HOI@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5368

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
HALL, Jess jessica.hall@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7125
MOYES, Ellis e.moyes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
ARRIBAS, Raquel Dr rarribas@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BARANOVIC, Jelena Dr Structure and function of neuroreceptors, synaptic transmission, ion channels, electrophysiology jelena.baranovic@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Prof Protein structure, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, immunology, complement system Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk R
BLAKELY, Garry Prof Microbial genetics and biotechnology Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk R
BURGESS, Karl Dr Biological Mass Spectrometry Karl.Burgess@ed.ac.uk
CACHAT, Elise Dr Mammalian synthetic biology, synthetic morphology & patterning Elise.Cachat@ed.ac.uk R
COOK, Atlanta Prof Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk R
FREE, Andrew Dr Microbial communities and their applications in biotechnology and medicine Andrew.Free@ed.ac.uk R
FRENCH, Christopher Prof Biosensors, biomass conversion, gene assembly C.French@ed.ac.uk R V
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis Sander.Granneman@ed.ac.uk R
GRIMA, Ramon Prof Biomathematics Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk R
HORSFALL, Louise Prof Microbial biotechnology and synthetic biology Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk R
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk R
KUSTATSCHER, Georg Dr Systems and Synthetic biology georg.kustatscher@ed.ac.uk R
LAOHAKUNAKORN, Nadanai Dr Cell-free synthetic biology, reliable bioengineering, gene expression biophysics, microfluidics, laboratory automation. Nadanai.Laohakunakorn@ed.ac.uk
MALAGUTI, Mattias Dr Mattias.Malaguti@ed.ac.uk R
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk R
MILLAR, Andrew Prof Science policy, Open Research and Systems Biology Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk R V
OYARZUN, Diego Dr Lecturer in Computational Biology D.Oyarzun@ed.ac.uk
REGAN, Lynne Prof Protein Engineering and Design; Biomaterials; Protein-protein interactions in vivo and in vitro Lynne.Regan@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of molecular machines acting on DNA Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk R
ROSSER, Susan Prof Susan.Rosser@ed.ac.uk R
SADLER, Joanna Dr Bio-based plastic and waste upcycling, enzyme discovery and engineering, biofilm engineering joanna.sadler@ed.ac.uk
SIBLEY, Christopher Dr Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology Chris.Sibley@ed.ac.uk
STRACQUADANIO, Giovanni Dr Synthetic biology, cancer biology, machine learning, computational biology giovanni.stracquadanio@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Prof Systems biology of cellular decision-making peter.swain@ed.ac.uk R
TAGAWA, Takanobu Dr Virus-host interaction via gene-regulatory RNAs ttakanob@ed.ac.uk
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Prof Protein-ligand interactions M.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk R
WALLACE, Stephen Prof Microbial chemistry, pathway engineering for industrial chemicals, whole-cell biocatalysis, bioconjugation chemistry, sustainable synthesis. Stephen.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WEAR, Martin Dr Martin.Wear@ed.ac.uk R
WEISSE, Andrea Dr Computational systems modelling, biomedical data science, antibiotic resistance, bacterial growth Andrea.Weisse@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Marcus Dr Mechanisms of Epigenetic Modifications Marcus.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
WOOD, Chris Dr Improving the accessibility and reliability of protein design chris.wood@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
AUER, Manfred Professor Honorary Professorial Fellow manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk
FOTHERGILL-GILMORE, Linda Dr Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
GALLAGHER, Maurice Professor Professor of Microbial Science and Education mp.gallagher@ed.ac.uk
MICHELS, Paul Professor Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Professor Professor Emeritus G.A.Reid@ed.ac.uk
SAWYER, Lindsay Professor Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BOUGAS, Antonios Dr / Postdoctoral Research Associate Tony.Bougas@ed.ac.uk
BURDETT, Hayden Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate hayden.burdett@ed.ac.uk
CAMBONI, Ginevra Stracquadanio Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Molecular Biology gcamboni@ed.ac.uk
CLARK, Ivan Swain Group / Microscopy Manager Ivan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
DANECKA, Weronika French Lab / Research Assistant wdanecka@ed.ac.uk
DIAZ VAZQUEZ, Rebeca Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate for Engineering Biology for Biologic Drug Produc rdiazva@ed.ac.uk
DIERICK, Matthias Dr Stracquadanio Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Molecular Biology mdierick@ed.ac.uk
DORNAN, Jacqueline Dr Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Dornan@ed.ac.uk R
ECHAVARRI-BRAVO, Virginia Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Virginia.Echavarri@ed.ac.uk R
EDMUNDSON, Matt Sadler group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Matt.Edmundson@ed.ac.uk R
EL-DAHER, Francois Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate francois.el-daher@ed.ac.uk
ERA, Yuta Wallace Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Yuta.Era@ed.ac.uk
FILATOVA, Tatiana Grima Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate tfilatov@ed.ac.uk
HAWARD, Fiona Dr The Sibley Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate fhaward2@ed.ac.uk
HONSBEIN, Annegret Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Annegret.Honsbein@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Emily Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Emily.Johnston@ed.ac.uk R
KELLY, Van Dr Kustatscher Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate van.kelly@ed.ac.uk R
KJELDSEN, Annemette Wallace Lab / Research Assistant Annemette.Kjeldsen@ed.ac.uk
KLEINJAN, Dirk Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Dirk-Jan.Kleinjan@ed.ac.uk R
LAU, Liz Wallace Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate elau@ed.ac.uk
LI, Wei Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate wli9@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LITTLEFAIR, Josh Dr Stracquadanio Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Computational Biology jlittlef@ed.ac.uk
LIYANAGEDERA, Sahan Dr / Research Assistant sliyanag@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LOBZAEV, Evgenii Stracquadanio Group / Research Assistant elobzae2@ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Michael Sadler group / Research Assistant mmcdonal@ed.ac.uk
MERRICK, Christine Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christine.Merrick@ed.ac.uk R
MUSTAFA, Chigdem Dr Baranovic Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate cmustafa@exseed.ed.ac.uk
NOWICKI, Matthew Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk R
PARKER, Kyle Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Kyle.Parker@ed.ac.uk
PRICE, Marcus Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Cell Engineering - Technology Translator Marcus.Price@ed.ac.uk
SARR, Medoune Dr Wallace Lab / PDRA medoune.sarr@ed.ac.uk
SCORZA, Livia Dr Millar Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate lscorza3@ed.ac.uk
SEMENIUK, Sofija Stracquadanio Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate s.semeniuk@ed.ac.uk
SHAMS, Raef Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate raef.shams@ed.ac.uk
SHRIMPTON-PHOENIX, Eugene Wells Wood Group / Research Assistant eshrimpt@exseed.ed.ac.uk
STEELE, John Dr Wallace Lab / PDRA jsteele5@exseed.ed.ac.uk
STEELE, Eva Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant esteele2@ed.ac.uk
THORNTON, Ella Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate ella.thornton@ed.ac.uk
THORPE, Thomas Dr Wallace Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate tthorpe@ed.ac.uk
VALENZUELA ORTEGA, Marcos Dr Wallace Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate mvalenz2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WAPENAAR, Hannah Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate hannah.wapenaar@ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Mirren Wallace Lab / Research Assistant in Biotechnology Mirren.White@ed.ac.uk
ZEBALLOS LEMA, Nicol Dr Wallace Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate nzeballo@ed.ac.uk
ZIELINSKI, Tomasz Dr Millar Group / Computational Resource Manager Tomasz.Zielinski@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
CAMPBELL, Gaynor Dr / Research Technician Gaynor.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
CANO AROCA, Laura Lynne Regan Lab / Research Technichian Laura.canoaroca@ed.ac.uk
CAPENESS, Michael Dr Horsfall Lab / Laboratory Manager Michael.Capeness@ed.ac.uk
CLIFFORD, Gillian M. Wilson Lab / Research Technician gillian.clifford@ed.ac.uk
GILMOUR, Craig / EGF Research Technician craig.gilmour@ed.ac.uk
IMRIE, Lisa Burgess Group / Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk R
KUMAR, Devansh Horsfall Lab / Research Technician dkumar2@ed.ac.uk
LEUNG, Kai Lam Karen / Laboratory Support Technician kleung@ed.ac.uk
MACKENZIE, Andrew / Research Technician, EdinOmics amacke2@ed.ac.uk
MASSIE, Fraser / Junior Technician, EdinOmics Fraser.Massie@ed.ac.uk
MOSES, Tessa Dr Burgess Group / Metabolomics Specialist Tessa.Moses@ed.ac.uk R
MUNRO, Vicky Kustatscher Lab / Research Technician Victoria.Munro@ed.ac.uk
WARDROPE, Caroline Dr Rosser Group / Research Technician C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AL HASAINI, Atika Cook Lab / PhD Student A.Y.H.Al-Hasaini@sms.ed.ac.uk
ARMIJO, Benjamin Sadler group / PhD Student b.o.armijo@sms.ed.ac.uk
ARRESE-IGOR ROYUELA, Alex Cachat Group / PhD Student A.Arrese-Igor-Royuela@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASHENAFI , Lidya Swain Group / PhD Student L.D.Ashenafi@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASTLES, Ben Rosser Group / PhD Student s1505870@sms.ed.ac.uk
BAGUSINSKAITE, Gabriele Granneman Group / PhD Student s1765817@ed.ac.uk
BAKER, Benjamin Rosser Group / PhD Student B.W.Baker@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARONAITE, Ugne Cachat Group / PhD Student s1556599@sms.ed.ac.uk
BUNN, Fiona Horsfall Lab / PhD Student F.S.Bunn@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHAUHAN, Mehak Granneman Group / PhD Student M.Chauhan@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Lin Houston Group / PhD Student Lin.Chen@ed.ac.uk
CHRISTOPOLOU, Niki Granneman Group / PhD Student N.Christopoulou@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHRONOWSKA, Marta Wells Wood Group / PhD Student M.Chronowska@sms.ed.ac.uk
CLOUSTON, Kitty Wallace Lab / PhD Student k.clouston@sms.ed.ac.uk
DAJAK, Martina Free Group / PhD Student s1782124@sms.ed.ac.uk
DAS, Alakta M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student A.Das-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
DEAK, Gauri M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student G.Deak@sms.ed.ac.uk
DWENY, Aya Burgess Group / PhD Student aya.dweny@ed.ac.uk
EDWARDS, Alexander Baranovic Lab / PhD Student s2343494@ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / PhD Student ieggingt@ed.ac.uk
ELSAYED, Kholood Horsfall Lab / PhD Student K.M.G.Elsayed@sms.ed.ac.uk
FARQUHAR, Iseabail Cachat Group / PhD Student I.Farquhar@sms.ed.ac.uk
GAO, Yuanli / PhD Student Y.Gao-77@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUIRARDEL, Lucas Oyarzun Group / PhD Student s2541999@ed.ac.uk
HALLETT, George Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student george.hallett@ed.ac.uk
HEADLEY, Louis / PhD Student s1415681@sms.ed.ac.uk
HINDLEY, Hollie Weisse lab / PhD Student H.J.Hindley@sms.ed.ac.uk
IRVINE, Amy Free Group / PhD Student A.L.Irvine@sms.ed.ac.uk
ISLAM, Fohkrul Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student M.F.Islam@sms.ed.ac.uk
JOHNSON, Nick Wallace Lab / PhD Student Nick.Johnson-2@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Luke Burgess Group / PhD Student L.Johnston-18@sms.ed.ac.uk
KAO, Cordelia Wallace Lab / PhD Student T.Kao-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
KLUONIS, Tadas Wells Wood Group / PhD Student t.kluonis@sms.ed.ac.uk
KNIGHT, Margaret Free Group / PhD Student s1857306@sms.ed.ac.uk
KUMAR, Dhananjay M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student D.Kumar-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
LI, Wei Auer Group / PhD Student W.Li-82@sms.ed.ac.uk
MA, Muhan Grima Group / PhD Student M.Ma-21@sms.ed.ac.uk
MADDALENA, Giovanni Horsfall Lab / PhD Student G.Maddalena-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
MARESCHAL, Joshua Granneman Group / PhD Student S1819297@ed.ac.uk
MARLOW, Louis Wallace Lab / PhD Student louis.marlow@ed.ac.uk
MASTELA, Anna Rosser Group / PhD Student A.Mastela@sms.ed.ac.uk
MENDS, Joana Free Group / PhD Student J.Q.Mends@sms.ed.ac.uk
MOU, Taslin Horsfall Lab / PhD Student T.J.Mou@sms.ed.ac.uk
NI, Boyang Houston Group / PhD Student boyang.ni@ed.ac.uk
NICOLL, Andrew Grima Group / PhD Student a.g.nicoll@sms.ed.ac.uk
NIKOLADOS, Evangelos Oyarzun Group / PhD Student E.M.Nikolados@sms.ed.ac.uk
O'LOUGHLIN, Jessica Burgess Group / PhD Student s1907024@ed.ac.uk
PATERSON, Sarah / PhD Student S.Paterson-10@sms.ed.ac.uk
PEACH, Hanna Free Group / PhD Student H.C.G.Peach@sms.ed.ac.uk
PERKINS, Alex / PhD Student A.J.P.Perkins@sms.ed.ac.uk
PITZALIS, Maria Franca Sadler group / PhD Student M.F.Pitzalis@sms.ed.ac.uk
PODBIELSKI, Melanie Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s2267756@sms.ed.ac.uk
POPOV, Alexandru French Lab / PhD Student A.Popov@sms.ed.ac.uk
RANGEL DE FARIA, Pedro Wallace Lab / PhD Student pedro.rangel@ed.ac.uk
RODRIGUEZ CUBILLOS, Maria Juliana Millar Group / PhD Student s2531396@ed.ac.uk
ROLLS, Willow M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student w.rolls@ed.ac.uk
ROYER, Ben Wallace Lab / PhD Student S2259940@ed.ac.uk
SABULYTE, Julija French Lab / PhD Student s1658112@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHNEIER, Arianna Sadler group / PhD Student s1809133@ed.ac.uk
SHEN, Yuxin Oyarzun Group / PhD Student y.shen-80@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIMPSON REDMOND, James Wallace Lab / PhD Student S1811586@ed.ac.uk
SMIEJA, Connor Auer Group / PhD Student C.B.Smieja@ed.ac.uk
SOOD, Ishana Rosser Group / PhD Student i.sood@sms.ed.ac.uk
STEELE, Eva Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1403896@sms.ed.ac.uk
STEFANIAK, Katarzyna Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student k.stefaniak@sms.ed.ac.uk
STOYANOVA, Darina Burgess Group / PhD Student D.Stoyanova-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUKYS, Augustinas Grima Group / PhD Student s1452424@sms.ed.ac.uk
SURESH BABU, Gautham Wallace Lab / PhD Student G.Suresh-Babu@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUTRADHA, Anima Stracquadanio Group / PhD Student a.sutradhar@ed.ac.uk
TALLIS, Jess Rosser Group / PhD Student J.Tallis@sms.ed.ac.uk
TROTTER, Connor Wallace Lab / PhD Student Connor.Trotter@ed.ac.uk
UNAL, Mert Wells Wood Group / PhD Student s1995825@ed.ac.uk
VALENCIA ALBORNOZ, Ricardo Burgess Group / PhD Student R.G.Valencia-Albornoz@sms.ed.ac.uk
WACKWITZ, Charles Wallace Lab / PhD Student s1531138@ed.ac.uk
WAGNER, Christoph Weisse lab / PhD Student c.s.wagner@sms.ed.ac.uk
WANG, Handing Wells Wood Group / PhD Student s2620214@ed.ac.uk
WATSON, James Cook Lab / PhD Student s1502072@sms.ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Mirren Wallace Lab / PhD Student s1031170@sms.ed.ac.uk
WINSPEAR, Charlotte Free Group / PhD Student Charlotte.Winspear@hutton.ac.uk
WINTERBOURNE, Sophie Cook Lab / PhD Student s1767247@ed.ac.uk
YADAV, Surendra / PhD Student S.Yadav-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHANG, Lu Richardson Group / PhD Student L.Zhang-98@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHANG, Qingyi French Lab / PhD Student s2190603@ed.ac.uk