Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
REGAN, Lynne Prof Lynne.Regan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5368

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BARKER, Caron Caron.Barker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
BARANOVIC, Jelena Dr Structure and function of neuroreceptors, synaptic transmission, ion channels, electrophysiology jelena.baranovic@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Prof Protein structure, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, immunology, complement system Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk R
BLAKELY, Garry Prof Microbial genetics and biotechnology Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk R
BURGESS, Karl Dr Biological Mass Spectrometry Karl.Burgess@ed.ac.uk
CACHAT, Elise Dr Mammalian synthetic biology, synthetic morphology & patterning Elise.Cachat@ed.ac.uk R
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk R
FREE, Andrew Dr Microbial communities and their applications in biotechnology and medicine Andrew.Free@ed.ac.uk R
FRENCH, Christopher Prof Biosensors, biomass conversion, gene assembly C.French@ed.ac.uk R V
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis Sander.Granneman@ed.ac.uk R
GRIMA, Ramon Prof Biomathematics Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk R
HORSFALL, Louise Prof Microbial biotechnology and synthetic biology Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk R
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk R
KUSTATSCHER, Georg Dr Systems and Synthetic biology georg.kustatscher@ed.ac.uk R
LAOHAKUNAKORN, Nadanai Dr Cell-free synthetic biology, reliable bioengineering, gene expression biophysics, microfluidics, laboratory automation. Nadanai.Laohakunakorn@ed.ac.uk
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk R
MILLAR, Andrew Prof Science policy, Open Research and Systems Biology Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk R V
OYARZUN, Diego Dr Lecturer in Computational Biology D.Oyarzun@ed.ac.uk
REGAN, Lynne Prof Protein Engineering and Design; Biomaterials; Protein-protein interactions in vivo and in vitro Lynne.Regan@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of molecular machines acting on DNA Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk R
ROSSER, Susan Prof Susan.Rosser@ed.ac.uk R
SADLER, Joanna Dr joanna.sadler@ed.ac.uk
SIBLEY, Christopher Dr Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology Chris.Sibley@ed.ac.uk
STRACQUADANIO, Giovanni Dr Synthetic biology, cancer biology, machine learning, computational biology giovanni.stracquadanio@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Prof Systems biology of cellular decision-making peter.swain@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk R
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Prof Protein-ligand interactions M.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk R
WALLACE, Stephen Dr Microbial chemistry, pathway engineering for industrial chemicals, whole-cell biocatalysis, bioconjugation chemistry, sustainable synthesis. Stephen.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WANG, Baojun Dr Synthetic biology, bioengineering, genetic circuit design, biosensors, biological computation Baojun.Wang@ed.ac.uk R
WEAR, Martin Dr Martin.Wear@ed.ac.uk R
WEISSE, Andrea Dr Andrea.Weisse@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Marcus Dr Mechanisms of Epigenetic Modifications Marcus.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
WOOD, Chris Dr chris.wood@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
AUER, Manfred Professor Honorary Professorial Fellow manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk
FOTHERGILL-GILMORE, Linda Dr Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
GALLAGHER, Maurice Professor Honorary Professorial Fellow MP.Gallagher@ed.ac.uk
MICHELS, Paul Professor Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
MUETZELFELDT, Robert Honorary Fellow r.muetzelfeldt@ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Professor Professor Emeritus G.A.Reid@ed.ac.uk
SAWYER, Lindsay Professor Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ANDREOU, Andreas Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate aandreo2@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
AREDE REI, Pedro Dr Granneman Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager pedro.rei@ed.ac.uk
BLACKBURN, Elizabeth Dr Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist e.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk R
BURDETT, Hayden Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate hayden.burdett@ed.ac.uk
CARDONA-ALBERICH, Aida Dr The Sibley Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate aida.cardona@ed.ac.uk
CHU, Liangcui Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Liangcui.Chu@ed.ac.uk
CLARK, Ivan Swain Group / Experimental Officer Ivan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
DALE, Matthew Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate matt.dale@ed.ac.uk
DONOVAN, Sophie Dr / Research Technologist, Edinburgh Genome Foundry s.donovan@ed.ac.uk
DORNAN, Jacqueline Dr Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Dornan@ed.ac.uk R
ECHAVARRI-BRAVO, Virginia Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Virginia.Echavarri@ed.ac.uk R
EDMUNDSON, Matthew Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Matt.Edmundson@ed.ac.uk R
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant Ian.Eggington@ed.ac.uk R
HONSBEIN, Annegret Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Annegret.Honsbein@ed.ac.uk
IVANOVA, Ivayla Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate I.Ivanova@ed.ac.uk R
JAYACHANDRAN, Uma Dr Cook Lab / Research Assistant ujayacha@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
JENSEN, Mai-Britt Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mai-Britt.Jensen@ed.ac.uk R
JOHNSTON, Emily Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Emily.Johnston@ed.ac.uk R
KASPROWICZ, Aleksandra Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aleksandra.Kasprowicz@ed.ac.uk
KELLY, Van Dr Kustatscher Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate van.kelly@ed.ac.uk R
KJELDSEN, Annemette Wallace Lab / Research Assistant Annemette.Kjeldsen@ed.ac.uk
KLEINJAN, Dirk Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Dirk-Jan.Kleinjan@ed.ac.uk R
LIU, Yang Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate yang.liu.bio@ed.ac.uk
MARDIAN, Rizki Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rizki.Mardian@ed.ac.uk
MENENDEZ, Sergio Dr Baranovic Lab / Research Assistant sergio.menendez@ed.ac.uk
MERRICK, Christine Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christine.Merrick@ed.ac.uk R
MOL, Adam Dr Rosser Group / Train@ED Research Fellow amol@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MUSTAFA, Chigdem Dr Baranovic Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate cmustafa@exseed.ed.ac.uk
NOWICKI, Matthew Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk R
PRICE, Marcus Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Cell Engineering - Technology Translator Marcus.Price@ed.ac.uk
SACHS, Daniel Dr / Research Technologist, Edinburgh Genome Foundry Daniel.Sachs@ed.ac.uk
SALTEPE, Behide Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Behide.Saltepe@ed.ac.uk
SCORZA, Livia Dr Millar Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate lscorza3@ed.ac.uk
SENTHIVEL, Vivek Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vivek.Senthivel@ed.ac.uk
SZAVITS-NOSSAN, Juraj Dr Grima Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Juraj.Szavits.Nossan@ed.ac.uk
VALENZUELA ORTEGA, Marcos Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate mvalenz2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WACKWITZ, Charles / Research Assistant cwackwit@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xinyi Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate xwan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WANG, Lei Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate lwang11@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WAPENAAR, Hannah Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate hannah.wapenaar@ed.ac.uk
WONG, Jin Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jin.Wong@ed.ac.uk
ZIELINSKI, Tomasz Dr Millar Group / Computational Resource Manager Tomasz.Zielinski@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
CAMPBELL, Gaynor Dr / Research Technician Gaynor.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
CAPENESS, Michael Dr Horsfall Lab / Laboratory Manager Michael.Capeness@ed.ac.uk
CLIFFORD, Gillian M. Wilson Lab / Research Technician gillian.clifford@ed.ac.uk
DONOVAN, Sophie Dr / Research Technologist, Edinburgh Genome Foundry s.donovan@ed.ac.uk
HOLYOAKE, Louise Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Research Technician/Lab Manager Louise.Holyoake@ed.ac.uk R
IMRIE, Lisa Burgess Group / Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk R
MOSES, Tessa Dr Burgess Group / Metabolomics Specialist Tessa.Moses@ed.ac.uk R
SACHS, Daniel Dr / Research Technologist, Edinburgh Genome Foundry Daniel.Sachs@ed.ac.uk
WARDROPE, Caroline Dr Rosser Group / Research Technician C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AGUILERA MILLACURA, Juan Feliipe French Lab / PhD Student J.F.Aguilera-Millacura@sms.ed.ac.uk
AHMED, Dina Horsfall Lab / PhD Student D.Ahmed-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL HASAINI, Atika Cook Lab / PhD Student A.Y.H.Al-Hasaini@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASTLES, Ben Rosser Group / PhD Student s1505870@sms.ed.ac.uk
BAKER, Benjamin Rosser Group / PhD Student B.W.Baker@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARONAITE, Ugne Cachat Group / PhD Student s1556599@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARRETT, Georgie Burgess Group / PhD Student G.J.Barrett-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Justin Auer Group / PhD Student Y.Chen-230@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHRISTOPOLOU, Niki Granneman Group / PhD Student N.Christopoulou@sms.ed.ac.uk
CORTADA GARCIA, Joan Burgess Group / PhD Student J.Cortada-Garcia@sms.ed.ac.uk
DAJAK, Martina Free Group / PhD Student s1782124@sms.ed.ac.uk
DONALDSON, James Rosser Group / PhD Student J.S.Donaldson@sms.ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / PhD Student ieggingt@ed.ac.uk
ERA, Yuta Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1854979@sms.ed.ac.uk
FA-ARUN, Jidapha Wang Lab / PhD Student s1797859@sms.ed.ac.uk
FANFANI, Viola Stracquadanio Group / PhD Student v.fanfani@sms.ed.ac.uk
FARQUHAR, Iseabail Cachat Group / PhD Student I.Farquhar@sms.ed.ac.uk
FILATOVA, Tatiana Grima Group / PhD Student s1847022@sms.ed.ac.uk
GAETA, Angelo Stracquadanio Group / PhD Student a.gaeta@sms.ed.ac.uk
GALE, Grant Wang Lab / PhD Student G.A.R.Gale@sms.ed.ac.uk
GAO, Yuanli Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.Gao-77@sms.ed.ac.uk
GIDDEN, Zoe Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student Z.L.Gidden@sms.ed.ac.uk
GWYNNE, Magnus Granneman Group / PhD Student M.M.Gwynne@sms.ed.ac.uk
HAYNES, Samuel Grima Group / PhD Student s1895111@sms.ed.ac.uk
HEADLEY, Louis Wang Lab / PhD Student s1415681@sms.ed.ac.uk
HICKS, Margaret Wang Lab / PhD Student s1833582@sms.ed.ac.uk
HOLEHOUSE, James Grima Group / PhD Student s1402978@sms.ed.ac.uk
IRVINE, Amy Free Group / PhD Student A.L.Irvine@sms.ed.ac.uk
ISLAM, Fohkrul Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student M.F.Islam@sms.ed.ac.uk
JENNINGS, Christopher Auer Group / PhD Student s1896130@sms.ed.ac.uk
JOHNSON, Nick Wallace Lab / PhD Student Nick.Johnson-2@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Luke Burgess Group / PhD Student L.Johnston-18@sms.ed.ac.uk
KAO, Cordelia Wallace Lab / PhD Student T.Kao-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
KNIGHT, Margaret Free Group / PhD Student s1857306@sms.ed.ac.uk
KUMAR, Dhananjay M. Wilson Lab / PhD Student D.Kumar-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
LI, Mengxi French Lab / PhD Student M.Li-74@sms.ed.ac.uk
LI, Wei Auer Group / PhD Student W.Li-82@sms.ed.ac.uk
MADDALENA, Giovanni Horsfall Lab / PhD Student G.Maddalena-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
MANZANARO MORENO, Nahuel Swain Group / PhD Student N.Manzanaro-Moreno@sms.ed.ac.uk
MASTELA, Anna Rosser Group / PhD Student A.Mastela@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCCAUGHAN, Hugh Granneman Group / PhD Student hugh.mccaughan@ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Michael Free Group / PhD Student M.A.McDonald@sms.ed.ac.uk
MENDS, Joana Free Group / PhD Student J.Q.Mends@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUHLBAUER, Lukas Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Lukas.Muhlbauer@ed.ac.uk
NIKOLADOS, Evangelos Oyarzun Group / PhD Student E.M.Nikolados@sms.ed.ac.uk
PEACH, Hanna Free Group / PhD Student H.C.G.Peach@sms.ed.ac.uk
SABULYTE, Julija French Lab / PhD Student s1658112@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHEIER, Matthew Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1326543@sms.ed.ac.uk
SEMENIUK, Sofija Cachat Group / PhD Student s1307393@sms.ed.ac.uk
SMIEJA, Connor Auer Group / PhD Student C.B.Smieja@ed.ac.uk
STEELE, Eva Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1403896@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUITOR, Jack Wallace Lab / PhD Student s1431954@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUKYS, Augustinas Grima Group / PhD Student s1452424@sms.ed.ac.uk
TALLIS, Jess Rosser Group / PhD Student J.Tallis@sms.ed.ac.uk
THORNTON, Ella Wang Lab / PhD Student Ella.Thornton@ed.ac.uk
TOWLE, Zak Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Zak.Towle@ed.ac.uk
TROTTER, Connor Wallace Lab / PhD Student Connor.Trotter@ed.ac.uk
VALENCIA ALBORNOZ, Ricardo Burgess Group / PhD Student R.G.Valencia-Albornoz@sms.ed.ac.uk
WATSON, James Cook Lab / PhD Student s1502072@sms.ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Mirren Wallace Lab / PhD Student s1031170@sms.ed.ac.uk
WILL, Alexander Cook Lab / PhD Student s1735859@sms.ed.ac.uk
WINKELMANN, Flo French Lab / PhD Student F.F.M.Winkelmann@sms.ed.ac.uk
WONGPROMMOON, Arin Oyarzun Group / PhD Student arin.wongprommoon@ed.ac.uk
YADAV, Surendra / PhD Student S.Yadav-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHANG, Lu Richardson Group / PhD Student L.Zhang-98@sms.ed.ac.uk