Asian Studies

Staff

Get to know the team in Asian Studies.

Many of us work on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm BST.

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Undergraduate enquiries

Email us about undergraduate study in Asian Studies

Postgraduate enquiries

Email us about taught postgraduate programmes in Asian Studies

Email us about postgraduate research in Asian Studies

Head of Asian Studies

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Professor Aaron William Moore Handa Chair of Japanese-Chinese Relations, Head of Asian Studies aaron.moore@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4225

Administrative staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Annie Kelly Senior Administrator annie.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4167
Mr Callum Lennie Learning and Teaching Administrator Callum.Lennie@ed.ac.uk
Vivien Macnish Porter Undergraduate Administrator Vivien.Macnish-Porter@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3528

Academic staff

Name (sorted in descending order) Role Email Phone number
Ian Astley Senior Lecturer in Japanese Ian.Astley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1358
Sakie Chiba-Mooney Language Assistant in Japanese Sakie.Chiba@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3064
Joachim Gentz Chair of Chinese Philosophy and Religion Joachim.Gentz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3681
Natascha Gentz Chair of Chinese Studies Natascha.Gentz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4229
Daniel Hammond Senior Lecturer in Chinese Politics and Society Daniel.Hammond@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 650 6941
Xuelei Huang Senior Lecturer in Chinese Studies Xuelei.Huang@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8985
Hephzibah Israel Senior Lecturer in Translation Studies H.Israel@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4467
Sangpil Jin Teaching and Research Postdoctoral Fellow in Korean Studies sjin2@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)7860839382
Sakino Kelbie Language Assistant in Japanese Sakino.Kelbie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8294
Youngmi Kim Senior Lecturer in Korean Studies Youngmi.Kim@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1363
Duo Luan Lecturer in Chinese Studies, Head of Chinese Language duo.luan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4274
Mark McLeister Lecturer in Chinese Studies Mark.McLeister@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4232
Professor Aaron William Moore Handa Chair of Japanese-Chinese Relations, Head of Asian Studies aaron.moore@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4225
Atsuko Moriyama Language Assistant in Japanese atsuko.moriyama@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131
Fumiko Narumi-Munro (FHEA) Lecturer F.Narumi-Munro@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6971
Helen Parker Lecturer in Japanese Helen.Parker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4230
Chris Perkins Senior Lecturer in Japanese Chris.Perkins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4174
Cen Qiguo Language Assistant in Chinese Cen.Qiguo@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4044
Christopher Rosenmeier Lecturer in Chinese christopher.rosenmeier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4357
Akihiko Shimizu Language Assistant in Japanese akihiko.shimizu@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8294
Holly Stephens Lecturer in Japanese and Korean Studies holly.stephens@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8984
Yoko Matsumoto-Sturt Lecturer in Japanese Y.M.Sturt@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4228
Esther Tyldesley Teaching Fellow in Chinese Esther.Tyldesley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4464
Julian Ward Senior Lecturer in Chinese Julian.Ward@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4226
Min Yue Teaching Fellow in Chinese min.yue@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4231

Tutors

CHEN Teng Chinesee Tutor v1tchen6@exseed.ed.ac.uk
GAO Xiaoning Chinese Tutor v1xgao2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
HU Jialu Chinese Tutor v1jhu33@exseed.ed.ac.uk
JIN Xihong Chinese Teacher xihongking@ed.ac.uk
LIU Yuhan Chinese Teacher v1yliu28@exseed.ed.ac.uk
UDINOV Merlin Chinese Tutor v1mudino@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WANG Xiaoming Chinese Tutor v1xwan18@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WU Zimin Chinese Tutor v1zwu15@exseed.ed.ac.uk