Asian Studies

Staff

Contact details for the academic and administrative staff of Asian Studies.

Head of department

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Professor Aaron William Moore Handa Chair of Japanese-Chinese Relations, Head of Asian Studies aaron.moore@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4225

Administrative staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Vivien Macnish Porter Undergraduate Administrator Vivien.Macnish-Porter@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3528
Charlotte Mclean Postgraduate Administrator Charlotte.McLean@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4114

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Ian Astley Senior Lecturer in Japanese Ian.Astley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1358
Sakie Chiba-Mooney Language Assistant in Japanese Sakie.Chiba@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3064
Paul Dundas Honorary Fellow P.Dundas@ed.ac.uk
Joachim Gentz Chair of Chinese Philosophy and Religion Joachim.Gentz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3681
Natascha Gentz Chair of Chinese Studies Natascha.Gentz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4229
Daniel Hammond Senior Lecturer in Chinese Politics and Society Daniel.Hammond@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 650 6941
Xuelei Huang Senior Lecturer in Chinese Studies Xuelei.Huang@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8985
Hephzibah Israel Senior Lecturer in Translation Studies H.Israel@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4467
Sakino Kelbie Language Assistant in Japanese Sakino.Kelbie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8294
Youngmi Kim Senior Lecturer in Korean Studies Youngmi.Kim@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1363
Duo Luan Senior Teaching Fellow, Chinese Language Programme Director duo.luan@ed.ac.uk 0044(0)1316504274
Mark McLeister Lecturer in Chinese Studies Mark.McLeister@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4232
Professor Aaron William Moore Handa Chair of Japanese-Chinese Relations, Head of Asian Studies aaron.moore@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4225
Fumiko Narumi-Munro Teaching Fellow in Japanese F.Narumi-Munro@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6971
Helen Parker Lecturer in Japanese Helen.Parker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4230
Chris Perkins Senior Lecturer in Japanese Chris.Perkins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4174
Cen Qiguo Language Assistant in Chinese Cen.Qiguo@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4044
Christopher Rosenmeier Lecturer in Chinese christopher.rosenmeier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4357
Holly Stephens Lecturer in Japanese and Korean Studies holly.stephens@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8984
Yoko Matsumoto-Sturt Lecturer in Japanese Y.M.Sturt@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4228
Esther Tyldesley Teaching Fellow in Chinese Esther.Tyldesley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4464
Julian Ward Senior Lecturer in Chinese Julian.Ward@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4226
Min Yue Teaching Fellow in Chinese min.yue@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4231

Tutors

Name Role Email
Yuan Fasen Chinese Teacher Fasen.Yuan@ed.ac.uk
Liu Yongsheng Chinese Teacher v1yliu14@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Jin Xihong Chinese Teacher xihongking@ed.ac.uk
Li Zaifan Chinese Tutor v1zli114@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Wang Jin Chinese Tutor v1jwan17@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Wang Qixia Chinese Tutor v1qwang@ed.ac.uk
Gao Xinyi Chinese Tutor v1xgao@ed.ac.uk
Zhang Qiang Chinese Tutor v1qzhan3@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Zhang Weijia Chinese Tutor v1wzhan6@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Visiting scholars and research students

Name Email
Yu Shuhan s1893581@sms.ed.ac.uk