The Chancellor

The Chancellor confers degrees and enhances the profile and reputation of the University on national and global levels.

The position of Chancellor is the highest in the University.

The Chancellor is elected by the University’s General Council, and remains Chancellor for life.

Degrees are conferred by her, or by the Vice-Chancellor.

Her Royal Highness, The Princess Royal

Photo of the University Chancellor, Her Royal Highness, The Princess Royal

HRH The Princess Royal has held the position of Chancellor of the University since March 2011.

She succeeds HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, who stepped down from the role in 2010, having held it since 1953.

The Princess Royal is also Patron of the University’s Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies.

Previous Chancellors of the University

In its 150 years of existence, only eight individuals have held the position of Chancellor.

His Royal Highness, The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh
The Marquis of Linlithgow
Baron Tweedsmuir of Elsfield
Sir James Matthew Barrie, Baronet
The Earl of Balfour
The Right Honourable John Inglis
Baron Brougham and Vaux

Related links

Chancellor's Awards