Honorary graduates 2021/22

Those awarded honorary degrees between 1 August 2021 and 31 July 2022.


Mrs Sarah Brown

Sarah Brown smiling to camera in front of a neutral blurred background.
Chair of children’s charity ‘Theirworld’ and Executive Chair of the Global Business Coalition for Education

Doctor Honoris causa 

Mr Brian Cameron

Outreach and Teaching Support Manager, School of GeoSciences

Bachelor of Science 

Dame Anne Helen Richards

Chief Executive of Fidelity International and former Vice-Convener of University Court

Doctor honoris causa

Ms Hilary Jones

Honorary Grad - Hilary Jones
Chair of Scotland Food and Drink’s Brewing Industry Leadership Group, Director WEST Brewery, Glasgow, and Chair of Board of Trustees of Edinburgh charity Sikh Sanjog

Doctor of Science 

Mr Joe Schaffers

Honorary Grad - Joe Schaffers
Education Officer, District Six Museum, Cape Town

Doctor honoris causa

Professor Robert MacDougall

Honorary Grad - Hugh MacDougall
Retired Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of St Andrews

Doctor honoris causa

Dr Patricia Conrad

Honorary Grad - Patricia Conrad
Associate Dean for Global Programs and Professor of Parasitology, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of California Davis

Doctor honoris causa

Dr Andrew Goodall Matthews

Honorary Grad - Andrew Matthews
Retired Equine Opthalmologist

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery

Sister Aelred Timmins, RSM

Honorary Grad - Sister Aelred Timmins, RSM
Director of the Homeless Project (Edinburgh)

Doctor honoris causa

Dame Professor Muffy Calder, DBE

Honorary Grad - Muffy Calder
Vice-Principal and Head of College of Science and Engineering, University of Glasgow

Doctor of Science

Mr John Byrne

Artist and Playwright

Doctor honoris causa

Professor Charles Esche

Honorary Grad - Charles Esche
Director of VanAbbe Museum, Eindhoven

Doctor honoris causa

Reverend Professor Sir Diarmaid Ninian John MacCulloch

Honorary Grad - Diarmaid McCulloch
Professor of the History of the Church, University of Oxford

Doctor of Divinity

Dr Tedros Ghebreyesus

Honorary Grad - Dr Tedros
Director-General of the World Health Organisation

Doctor honoris causa

Dame Professor Anne Marie Rafferty, DBE

Honorary Grad - Anne Marie Rafferty
Professor of Nursing Policy at King’s College London, President Royal College of Nursing (RCN)

Doctor honoris causa

Dr Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka

Honorary Grad - Dr Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka
Former Executive Director, UN Women

Doctor honoris causa

Emeritus Professor John Peter Scott, CBE

Honorary Grad - Emeritus Professor John Peter Scott, CBE


Doctor of Science in Social Science