Honorary graduates 2019/20

Those awarded honorary degrees between 1 August 2019 and 31 July 2020.

Ms Karina McTeague 

Karina McTeague

Director of Retail Banking Supervision at the Financial Conduct Authority 

Doctor of Laws 

Professor Michael Rosbash 

Michael Rosbash

Peter Gruber Professor of Neuroscience at Brandeis University; Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute 

Doctor of Science 

Professor Dame Caroline Dean 

Caroline Dean

Project Leader in Cell & Molecular Biology, John Innes Centre, Norwich 

Doctor of Science 

Professor Fernando D Martinez 

Fernando D Martinez

Regents’ Professor of Pediatrics, Univ. of Arizona College of Medicine & Director of the Arizona Respiratory Center 

Doctor of Medicine 

Professor Harry Campbell,  Professor IgorRudan, and Professor Harish Nair 

Harry Campbell, Igor Rudan, Harish Nair

All based at the Edinburgh Medical School Usher Institute 

Principal's Medal for Exceptional Service 

Ms Carrie Gracie 

Carrie Gracie

Former BBC International Editor, China 

Doctor of Letters 

Professor Nobuhiro Kiyotaki 

Nobuhiro Kiyotaki

Professor, Department of Economics, Princeton University 

Doctor of Science (Social Science) 

Dr Fergus Kerr, OP 

Fergus Kerr

Doctor of Divinity

This award was given by the University of Edinburgh in recognition of his leading scholarship in Scottish Catholic theology of the twentieth century.

Dr Adam Budd 

Lecturer in Cultural History in the School of History, Classics and Archaeology