Honorary graduates 2018/19

Those awarded honorary degrees between 1 August 2018 and 31 July 2019.

Ms Janice Margaret Brown

Janice Brown

Company Director, SOCO plc, Member of Board of Directors, Scottish Ballet

Doctor honoris causa

Ms Monica Coenraads

Monica Coenraads

Founder, Executive Director of the Rett Syndrome Research Trust, USA

Doctor honoris causa

Professor Richard Ellis, CBE

Professor of Astrophysics, University College London; Visiting Professor UoE

Doctor of Science

Professor Alison Etheridge

Alison Etheridge
Professor of Probability, Department of Statistics, Oxford

Doctor of Science

Professor Silvia Federici

Silvia Federici

Professor Emerita and Teaching Fellow at Hofstra University, New York

Doctor honoris causa

Dr Naushad Forbes

Naushad Forbes

Co-Chairman, Forbes-Marshall;  President, Confederation of Indian Industry (2016-17)

Doctor honoris causa

Mr David James Gow, CBE

Mr David James Gow, CBE

Head of SMART Services, NHS Scotland and Inventor of the bionic hand Doctor of Science

Professor Karim Khan

Karim Kahn

Canadian Institutes of Health Research – Scientific Director Musculoskeletal Heath and Arthritis

Doctor honoris causa

Professor Nicola Lacey, CBE

Professor Nicola Lacey, CBE

Criminal law theorist

Doctor of Laws

Professor Jennifer A Lewis

Jennifer Ann Lewis

Professor of Biologically Inspired Engineering, Harvard University

Doctor of Science

Mr Sabyasachi Mukherjee

Mr Sabyasachi Mukherjee
Director of the (CSMVS) Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya formerly Prince of Wales Museum, Mumbai

Doctor honoris causa

Ms Karen Christiana Figueres Olsen

Karen Christiana Figueres Olsen

Convener of Mission 2020 and former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change

Doctor honoris causa

Professor Emeritus Sir Timothy O'Shea

Sir Timothy O'Shea

Former Vice-Chancellor and Principal, University of Edinburgh

Doctor honoris causa

Mr Yun SangKoo

Yun SangKoo

Director, Yun Posun Memorial Foundation

Doctor honoris causa

Professor Yonghua Song

Yonghua Song

Executive Vice-President, Zhejiang University, China; Founding Dean of International Campus, Zhejiang University

Doctor of Science

Professor Bryan Stevenson

Bryan Stevenson

Professor of Clinical Law, NYU Law, Executive Director, Equal Justice Initiative

Doctor of Laws

Professor William Stirling

Professor William Stirling

Former Director, Institut Laue Langevin (ILL), Grenoble, France

Doctor of Science

Mr Ngugi wa Thiong'o

Ngugi wa Thiong'o

Writer, public intellectual

Doctor of Letters

Professor Andrew Walls

Andrew Walls

Honorary Professor, School of Social and Political Science

Doctor of Divinity

The Edinburgh Seven

Sophia Jex-Blake, Isabel Thorne, Edith Pechey, Matilda Chaplin, Helen Evans, Mary Anderson Marshall, Emily Bovell  

Degrees collected on their behalf by a group of current students at Edinburgh Medical School.

Posthumous MBChB

Other distinctions 

Professor Helen Sang, Dr Vicky MacRae & Ms Catherine Eastwood

For leading the Roslin Institute’s Athena SWAN related activities, advancing support of gender equality

Principal's Medal for Exceptional Service (joint)