PAHRC members

Members of the Physical Activity for Health Research Centre (PAHRC) team.

The Physical Activity for Health Research Centre (PAHRC) was established and led by Professor Nanette Mutrie, Chair in Physical Activity for Health, until her retirement in January 2022. PAHRC is currently being led by Director Professor Marie Murphy.

Links on members names (below) lead to their profile pages which include details about research and publications.

External members: We also welcome academics, practitioners, students and others outwith the University of Edinburgh, who are interested in our work to join as external members of PAHRC. External members will receive updates on our work and invitations to research/knowledge exchange seminars, workshops or events via newsletters.


Members of our PAHRC team talk about their work.

Video: Meet the PAHRC researchers
Members of the Physical Activity for Health Research Centre talk about their work.

Our team

Professor Marie Murphy (Director)

Marie Murphy

Dr Graham Baker (Co-Deputy Director)

Programme Director of the MSc Physical Activity for Health

Dr Graham Baker

Dr Paul Kelly (Co-Deputy Director)

Reader in Physical Activity for Health

Paul Kelly

Professor Ailsa Niven

Personal Chair Psychology of Physical Activity

Ailsa Niven

Dr Sam Fawkner

Deputy Head of Moray House School of Education and Sport & Senior Lecturer in Physical Activity for Health

Sam Fawkner

Dr Claire Fitzsimons

Lecturer in Physical Activity for Health

Claire Fitzsimons

Dr Dave Saunders

Senior Lecturer in Exercise Physiology


Dr Chloë Williamson

Postdoctoral Fellow

Chloe Williamson

Dr Sarah Morton

Chancellor’s Fellow


Dr Tessa Strain

Postdoctoral Fellow

Tess Strain

Sagan Turner

RKEI Administrator

Sagan Turner
Core Members
Sofia Alvarado
Graham Condie
Dr Danijela Gasevic
Christina Gorbacheva (PhD student)
Steffan Griffin (PhD student)
Niamh Hart (PhD student)

Flora Jackson

Lei Jian (PhD student)
Chuchu Li (PhD student)
Wenbin Liu (PhD student)
Jillian Manner (PhD student)
Elaine McNish
Dr Andrew Murray
Ling Shen (PhD Student)
Kait Simpson (PhD student)
Huilin Wang (PhD student)
Rakhmat Ari Wibowo

Yuepeijing Zhuo (PhD student)

Honorary Professors
Prof Adrian Bauman
Prof Fiona Bull
Professor Adrian Davis

Professor Catherine Woods

Honorary Fellow
Flora Jackson


Prof Emerita Nanette Mutrie, Founding Director of PAHRC (2013-2022)

Professor Mutrie’s inaugural lecture