Usher Institute

Usher PhD, MRes and MD students

PhD, MRes and MD students on the three postgraduate programmes in Usher - Global Health, Medical Informatics and Population Health Sciences.

PhD students based in the Centre for Global Health

Name (sorted in ascending order) Thesis title Email
Salahuddin Ahmed Community use of digital auscultation to improve diagnosis of paediatric pneumonia in Sylhet, Bangladesh S.Ahmed-18@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jordan Ashworth jordon.ashworth@ed.ac.uk
James Baxter Reconciling the mechanisms of HIV-1 infection acquisition and disease progression using phylogenetic and mathematical modelling James.Baxter@ed.ac.uk
Paula Couto  Characterisation of the respiratory syncytial virus seasonality in the region of the americas to optimise the timing for immunoprophylaxis and vaccine policy using national surveillance data s1470576@sms.ed.ac.uk
Danica Du TBC Qianmei.Du@ed.ac.uk
G M Monsur Habib Enhancing access to pulmonary rehabilitation (PR) through implementation research in Bangladesh G.M.M.Habib@sms.ed.ac.uk
Shahidul Islam  Long-term Effects of Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) Infection in Early Childhood Shahidul.Islam@ed.ac.uk
Shoba John Developing effective health governance for nutrition and sustainable development: lessons from tobacco control in managing conflicts of interest in india S.John-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ahad Khan Usability and performance of novel paediatric pulse oximeter and multi-modal devices – pragmatic evaluation in a LMIC setting A.M.Khan@sms.ed.ac.uk
Farzana Khan Palliative Care in the Humanitarian Context: Evaluation of a Community-Based Palliative Care Programme for Rohingya Refugees F.Khan-6@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah Lepper Monitoring the Global Spread of Antimicrobial Resistance. H.C.Lepper@sms.ed.ac.uk
Fiona Lindsay To build and research a curriculum to provide safe and effective physiotherapy CBR skills. f.lindsay-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
Michelle McGannan Development and evaluation of online learning in palliative care for humanitarian contexts/crises m.r.mcgannan@sms.ed.ac.uk
Amanda Meyer Achieving Sustainable Development Goals 3 (healthy lives) and 4 (inclusive and equitable quality education) for children in conflict affected low- and middle-income countries (LMICs). What are the critical factors determining whether the goals will be met and what is the role of Sustainable and Green Finance in enhancing success? amanda.meyer@ed.ac.uk
Aamirah Mussa The diagnosis and treatment of Chlamydia trachomatis and Neisseria gonorrhoeae in asymptomatic pregnant women in Botswana a.mussa@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rutuja Patil Can teleconsultation at Micro-Health Centre attain management of COPD and Asthma in a rural area where medical expertise is not available? r.g.patil@sms.ed.ac.uk
Biswajit Paul Lung cancer and chronic respiratory disease: Development and pilot testing of an intervention in a southern Indian rural community b.paul-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
Juwairia Quazi Applying a Complex System Theory framework and Dynamic System Modelling methodology to Planetary Health? j.quazi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ehsan Rahman Implementation research on introducing pulse oximetry with routine IMCI services at first level health facilities of Bangladesh A.E.Rahman@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eleanor Reid A Randomized Controlled Trial of Early Palliative Care in Newly Diagnosed Cancer Patients at Black Lion Hospital, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia E.A.Reid-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sarah Richardson An evaluation of the optimal trauma data collection methods in Uganda s0679889@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sudipto Roy Care-seeking practices of and barriers to care-seeking for pneumonia in children aged less than five years in tribal and non-tribal rural areas of Pune district, India s.roy-7@sms.ed.ac.uk
James Wells What are the conditions for developing and scaling-up sustainable palliative care services in Low to Medium Income Countries James.Wells@ed.ac.uk

PhD students based in the Centre for Medical Informatics

Name (sorted in ascending order) Thesis title Email
Mats Stage Baxter M-health intervention on co-morbid patients with seasonal Allergic Rhinitis (AR) and Asthma m.s.baxter@sms.ed.ac.uk
Arif Budiarto Machine Learning-based Prognostic Models for Improved Asthma Management Using UK-Wide Electronic Health Records arif.budiarto@ed.ac.uk
Charlotte Clay TBC c.e.clay@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cameron Fairfield Exploring the association between gallstone disease and cardiometabolic diseases s1008920@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kenneth Haining Socioeconomic outcomes measurement in survivors of major illness kenneth.haining@ed.ac.uk
Sheraz Khan The EMPIRE Trial An interventional study for PhD in Health Informatics to plan and evaluate  the establishment of Electronic Marketing Public Participation & Insurance Regulation in Emerging Economies. S.A.Khan-6@sms.ed.ac.uk
Stephen Knight The use of mobile technology to determine outcomes from surgery S.R.Knight@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andrew Linn Autonomy and Accountability for Healthcare Professionals working with AI and datadriven technologies: building positive value tension in practice andrew.linn@ed.ac.uk
Poorya Parvizi Network-based embedding methods for multi-omics data analysis poorya.parvizi@ed.ac.uk
Michael Poon Insights into gliomas using data-driven analytic approach to determine treatment response s0793218@sms.ed.ac.uk
Aryelly Rodriguez Carbonell Are anonymised databases truly anonymous? Aryelly.Rodriguez@ed.ac.uk
Mousumi Sengupta Using 'Big Data' - UK learning system for asthma Mousumi.Sengupta@ed.ac.uk
Kevin Tsang Application of Data-Driven Technologies for Asthma Self-Management K.C.H.Tsang@sms.ed.ac.uk
Md Nazim Uzzaman Exploring the delivery of on-line asthma reviews as an option in primary care from the perspective of the patient, the healthcare professional and the organisation: a mixed-methods study nested in the IMP2ART programme of work. m.n.uzzaman@sms.ed.ac.uk
Evi Valavani Longitudinal outcome assessment of clinical interventions in neurodevelopmental disorders using different modalitiesLongitudinal outcome assessment of clinical interventions in neurodevelopmental disorders using different modalities evdoxia.valavani@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Webb Artificial intelligence and ethical decision making in a resource-limited health care environment jamie.webb@ed.ac.uk

PhD students based in the Centre for Population Health Sciences

Name (sorted in ascending order) Thesis title Email
Raied Alotaibi The effect of mental disorders on the outcomes of and care for Out-of-Hospital cardiac arrest (OHCA). r.alotaibi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mohammad Romel Bhuia Investigating how the UK's electronic health records infrastructure can support the planning and execution of clinical trials. mohammad-romel.bhuia@ed.ac.uk
Ayesha Bibi Developing Intervention to Enhance Quality of Life among Breast Cancer Survivors a.bibi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laura Bijman TBC laura.bijman@ed.ac.uk
Rae Captieux Exploring potential for type 2 diabetes remission: a mixed methods study using population-based diabetes register data and interviews with primary health care professionals s0236828@sms.ed.ac.uk
Catherine Carver C.Carver@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jorge Crespo Suarez Chile's integrated primary public mental health services: a mixed-method sociological analysis. j.l.crespo-suarez@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mpho Disang Multi-morbidity in non-communicable diseases and response of primary health care; a case study of Botswana. M.R.Disang@sms.ed.ac.uk
Karim El Ferkh Burden of asthma co-morbidity in the UK: secondary analyses of national databases from England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales s1478257@sms.ed.ac.uk
Esther González Hernando Data-Driven Innovations and Pandemics: Regulatory Responses s1893484@sms.ed.ac.uk
Eryk Jan Grzeszkowiak Genetic Epidemiology: Food preferences genetics and its impact on food consumption and human health Eryk.Jan.Grzeszkowiak@ed.ac.uk
Zhe Huang Risk prediction for vascular complications in people with type 2 diabetes mellitus(T2DM) zhe.huang@ed.ac.uk
Wardah Khalid Genetic Risk Score to predict Alzheimer’s disease W.Khalid-1
Lois King Regional Burden of Respiratory Disease Lois.King@ed.ac.uk
Emma Kinley Delivery of supported self-management in asthma reviews: a mixed methods observational study nested in the IMP2ART programme of work E.J.Kinley@sms.ed.ac.uk
Arianna Landini Genetic variants in protein glycosylation A.Landini@sms.ed.ac.uk
Bohee Lee Responsiveness to oral corticosteroids in recurrent wheeze of early childhood bohee.lee@ed.ac.uk
Wang Pok Lo The search for valid surrogate outcomes: review of current evidence and development of practical strategies for surrogate evaluation w.p.lo@sms.ed.ac.uk
Clare Elizabeth MacRae Investigate patterns of multiple long-term conditions in individuals, in households, and in neighbourhoods, and in what ways these patterns relate to how people use health and social care services (for example, attending an emergency GP service, or needing social carers at home) and likelihood of death. clare.macrae@ed.ac.uk
Joanne Mair Using existing data within the intensive care unit to augment a clinical trial of a novel diagnostic device. j.mair@ed.ac.uk
Elizabeth Mansi Sedatives and antipsychotics prescribed after discharge from the ICU: what are the risks? liz.mansi@ed.ac.uk
Stuart McGurnaghan s1689438@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ann McMurray Parent and patient perspectives of fatal and near fatal asthma, a qualitative study ann.mcmurray@ed.ac.uk
Martine Miller s0567290@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marisa Muckian Tackling fundamental questions in viral epidemiology and vaccination using genomics and data science M.Muckian@sms.ed.ac.uk
Barat (Baurzhan) Ospanov Anaemia management in Intensive Care Survivors: impact on clinical recovery and patient-reported outcomes B.Ospanov@sms.ed.ac.uk
Teguh Perdamaian Developing a community-based intervention on palliative care for elderly in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. teguh.perdamaian@ed.ac.uk
Carol Porteous Patient and Public Engagement and Involvement in Research: The Impacts on, and experience of, those being involved. s1584030@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cecilia Prieto Bravo Childhood obesity
Lisa Raeder Biotechnological management of the female body: The materialization of health and embodiment of risk through the mediation of hormonal contraceptives l.e.m.raeder@sms.ed.ac.uk
Shaista Rasool Brief Behaviour Change Intervention for Smokeless Tobacco (SLT) Cessation Delivered Through Oral Health Care Providers: Feasibility and Fidelity in Clinical Setting In Pakistan s.rasool-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
Linda Repetto The Omics Basis of Human Health: Inferring Causal Effects of Neuro-Proteins on Complex Psychiatric Disorders linda.repetto@ed.ac.uk
Florian Stummer How can e-Health projects succeed? e-Health project management comparison in United Kingdom, Swiss, Sweden and Austria. f.o.stummer@sms.ed.ac.uk
Dr Swagata Tripathy TBC S.Tripathy@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lijuan Wang TBC l.wang-142@sms.ed.ac.uk
Wei Xu Colorectal cancer risk prediction model for the UK general population screening W.Xu-16@sms.ed.ac.uk
Xiaomeng Zhang Evaluating the effects of genetic and environmental factors and their interactions on colorectal cancer X.Zhang-151@sms.ed.ac.uk

MD students based in the Centre for Population Health Sciences