Usher Institute

Emeriti, Honorary and Visiting staff

The Usher Institute enjoys close working relationships with many individuals who are not part of our core staff, but whose primary affiliation with The University of Edinburgh is through Usher. These Honorary staff, Visiting scholars and Emeriti Professors all contribute to our success and collegiate working environment.

Emeriti Professors

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role
Amanda Amos Emeritus Professor of Health Promotion
Raj Bhopal Emeritus Professor of Public Health
Gerry Fowkes Emeritus Professor of Epidemiology
John Frank Emeritus Professor | Lead, Research and Evidence-Based Medicine Module
Brian McKinstry Emeritus Professor of Primary Care E-Health
Gordon Murray Emeritus Professor of Medical Statistics
Scott Murray Emeritus Professor of Primary Palliative Care
Steve Platt Emeritus Professor of Health Policy Research

Honorary staff

Honorary Status of the University is intended to honour persons who have rendered appreciable public service to the University, probably over a number of years, but not excluding those whose contribution has been particularly significant, although over a shorter period. Honorary Status may not be awarded to University employees.

Most Honorary Status titles are subject to three-yearly review by the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine Academic Staff Promotions and Honorary Status Committee.

Read more about Honorary status on the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine Human Resources pages

The Usher Institute is pleased to support Honorary Status for a number of colleagues, including those listed below.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role
Monica Fletcher Honorary Research Fellow
John Gillies Honorary Professor | Senior Adviser Global Health Academy | Co-Director University of Edinburgh Compassion Initiative
Peter Joshi Honorary Fellow
Aileen Keel Honorary Professor
Amir Kirolos Honorary Clinical Fellow (and Public Health Speciality Registrar, NHS Lothian)
Sarah Morton Honorary Fellow
Bright Nwaru Honorary Research Fellow
Dermot Ryan Honorary Clinical Fellow
Xia Shen Honorary Fellow
Colin Simpson Honorary Fellow
David Stevenson Honorary Fellow
Professor Rachael Wood Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Honorary Professor of Maternal and Child Public Health

Visiting scholars

The Usher Institute is pleased to welcome visiting scholars for short and medium term visits.