Staff news

Court meeting: 11 May 2015

The University Court had its most recent meeting on 11 May.

Staff News publishes regular updates on matters discussed at all Court meetings, during which members consider matters of strategic importance to the University.

Meetings of the Court are held six times a year.

Governing body

The Court is the University’s governing body and its legal persona.

With a focus on strategic direction, it takes the final decisions on issues of fundamental concern to the wellbeing of the University.

Detailed information on the membership and activities of the University Court, including meeting agendas, papers and minutes, is available online.

Summary of Court meeting: 11 May 2015

The following reports are summaries of a selection of items discussed and agreed on at Court on 11 May.

The meeting’s agenda and papers are available online.


The Rector also introduced Court to Mr Sandy Ross who he had appointed as his Assessor

Vice-Principal and Assistant Principals

Court approved the extension of the terms of office of a number of Vice-Principals and Assistant Principals as follows:

Professor Chris Breward
Principal Edinburgh College of Art and Vice-Principal Creative Industries & Performing Arts until 31 July 2019
Professor Charlie Jeffery
Senior Vice-Principal until 30 September 2017
Professor Jonathan Seckl
Vice-Principal Planning, Resources & Research Policy until 31 July 2018
Professor Lesley Yellowlees
Vice-Principal and Head of College Science & Engineering until 31 July 2017
Dr Tina Harrison
Assistant Principal Academic Standards & Quality Assurance until 31 July 2018
Professor Ian Pirie
Assistant Principal Learning Developments until 31 December 2015

Report of the Fossil Fuels Review Group

Court considered in detail the report from the Review Group and agreed to accept all its recommendations thanking all those involved for their work and the very comprehensive and inclusive approach to considering this complex issue.

Court Effectiveness Review

Court approved a process to undertake its annual review of its effectiveness. The outcome will be published on the web once approved by Court.

Other items

Court received reports from the Policy and Resources Committee, the Knowledge Strategy Committee, the Exception Committee and the Audit and Risk Committee on activities being undertaken in support of Court.

Court also approved the recommendation of the Nominations Committee to appoint Mr Alan Johnston and Ms Alison Grant as co-opted members of Court following a transparent recruitment process. Mr Johnston was appointed from 1 August 2015 and Ms Grant will join Court as soon as possible.

Court congratulated EUSA on its success in the recent NUS Scottish Awards and looked forward to working with the newly elected Sabbatical Officers.

Further information on the remit and work of Court and its Committees can be found online.