Student exchanges

Find your exchange coordinator

All Schools and Subject Areas offering exchange opportunities have an Exchange Coordinator to support and advise students before and during their exchange.

The Exchange Coordinator is a member of academic staff who will be a key contact throughout your exchange. Many Coordinators hold information sessions at the start of the academic year to inform students of the opportunities available in their subject area.

Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Subject Area Name Email
African Studies Dr Gerhard Anders Gerhard.Anders@ed.ac.uk
Archaeology Dr Manuel Fernandez-Gotz M.Fernandez-gotz@ed.ac.uk
Architecture Dr Miguel Paredes Miguel.Paredes@ed.ac.uk
Art  Colin Cavers c.cavers@ed.ac.uk
Asian Studies Prof. Paul Dundas p.dundas@ed.ac.uk
Business Studies Alan Brown / Lorraine Edgar / Janet Ellis Alan.C.Brown@ed.ac.uk; lorraine.edgar@ed.ac.uk; janet.ellis@ed.ac.uk
Celtic Studies Dr Neill Martin neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Classics Prof. Judy Barringer J.M.Barringer@ed.ac.uk
Design Beverley Hood b.hood@ed.ac.uk
Divinity Dr David Grumett / Roisin O'Fee david.grumett@ed.ac.uk; roisin.ofee@ed.ac.uk
Economics Dr Colin Roberts colin.roberts@ed.ac.uk; economics.sso@ed.ac.uk
Education Dr Kenneth Fordyce Kenneth.Fordyce@ed.ac.uk
English Language Dr Patrick Honeybone patrick.honeybone@ed.ac.uk
English Literature Dr Paul Crosthwaite Paul.Crosthwaite@ed.ac.uk
French Julie Gifford Julie.Gifford@ed.ac.uk
German Julie Gifford Julie.Gifford@ed.ac.uk
History - International Exchange only Dr Iain Lauchlan Iain.Lauchlan@ed.ac.uk
History - Erasmus only Dr Gianluca Raccagni Gianluca.Raccagni@ed.ac.uk
History of Art Dr Frances Fowle Frances.Fowle@ed.ac.uk
Islamic & Middle Eastern Studies Dr Thomas Pierret thomas.pierret@ed.ac.uk
Italian Julie Gifford Julie.Gifford@ed.ac.uk
Japanese Dr Fumiko Narumi-Munro F.Narumi-Munro@ed.ac.uk
Landscape Architecture Ross Maclean r.maclean@ed.ac.uk
Law Dr Simone Lamont-Black / Anne King Simone.Lamont-Black@ed.ac.uk; anne.s.king@ed.ac.uk
Linguistics Dr Patrick Honeybone patrick.honeybone@ed.ac.uk
MBA programme Sarah Yaxley / Dr Malcolm Kirkup sarah.yaxley@ed.ac.uk; malcolm.kirkup@ed.ac.uk
Music Yati Durant y.durant@ed.ac.uk
Nursing Dr Rosie Stenhouse rosie.stenhouse@ed.ac.uk
Philosophy Dr Bryan Pickel bryan.pickel@ed.ac.uk
Politics & International Relations Dr Elizabeth Cripps Elizabeth.Cripps@ed.ac.uk
Portuguese Julie Gifford Julie.Gifford@ed.ac.uk
Psychology Dr Nicolas Chevalier / Prof. Caroline Watt Nicolas.Chevalier@ed.ac.uk; caroline.watt@ed.ac.uk
Russian Julie Gifford Julie.Gifford@ed.ac.uk
Scandinavian Studies - Danish, Norwegian, Swedish Julie Gifford Julie.Gifford@ed.ac.uk
Sociology Dr Stephen Kemp S.kemp@ed.ac.uk
Social Anthropology Dr Neil Thin neil.thin@ed.ac.uk
Social Policy Dr Jan Eichhorn Jan.Eichhorn@ed.ac.uk
Spanish Julie Gifford Julie.Gifford@ed.ac.uk
Sustainable Development Dr Isabelle Darmon Isabelle.Darmon@ed.ac.uk

Science and Engineering

Subject area Name Email
Biochemistry Dr Forbes Howie f.howie@ed.ac.uk
Biology Holly Robertson-Dick Holly.Robertson-Dick@ed.ac.uk
Chemistry Dr  Peter Kirsop p.kirsop@ed.ac.uk
Chemical Engineering (3rd year students) Dr Lev Sarkisov Lev.Sarkisov@ed.ac.uk
Chemical Engineering (5th year students) Dr Maria-Chiara Ferrari M.Ferrari@ed.ac.uk
Civil Engineering - Timisoara only Dr Tim Stratford tim.stratford@ed.ac.uk
Civil Engineering - all others Dr Antonis Giannopoulos A.Giannopoulos@ed.ac.uk
Earth Sciences Dr Kate Saunders kate.saunders@ed.ac.uk
Ecological and Environmental Sciences Dr Kyle Dexter kyle.dexter@ed.ac.uk
Engineering / Electrical Engineering Stephen Warrington s.warrington@ed.ac.uk
Geography Dr Jan Penrose Dr.J.Penrose@ed.ac.uk
Informatics Dr Hiroshi Shimodaira h.shimodaira@ed.ac.uk
Mathematics Dr Richard Gratwick R.Gratwick@ed.ac.uk
Mechanical Engineering Stephen Warrington s.warrington@ed.ac.uk
Physics Prof. Arjun Berera ab@ph.ed.ac.uk

Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

Subject area Name Email
Biomedical Sciences Dr Emma Wood Emma.Wood@ed.ac.uk
Medical Sciences Dr Forbes Howie f.howie@ed.ac.uk
Veterinary Medicine Dr Geoff Pearson geoff.pearson@ed.ac.uk