Study and Work Away Service

Find your exchange coordinator

All Schools and Subject Areas offering exchange opportunities have an Exchange Coordinator to support and advise students before and during their exchange.

The Exchange Coordinator is a member of academic staff who will be a key contact throughout your exchange. Many Coordinators hold information sessions at the start of the academic year to inform students of the opportunities available in their subject area.

Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Subject Area Name Email
African Studies Dr Akin Iwilade a.iwilade@ed.ac.uk
Archaeology Dr Arturo Rey da Silva arturo.rey@ed.ac.uk
Architecture Pilar Pérez del Real

Pilar.Perez@ed.ac.uk

Art  Professor Neil Mulholland n.mulholland@ed.ac.uk
Business Studies

Dr Nick Myers (International destinations)

Dr Sascha Kolaric (European destinations)

ug.exchange@business-school.ed.ac.uk

Celtic Studies Dr Neill Martin neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Chinese Dr Duo Luan duo.luan@ed.ac.uk
Classics Dr Justin Stover justin.stover@ed.ac.uk
Cognitive Science Itamar Kastner itamar.kastner@ed.ac.uk
Design

Collette Paterson

collette.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Divinity

Dr David Grummet

David.Grumett@ed.ac.uk
Economics Dr Nancy Arnokourou / Dr Soledad Giardili economics.studyabroad@ed.ac.uk   
Education Dr Kenneth Fordyce Kenneth.Fordyce@ed.ac.uk
English Language Dr Linda Van Bergen l.vanbergen@ed.ac.uk
English Literature Dr Terri Ochiagha Plaza t.ochiagha@ed.ac.uk
French Elaine Hermina

llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk

German Elaine Hermina

llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk

History

Professor Charles West (International destinations)

Dr Wannes Dupont (European destinations)

hca.histexch.europe@ed.ac.uk

History of Art George Agbo gagbo@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Islamic & Middle Eastern Studies

Dr Jona Fras jona.fras@ed.ac.uk
Italian Elaine Hermina

llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk

Japanese Dr Fumiko Narumi-Munro F.Narumi-Munro@ed.ac.uk
Landscape Architecture Pilar Pérez del Real Pilar.Perez@ed.ac.uk
Law Dr Longjie Lu Law.Exchanges@ed.ac.uk
Linguistics Dr Linda Van Bergen l.vanbergen@ed.ac.uk
MBA programme

Sarah Yaxley / Julian Rawel

Sarah.Yaxley@ed.ac.ukJulian.rawel@ed.ac.uk
Music Dr Katie Overy K.Overy@ed.ac.uk
Nursing Dr Rosie Stenhouse rosie.stenhouse@ed.ac.uk
Philosophy Professor Pauline Phemister P.Phemister@ed.ac.uk
Politics & International Relations Dr Pontus Odmalm PIR-Int-Exchange@ed.ac.uk
Portuguese Elaine Hermina

llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk

Psychology

Professor Caroline Watt (International destinations) 

Dr Graham Mackenzie (European destinations)

Caroline.Watt@ed.ac.uk

Graham.MacKenzie@ed.ac.uk

Russian Elaine Hermina

llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk

Scandinavian Studies - Danish, Norwegian, Swedish Elaine Hermina

llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk

Sociology Professor Nick Prior n.prior@ed.ac.uk
Social Anthropology Dr Alejandro Escalante alejandro.escalante@ed.ac.uk
Social Policy

Richard Brodie

R.Brodie@ed.ac.uk
Spanish Elaine Hermina

llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk

Sport Science Dr Kenneth Fordyce Kenneth.Fordyce@ed.ac.uk
Sustainable Development Dr Isabelle Darmon Isabelle.Darmon@ed.ac.uk

Science and Engineering

Subject area Name Email
Biological Sciences Dr Nadanai Laohakunakorn nadanai.laohakunakorn@ed.ac.uk
Chemistry Professor Eleanor Campbell eleanor.campbell@ed.ac.uk
Chemical Engineering

Dr Hyungwoong Ahn

H.Ahn@ed.ac.uk
Civil Engineering  Dr Yuner Huang Yuner.Huang@ed.ac.uk
Earth Sciences / Geoscience

Dr Steve Brusatte

Stephen.Brusatte@ed.ac.uk

Ecological and Environmental Sciences

Dr Ondřej Mašek

ondrej.masek@ed.ac.uk
Engineering / Electrical Engineering Dr Majid Safari majid.safari@ed.ac.uk 
Geography Dr Nina Morris N.Morris@ed.ac.uk
Informatics Professor Don Sannella Don.Sannella@ed.ac.uk
Mathematics Dr Theo Assiotis theo.assiotis@ed.ac.uk
Mechanical Engineering Stephen Warrington s.warrington@ed.ac.uk
Physics (study exchange) Professor Arjun Berera ab@ph.ed.ac.uk
Physics with a Year Abroad

Dr Moritz Pascal Reiter

mreiter@ed.ac.uk

Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

Subject area Name Email
Biomedical Sciences Dr Sander van den Driesche S.vandenDriesche@ed.ac.uk
Veterinary Medicine

Cristina Soare

Cristina.Soare@ed.ac.uk
Dentistry Dr Liz Conner liz.conner@ed.ac.uk