Health & Safety Department

Safety staff list

On this page you will find contact details for all Health and Safety Department staff. During the current pandemic situation most of the Health and Safety Department staff are working from home and can be contacted via MS Teams or by email.

Health and safety office

Charles Stewart House, 9-16, Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Health.Safety@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
Director Mrs Suzanne Thompson Suzanne.Thompson@ed.ac.uk 651 4257
Deputy Director Health & Wellbeing Ms Dorileen Forbes Dorileen.Forbes@ed.ac.uk 650 8192
Deputy Director Operational Management & Core Safety Advisory Services Ms Candice Schmid Candice.Schmid@ed.ac.uk 651 4261
Deputy Director Specialist Safety Advisory Services Currently Vacant
PA to Directorate Ms Taryn Elms Taryn.Elms@ed.ac.uk 650 8103
Staff Disability and Wellbeing Adviser Mrs Naomi Waite Naomi.Waite@ed.ac.uk 651 4252
Departmental Administrator Mrs Susan Burns Susan.Burns@ed.ac.uk 650 2461
Administrative Support Co-ordinator Mrs Lorna Fraser (Mon-Thurs) Lorna.Fraser@ed.ac.uk 651 4773
Administrative Support Co-ordinator Mrs Joanna Chmielewski (Wed-Thurs) Joanna.Chmielewski@ed.ac.uk 651 4255
Administrative Support Co-ordinator Martin Restrick v1mrest2@ed.ac.uk 650 8189
Administrative Support Co-ordinator Jenny Rodger jenny.rodger@ed.ac.uk 651 4262

Biological Safety Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16, Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Health.Safety@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
University Biological Safety Adviser Dr Phil Walsh (Tues-Fri) Phil.Walsh@ed.ac.uk 651 4245
Biosafety Training and Development Assistant Dr Fiona Harris (Mon-Thurs) F.Harris@ed.ac.uk 650 8013

Fire Safety Unit

9-11, Infirmary Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NP Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Fire@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
University Fire Safety Adviser Mr Wes Boulstridge Wes.Boulstridge@ed.ac.uk 651 3051
Fire Safety Adviser Mr Tam McGrath Thomas.Mcgrath@ed.ac.uk 651 1226
Fire Safety Adviser Mr Robert Taylor Robert.M.Taylor@ed.ac.uk 650 2832
Fire Safety Adviser Mr Colin McIvor Colin.Mcivor@ed.ac.uk 650 2832

Occupational Health Service

Drummond Street Annexe, Drummond Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9XP Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Occupational.Health@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
Head of Occupational Health Service Mrs Janet Craig (Mon - Thurs) Janet.Craig@ed.ac.uk 651 4302
Occupational Health Adviser Ms Mallory Carney (not Wed) Mallory.Carney@ed.ac.uk 651 4295
Occupational Health Adviser Ms Gill Edmiston (Tues-Fri) Gill.Edmiston@ed.ac.uk 650 9187
Occupational Health Adviser Ms Oonagh Graham Oonagh.Graham@ed.ac.uk 650 9274
Occupational Health Adviser Kristyn Lavery Kristyn.Lavery@ed.ac.uk
Occupational Health Screening Nurse Aynslie Kinghorn Aynslie.Kinghorn@ed.ac.uk
First Aider, Occupational Health Technician and Clinical Administrator Mrs Helen Gilroy (Tues-Fri) Helen.Gilroy@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
Occupational Health Technician, First Aider Alison Cairney-Page A.Cairney@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
Occupational Health Administrator, First Aider Ms Emma Pryde (Mon - Thurs) Emma.Pryde@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
First Aider, Administrative Support Co-ordinator Ms Annabelle Louis Annabelle.Louis@ed.ac.uk 650 8120
Administrative Support Assistant Ms Paulina Solarz P.Solarz@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
Administrative Support Assistant Denise Cochrane Denise.Cochrane@ed.ac.uk

Occupation Hygiene Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Occupational.Hygiene@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
Occupational Hygiene and Projects Manager Currently Vacant
Health and Safety Projects Assistant, School Safety Adviser Ms Angharad Jenkins Angharad.Jenkins@ed.ac.uk 650 2466
Health and Safety Technical Assistant Mr Scott McLaughlin scott.mclaughlin@ed.ac.uk 651 4583
Project Administrator Ms Nicola Sangster Nicola.Sangster@ed.ac.uk 650 2402

Radiation Protection Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Radiation@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
First Aider, University Radiation Protection Adviser Mr Mark Green Mark.Green@ed.ac.uk 650 2819
Assistant Radiation Protection Adviser Mr Duncan Ross Duncan.Ross@ed.ac.uk 650 2818

Training and Audit Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Safety.Training@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
Training and Audit Coordinator Mr Currently Vacant safety.training@ed.ac.uk
First Aider, Commercial and e-training Administrator Mrs Susan Woodman Susan.Woodman@ed.ac.uk 650 2394
University First Aid Trainer Ms Sarah East Sarah.East@ed.ac.uk 651 4256