Health & Safety Department

Safety staff list

On this page you will find contact details for all Health and Safety Department staff. During the current pandemic situation most of the Health and Safety Department staff are working from home and can be contacted via MS Teams or by email.

Health and safety office

Charles Stewart House, 9-16, Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Health.Safety@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
Director Mrs Suzanne Thompson Suzanne.Thompson@ed.ac.uk 651 4257
Deputy Director Mrs Karen Darling (Mon-Thurs) Karen.Darling@ed.ac.uk 651 4258
PA to Directorate Ms Taryn Elms Taryn.Elms@ed.ac.uk N/A
Departmental Administrator, School Safety Adviser Mrs Susan Burns Susan.Burns@ed.ac.uk 650 2461
Administrative Support Co-ordinator Mrs Lorna Fraser (Mon-Thurs) Lorna.Fraser@ed.ac.uk 651 4773
Administrative Support Co-ordinator Mrs Joanna Chmielewski (Wed-Fri) Joanna.Chmielewski@ed.ac.uk 651 4255
Administrative Support Co-ordinator Mrs Ashleigh Maule Ashleigh.Maule@ed.ac.uk 650 8198

Biological Safety Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16, Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Health.Safety@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
University Biological Safety Adviser Dr Phil Walsh (Tues-Fri) Phil.Walsh@ed.ac.uk 651 4245
Biosafety Training and Development Assistant Dr Fiona Harris (Mon-Thurs) F.Harris@ed.ac.uk 650 8013

Fire Safety Unit

9-11, Infirmary Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1NP Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Fire@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
University Fire Safety Adviser Mr Andy Mackay Andy.Mackay@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 3051
Fire Safety Adviser Mr Tam McGrath Thomas.Mcgrath@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1226
Fire Safety Adviser Mr Robert Taylor Robert.M.Taylor@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2832
Fire Safety Adviser Mr Colin McIvor Colin.Mcivor@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2832
Fire Safety Co-ordinator Mr Peter Rae Peter.Rae@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9951
Fire Safety Co-ordinator Mr Brian Quinn Brian.Quinn@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 3052

Occupational Health Service

Drummond Street Annexe, Drummond Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9XP Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Occupational.Health@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
Head of Occupational Health Service Mrs Janet Craig (Mon - Thurs) Janet.Craig@ed.ac.uk 651 4302
Occupational Health Adviser Ms Mallory Carney (not Wed) Mallory.Carney@ed.ac.uk 651 4295
Occupational Health Adviser Ms Kathryn Main (Mon-Thurs) Kathryn.Main@ed.ac.uk 650 2512
Occupational Health Adviser Ms Gill Edmiston (Tues-Fri) Gill.Edmiston@ed.ac.uk
Occupational Health Adviser Ms Claire Longhorn (Tues-Fri) Claire.Longhorn@ed.ac.uk
First Aider, Occupational Health Technician Mrs Helen Gilroy (Tues-Fri) Helen.Gilroy@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
Assistant Occupational Health Technician Ms Lynsey Benton (Mon-Thurs) Lynsey.Benton@ed.ac.uk 650 8052
Occupational Health Screening Nurse Mr Paul Burnett (Mon-Thurs) Paul.Burnett@ed.ac.uk
Occupational Health Administrator, First Aider Ms Emma Pryde (Mon - Thurs) Emma.Pryde@ed.ac.uk 650 9228
Administrative Support Co-ordinator Ms Lesley Wann Lesley.Wann@ed.ac.uk 650 8190
Administrative Support Assistant Ms Annabelle Louis Annabelle.Louis@ed.ac.uk

Occupation Hygiene Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Occupational.Hygiene@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
Occupational Hygiene and Projects Manager Ms Candice Schmid Candice.Schmid@ed.ac.uk 651 4261
Health and Safety Projects Assistant Ms Angharad Jenkins Angharad.Jenkins@ed.ac.uk 650 2466

Radiation Protection Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Radiation@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
Assistant Radiation Protection Adviser, First Aider Mr Mark Green Mark.Green@ed.ac.uk 650 2819
Health and Safety Technician Dr Laura Woodward Laura.Woodward@ed.ac.uk 651 4583

Training and Audit Unit

Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT Campus: Central Area Fax: 0131 651 4260 Email: Safety.Training@ed.ac.uk
Role Name Email Telephone
First Aider, Training and Audit Coordinator Mr Lawrence Dickson Lawrence.Dickson@ed.ac.uk 651 4259
Health and Safety (First Aid) Trainer, First Aider Mr John Nimmo John.Nimmo@ed.ac.uk 651 4256
Commercial and e-training Administrator, First Aider Mrs Susan Woodman Susan.Woodman@ed.ac.uk 650 2394