Immunology and Infection

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Immunology and Infection Research staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Co-Heads of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BUCK, Amy Dr iiirhead@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3375
MATTHEWS, Keith Prof iiirhead@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3639

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SHIELDS, Roz r.shields@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5464

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
GIBSON, Steve Stephen.Gibson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 8691

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
GORJANC, Romana Project Support Officer Romana.Gorjanc@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131
HURST, Jennifer Administrative Assistant jennifer.hurst@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3685

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
BUCK, Amy Dr Small RNAs in host-pathogen interactions a.buck@ed.ac.uk R
CAVANAGH, David Dr Human immune response to antigens from the erythrocytic stage of Plasmodium falciparum, with the aim of developing effective vaccines targeting these parasite proteins David.Cavanagh@ed.ac.uk R
COWAN, Graeme Dr B- and T- cell responses in immunity and disease Graeme.Cowan@ed.ac.uk R
GRAY, David Prof Immunological memory and T-B cell interactions D.Gray@ed.ac.uk R V
IVENS, Alasdair Dr Bioinformatics for genome analysis Al.Ivens@ed.ac.uk R
KAUFMAN, Jim Prof Jim.Kaufman@ed.ac.uk
MACIAS RIBELA, Sara Dr Nucleic acids & Immunity Sara.Maciasribela@ed.ac.uk R
MATTHEWS, Keith Prof Developmental biology of African trypanosomes keith.matthews@ed.ac.uk R V
MOULE, Madeleine Dr Maddie.moule@ed.ac.uk
MUTAPI, Francisca Prof Immunoepidemiology of human schistosomiasis F.Mutapi@ed.ac.uk R V
MWANGI, Samuel Dr thumbi.mwangi@ed.ac.uk
PHILIP, Nisha Dr Immunology and Infection Research Nisha.Philip@ed.ac.uk R
REGAN, Jennifer Dr Innate immunity, sex and ageing Jenny.Regan@ed.ac.uk R
RILEY, Eleanor Prof Eleanor.Riley@roslin.ed.ac.uk
ROWE, Alex Prof Cell biology of malaria infection and disease Alex.Rowe@ed.ac.uk R V
SAVILL, Nick Dr Epidemiology and evolution of infectious diseases nick.savill@ed.ac.uk R
SCHNAUFER, Achim Prof Mitochondrial biology of trypanosomatid parasites Achim.Schnaufer@ed.ac.uk R
SHAW, Tovah Dr tshaw2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SPENCE, Phil Dr Plasmodium virulence and immunity to malaria Philip.Spence@ed.ac.uk R
SZOOR, Balazs Dr Phosphatases in parasite biology Balazs.Szoor@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Matthew Dr Priming and maintenance of regulatory and effector T cell responses during chronic helminth infections Matthew.Taylor@ed.ac.uk R V
THOMPSON, Joanne Dr Molecular biology of malaria parasites Joanne.Thompson@ed.ac.uk
VOHRA, Prerna Dr Prerna.Vohra@ed.ac.uk
YOUNG, Joanna Dr JC.Young@ed.ac.uk
ZAISS, Dietmar Dr Regulation of local immune responses Dietmar.Zaiss@ed.ac.uk R
ZAMOYSKA, Rose Prof Regulation of T cell differentiation, activation and homeostasis Rose.Zamoyska@ed.ac.uk V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
ALLEN, Judith Professor Honorary Professor J.Allen@ed.ac.uk
BABIKER, Hamza Dr Honorary Fellow H.Babiker@ed.ac.uk
BARTLEY, David Dr Honorary Lecturer -
MAIZELS, Rick Professor Honorary Professor Rick.Maizels@ed.ac.uk
NISBET, Alasdair Dr Honorary Fellow -

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
AVILA-BONILLA, Rodolfo Dr Macias-Ribela Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate ravilab@ed.ac.uk
BACH, Florian Spence Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate fbach@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BERMUDEZ BARRIENTOS, Jose Roberto Dr Buck Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate jose.bermude@ed.ac.uk
BLOW, Frances Dr Buck Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Frances.Blow@ed.ac.uk
BONDARENKO, Kseniia / Postdoctoral Research Associate kbondare@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CASTRO, Patricia Dr Zamoyska Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Patricia.Castro@ed.ac.uk R
CAYLA, Mathieu Dr Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mathieu.Cayla@ed.ac.uk R
FENTON, Tom Dr Buck Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate tfenton@exseed.ed.ac.uk
GORDON, Katrina Dr / Senior Researcher K.Gordon@ed.ac.uk R
HALABI, Samer Dr / Postdoctoral Research Associate Samer.Halabi@ed.ac.uk
LARCOMBE, Stephen Dr Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Stephen.Larcombe@ed.ac.uk R
LEE, Kim Cavanagh Group / Malaria Reagent Repository Research Assistant Kim.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
MCWILLIAM, Kirsty Dr Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate kmcwill5@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MIKA, Paulina Jennifer Regan Group / Research Assistant pmika@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MILES, Katherine Gray Group / Research Associate/Lab manager Katherine.Miles@ed.ac.uk
MOONEY, Jason Dr / Core Scientist - Research Fellow Jason.Mooney@ed.ac.uk
NAHRENDORF, Wiebke Dr Spence Group / Post Doctoral Researcher Wiebke.Nahrendorf@ed.ac.uk R
RESSEL, Sarah Buck Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate sressel2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SHAW, Tovah Dr Buck Group / BBSRC Discovery Fellow tshaw2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WATERFALL, Martin Dr Zamoyska Group / Head of Flow Cytometry Martin.Waterfall@ed.ac.uk R
WITTEVELDT, Jeroen Dr Macias-Ribela Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jeroen.Witteveldt@ed.ac.uk R
YOUDALE, Thomas Dr Buck Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate tyoudale@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
DANYSZ, Maria / Research Technician Maria.Danysz@ed.ac.uk
FREILE VINUELA, Paz Dr Macias-Ribela Lab / Research Technician paz.freile@ed.ac.uk
LOGAN, Nikola Zamoyska Group / Research Technician Nicola.Logan@ed.ac.uk R
MOONEY, Ronnie Reece Group / Research Technician Ronnie.Mooney@ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Elaine Buck Group / Research Technician Elaine.Robertson@ed.ac.uk R
ROCOS, Nicolas / Research Technician Nicolas.Rocos@ed.ac.uk
SCOTT, Fiona Mutapi Group / Lab Manager Fiona.Scott@ed.ac.uk
WRIGHT, David Zamoyska Group / Research Technician David.Wright@ed.ac.uk
YOUNG (WILSON), Julie Matthews Group / Research Technician Julie.Anne.Young@ed.ac.uk
ZOU, Xiaoyan Zamoyska Group / Research Technician yan.zou@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
BELMONTE, Rebecca Jennifer Regan Group / PhD Student R.L.Belmonte@sms.ed.ac.uk
BROUCK, Laurine Schnaufer Lab / PhD Student L.T.R.Brouck@sms.ed.ac.uk
CARLIER, Molly Rowe Group / PhD Student M.S.A.Carlier@sms.ed.ac.uk
CAVE, Roo / PhD Student Roo.Cave@ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Zihao Savill Group / PhD Student Z.Chen-85@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHIN, Priscilla Macias-Ribela Lab / PhD Student priscilla.chin@ed.ac.uk
CORBALLY, Mary-Kate Jennifer Regan Group / PhD Student M.Corbally@sms.ed.ac.uk
DE ANGELIS, Federico PhD Student Federico.deangelis@ed.ac.uk
DIALLO, Nouhoum Rowe Group / PhD Student N.Diallo@sms.ed.ac.uk
DOYLE, Rose / PhD Student Rose.doyle@ed.ac.uk
DU, Xiaochen Buck Group / PhD Student X.Du-20@sms.ed.ac.uk
IREMONGER, Richard James PhD Student r.j.iremonger@sms.ed.ac.uk
JAYARAMAN, Vignesh / PhD Student v.jayaraman-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
JOHNSON, Nila Philip Research Group / PhD Student Nila.Johnson@ed.ac.uk
KNOL, Lisanne Macias-Ribela Lab / PhD Student s1584602@sms.ed.ac.uk
KWECKA, Dominika Philip Research Group / PhD Student d.kwecka@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIM, Rivka Pedersen Group / PhD Student rivka.lim@ed.ac.uk
MARARO, Enock PhD Student Enock.mararo@ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Katy Jennifer Regan Group / PhD Student K.McDonald-13@sms.ed.ac.uk
NEOPHYTOU, Kyriaki Buck Group / PhD Student s1215094@sms.ed.ac.uk
NEWMAN, Annis / PhD Student A.F.G.Newman@sms.ed.ac.uk
OLDRIEVE, Guy Matthews Group / PhD Student guy.oldrieve@ed.ac.uk
OMONDI, Brian Rowe Group / PhD Student brian.omondi@ed.ac.uk
OTOBOH, Stanley Rowe Group / PhD Student Stanley.Otoboh@ed.ac.uk
RYBACK, Audrey Cowan Group / PhD Student A.A.Ryback@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCAIFE, Rebecca / PhD Student Rebecca.Scaife@ed.ac.uk
SCOTT, Alistair / PhD Student S1711029@ed.ac.uk
SUTHERLAND, Catherine Cowan Group / PhD Student Catherine.Sutherland@ed.ac.uk
SWANN, Olivia Rowe Group / PhD Student s0198216@sms.ed.ac.uk
TEAGLE, Alexandra Zamoyska Group / PhD Student A.R.Teagle@sms.ed.ac.uk
VARMA, Neelakshi Philip Research Group / PhD Student N.Varma-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
VENTER, Frank Matthews Group / PhD Student f.venter@ed.ac.uk
VUKOVIC, Natasa Zaiss Group / PhD Student s1959176@sms.ed.ac.uk
WADSWORTH, Elizabeth Savill Group / PhD Student E.S.Wadsworth@sms.ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Ruby Buck Group / PhD Student R.F.White@sms.ed.ac.uk
WRIGHT, David Zamoyska Group / PhD Student D.J.Wright-6@sms.ed.ac.uk