Advanced Care Research Centre

Menu

PhD studentships

The ACRC is offering intensive 48-month, structured thematic programmes of PhDs with Integrated Study in Advanced Care. We currently have thirteen studentships running per year. Applications for the ACRC Academy PhD studentships for this year have now closed.

Current PhD Studentships

 

The ACRC Academy will be based at the Biocubes, Little France.

Applications for the ACRC Academy PhD studentships for this year have now closed. Applications for the following year will open next autumn. Thank you for your interest.

 

Title Supervisor(s) Contact email
Frailty and its impact on older people's views about 'quality of life' and 'quantity of life'

Professor Gillian Mead;

Professor Heather Wilkinson

Gillian.E.Mead@ed.ac.uk
How can the ACRC and VOICE meaningfully involve people from diverse communities, and address inequalities?

Professor Heather Wilkinson; Professor Lynne Corner (Director of VOICE, Newcastle University).  Please contact Dr Sue Lewis.

S.J.Lewis@ed.ac.uk
Neighbourhood and health in later life: a mixed methods study Dr Sue Lewis; Dr Alan Marshall s.j.lewis@ed.ac.uk
Understanding care transitions in remote communities

Professor Linda McKie - Please contact Dr Sue Lewis

S.J.Lewis@ed.ac.uk
Identifying and resolving the ethical challenges of emergent new technologies (e.g. AI/robotics) for supporting elderly people in the community Professor Stephen Osborne Stephen.Osborne@ed.ac.uk
Allostatic load in later life: How does neighbourhood 'get under the skin'? Dr Alan Marshall Alan.Marshall@ed.ac.uk
Improving prediction of ageing outcomes by inegrating social, environmental, and genetic information Dr Michelle Luciano michelle.luciano@ed.ac.uk
Socially Assistive Robot Support to aid recovery after critical illness Dr Susan Shenkin Susan.Shenkin@ed.ac.uk
What happens next? An exploration of trajectories and decision making after hospital discharge Dr Sarah Rhynas Sarah.Rhynas@ed.ac.uk
Digital connections: Exploring the role of community-led digital connection in combatting isolation among rural elderly populations Dr Amy Chandler a.chandler@ed.ac.uk
Portable urinary incontinence management device Dr Srinjoy Mitra Srinjoy.Mitra@ed.ac.uk
Activity-Based Enhancement of Quality of Life at Work for Formal Carers Dr Nigel Goddard Nigel.Goddard@ed.ac.uk
Inclusive ‘Usual Care’ Pathways for BAME Older People: Co-producing a conceptualising framework Dr George Palattiyil g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Automatic Affective Behaviour Monitoring through speech while preserving user’s privacy Dr Saturnino Luz S.Luz@ed.ac.uk
The right to decide? Supported decision-making in care transitions with older adults who lack capacity. Dr Pearse McCusker pearse.mccusker@ed.ac.uk
Visualising complex care pathways in later life Dr Benjamin Bach bbach@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Comprehending and changing perceptions of elderly care using AI and citizen science

Dr Stella Chan;

Dr Kobi Gal

 

kgal@inf.ed.ac.uk

What can data tell us about our frailty? Dr Sohan Seth Sohan.Seth@ed.ac.uk
Co-creating “Narratives of Usefulness”:  advancing self-care through empathy-oriented digital device interventions with an aging population Arno Verhoeven a.verhoeven@ed.ac.uk
Implementation of a digital information resource for homeless people in Scotland Professor Stewart Mercer Stewart.Mercer@ed.ac.uk
Evaluation of social prescribing for people in later life Professor Stewart Mercer Stewart.Mercer@ed.ac.uk
Light bulb moments in the mind’s eye: take a closer look Professor Baljean Dhillon Baljean.Dhillon@ed.ac.uk
Music and the ageing brain: can personalised music provision support communication skills and quality of life? Dr Tom Russ T.C.Russ@ed.ac.uk
Building explainable user models of older adults from data Dr Jacques Fleuriot Jacques.Fleuriot@ed.ac.uk
An investigation into socially acceptable long term anonymous video monitoring for assessment of behaviour changes in ageing adults Professor Robert Fisher rbf@ed.ac.uk
Independence in the “Elder Experience” Dr Robin Williams R.Williams@ed.ac.uk