School of Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences

Promotions success for PPLS academics

Congratulations to PPLS colleagues who have been appointed Personal Chairs.

A personal chair is awarded specifically to an individual in recognition of their high levels of achievements and standing in their particular area or discipline.

Amongst a long list of essential criteria to be met is ‘sustained achievement of the highest distinction’ and ‘sustained recognition in an international context’.

Many congratulations to the following staff on their success:

Vicky Chondrogianni Personal Chair of Bilingualism and Language Development
Guy Fletcher Personal Chair of Practical Philosophy
Michelle Luciano Personal Chair of Behavioural Genetics
Sarah MacPherson Personal Chair of Cognitive Neuropsychology
Hannah Rohde Personal Chair of Pragmatics
Martin Smith Personal Chair of Epistemology
Robert Truswell Personal Chair of Syntax and Semantics
Tillman Vierkant Personal Chair of Neurophilosophy of Agency and Free Will

I’m delighted to see success for so many colleagues across our subject areas for promotion to personal chair, which have been approved by Senate. It’s lovely to see all of their hard work and accomplishments recognised.

Holly BraniganHead of School