Student news

Summer graduations

Our summer graduation ceremonies take place between Saturday 29 June and Wednesday 10 July 2019.

Graduations McEwan Hall

A former Principal, an American social justice activist, and the first women to matriculate at a British university are among those receiving honorary awards.

Graduation ceremonies

Full details of all our summer graduation ceremonies are available on our Student Administration website.

Graduation ceremonies

Live video

Our graduation ceremonies will be streamed live on this page.

The live stream will become available 10 minutes before each graduation ceremony begins.

Share your story

Share your Edinburgh graduation story with us. Tag your Instagram photos, tweets and Facebook posts with our graduation celebrations hashtag #EdinburghGrad

Graduation gifts

Official University gifts are available from our Visitor Centre and online gift shop.

Find the Visitor Centre on our campus map

Visit our online Gift Shop

Honorary graduates

The Edinburgh Seven

The first women to matriculate at a British university – known as the Edinburgh Seven – will be awarded posthumous MBChB degrees on Saturday 6 July.

Sophia Jex-Blake, Isabel Thorne, Edith Pechey, Matilda Chaplin, Helen Evans, Mary Anderson Marshall and Emily Bovell began studying medicine at the University in 1869. Although they were ultimately prevented from graduating and qualifying as doctors, their campaign gained national attention and in 1877 resulted in legislation to ensure women could study at university.

Professor Bryan Stevenson

On Tuesday 9 July, American lawyer and social justice activist Professor Bryan Stevenson will be awarded a Doctor of Laws.

He is Professor of Clinical Law and New York University School of Law and Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative, a non-profit organisation that provides legal assistance to people who may have been denied a fair trial.

Professor Emeritus Sir Timothy O'Shea

The University’s former Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Emeritus Sir Timothy O'Shea, will be awarded a doctor honoris causa on Friday 5 July.

Professor O’Shea left the University in September 2017 after 15 years in the role.

Ms Karen Christiana Figueres Olsen

Costa Rican diplomat Karen Christiana Figueres Olsen will be awarded a doctor of honoris causa on Wednesday 3 July.

She is former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and Convener of Mission 2020, a global campaign to accelerate action to protect the climate.  

Full list of honorary graduates

The full list of honorary graduates can be found on our Student Administration website.

Honorary graduates

Related Links

Graduation ceremonies

10% discount on postgraduate fees for graduates