Student Administration

Please note that the 2020 Summer graduations are not taking place due to the Covid-19 outbreak. Further information will follow when available.

Recipients of Honorary Degrees to be awarded in 2020.

Professor Muffy Calder, OBE  Vice-Principal and Head of College of Science and Engineering, University of Glasgow Doctor of Science Thursday 25 June 2020 11.00am
Professor Donna J Nelson Professor of Chemistry, University of Oklahoma Doctor of Science Thursday 25 June 2020 3.00pm
Sister Aelred Timmins, RSM Director of the Homeless Project (Edinburgh) Doctor honoris causa Friday 26 June 2020 11.00am
Professor Sarah Jean Broadie Professor of Moral Philosophy and Wardlaw Professor at the University of St Andrews Doctor of Letters Friday 26 June 2020 3.00pm
Mrs Sarah Brown Chair of children’s charity ‘Theirworld’ and Executive Chair of the Global Business Coalition for Education Doctor honoris causa Saturday 27 June 2020 11.00am
Professor John Ioannidis Professor of Medicine and Director, Stanford Prevention Research Center Doctor of Medicine Saturday 27 June 2020 3.00pm
Lynda Myles Retired producer/ writer/ curator/ festival director Doctor of Letters Monday 29 June 2020 11.00am
Reverend Professor Sir Diarmaid Ninian John MacCulloch Professor of the History of the Church, University of Oxford Doctor of Divinity Monday 29 June 2020 3.00pm
Mr John Byrne Artist and Playwright Doctor honoris causa Thursday 2 July 2020 11.00am
Mr Charles Esche Director of VanAbbe Museum, Eindhoven Doctor honoris causa Thursday 2 July 2020 3.00pm
Mr Joe Schaffers Education Officer, District Six Museum, Cape Town Doctor honoris causa Friday 3 July 2020 11.00am
Mr Peter Thomson United Nations Special Envoy for the Ocean and Fiji’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations Doctor honoris causa Friday 3 July 2020 11.00am
Professor Richard Jonathan Parker, CBE Director of Research and Technology 2001-16, Rolls-Royce Group Doctor of Science Friday 3 July 2020 3.00pm
Ms Hilary Jones Operations Director at Heidi Beers Ltd, WEST Brewery Doctor of Science Saturday 4 July 2020 11.00am
Dr Andrew Goodall Matthews Retired Equine Opthalmologist Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery Saturday 4 July 2020 3.00pm
Emeritus Professor John Peter Scott, CBE Sociologist Doctor of Science in Social Science Monday 6 July 2020 11.00am
Professor Carl Lindahl Research Professor of English, University of Houston Doctor honoris causa November 2020  
Professor Anne Marie Rafferty, CBE Professor of Nursing Policy at King’s College London, President Royal College of Nursing (RCN) Doctor honoris causa November 2020