Economic and Social Research Council

ESRC Awards

The University of Edinburgh is a member institution of the Scotland-wide Doctoral Training Centre (DTC) which is funded and accredited by the Social and Economic Research Council (ESRC)

The DTC provides world-class postgraduate research and training in the social sciences across a wide range of disciplines, known as 'pathways'. The Scottish DTC has 65 fully-funded ESRC studentships available for (UK and EU) students commencing their postgraduate studies in the 2015-2016 academic year.

1+3 awards
Funding is provided for students to complete a research training masters degree (one year) and then study a PhD (three years). Students who hold or are just completing an undergraduate degree and wish to study for a PhD must apply for these awards
+3 awards
Funding is provided for students who already have a masters degree and are applying to start a PhD directly
2+3 awards
Funding for students to complete a language-based masters degree and then move on to a PhD. These awards are known as Language-Based Area Studies (LBAS) studentships

Studentships are available across the DTC 24 subject or interdisciplinary pathways at any of the participating institutions. For further information about the Scottish DTC and pathways, please see the Scottish Graduate School of Social Science DTC website.


Details regarding eligibility for ESRC funding can be found on the ESRC webpages.


Prospective students should contact the relevant Graduate School within their School of Study/Subject Area. Closing dates differ between subject areas but all successful applicants will be put forward to the Doctoral Training Centre by the 20 February 2015.

Further Details

Further information regarding University of Edinburgh awards please contact Kirsty Woomble.

Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)
Polaris House
North Star Avenue
Swindon, SN2 1UJ
Work: +44 (0) 1793 413150

Accessibility menu