Biological Sciences

Key contacts

Please direct any enquiries to the relevant member of staff.

Undergraduate and MSc (Taught) Programme Enquiries

  • Biology Teaching Organisation
  • School of Biological Sciences
Street

James Clerk-Maxwell Building
The King’s Buildings

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3FD

 

Undergraduate and MSc (Taught) Admissions Enquiries

Entry requirements and information about the application process is available on our individual degree programme pages.

Recruitment and Admissions Team

  • College of Science and Engineering
Street

Weir Building
King’s Buildings
West Mains Road

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3JY

 

PhD and MSc (by Research) Enquiries

  • Graduate School
  • School of Biological Sciences
Street

Mary Brück Building
The King's Buildings
Colin Maclaurin Road

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3DW

 

School of Biological Sciences

  • The University of Edinburgh
Street

Roger Land Building
The King's Buildings
Alexander Crum Brown Road

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3FF

 

School management and administration

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of School Professor David Gray +44 (0) 131 650 5525 hossbs@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Dr Anne Payne +44 (0) 131 650 5525 anne.payne@ed.ac.uk
PA to Head of School and PA to Director of Professional Services Karen Rafferty +44 (0) 131 650 5525 karen.rafferty@ed.ac.uk
Business Development Executive

Andrea Taylor

+44 (0) 131 650 7024

andrea.taylor@eri.ed.ac.uk

IP Development Manager Dr Keith Finlayson +44 (0) 131 650 5408 keith.finlayson@ed.ac.uk
Alumni and Development Officer Craig Rutherford +44 (0) 131 651 7041 craig.rutherford@ed.ac.uk
Director of Research Professor Andrew Millar +44 (0) 131 651 3325​ SBS.ResearchDirector@ed.ac.uk
Director of Teaching Professor Maurice Gallagher +44 (0) 131 650 5520

sbsdirectorofteaching@ed.ac.uk

Director of Internationalisation Dr Peter Doerner +44 (0) 131 650 7080 peter.doerner@ed.ac.uk
Academic Administrator (Undergraduate and Taught postgraduate programmes) Dr Ann Haley +44 (0) 131 650 5538 ann.haley@ed.ac.uk
Director of Graduate School Dr Irina Stancheva +44 (0) 131 650 7029 gradbiol@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate and Research Staff Officer Dr Caroline Proctor +44 (0) 131 650 5327 caroline.proctor@ed.ac.uk
Administration Manager Richard Yardley +44 (0) 131 650 5552 richard.yardley@ed.ac.uk
Technical Services and Estates Manager Sandra Lawrie +44 (0) 131 650 5524 sandra.lawrie@ed.ac.uk
Health and Safety Advisor Carmina D'Alessandro +44 (0) 131 650 7746 sbsafety@ed.ac.uk
Finance and Procurement Manager David Walker +44 (0) 131 650 5551 david.walker@ed.ac.uk
Staffing Manager Richard Yardley +44 (0) 131 650 5552 richard.yardley@ed.ac.uk
IT Service Manager Gareth Poxon +44 (0) 131 650 8645 g.poxon@ed.ac.uk
Web & Learning Technologies Manager Dr Yuhua Hu +44 (0) 131 651 7090 yuhua.hu@ed.ac.uk

 

Institutes and Centres

Institute of Cell Biology
Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Kevin Hardwick +44 (0) 131 650 7091 Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary

Louise Bishop

+44 (0) 131 650 5366

louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk

Institute of Evolutionary Biology
Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Paul Sharp +44 (0) 131 651 3684 iebhead@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Roz Shields +44 (0) 131 650 5464 r.shields@ed.ac.uk
Institute of Immunology and Infection Research
Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Keith Matthews +44 (0) 131 651 3639 iiirhead@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Roz Shields +44 (0) 131 650 5464 r.shields@ed.ac.uk
Institute of Molecular Plant Sciences
Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Andrew Hudson +44 (0) 131 650 7256 andrew.hudson@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary

Louise Bishop

+44 (0) 131 650 5366

louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk

Institute of Stem Cell Research
Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Dónal O'Carroll +44 (0) 131 651 9556 donal.ocarroll@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Sarah Neal +44 (0) 131 651 9512 s.j.neal@ed.ac.uk
Institute of Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology
Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Paul Barlow +44 (0) 131 650 4727 paul.barlow@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary

Louise Bishop

+44 (0) 131 650 5366

louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk

Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology
Role Person Phone number Email
Director Professor David Tollervey +44 (0) 131 650 7092 wcb.director@ed.ac.uk
Centre Manager Dr Karen Traill +44 (0) 131 650 5933 karen.traill@ed.ac.uk
Centre for Immunity, Infection and Evolution
Role Person Phone number Email
Centre Director Professor Keith Matthews +44 (0) 131 651 3683 ciie@ed.ac.uk
MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine
Role Person Phone number Email
Director Professor  Stuart Forbes +44 (0) 131 650 9500 stuart.forbes@ed.ac.uk
Director PA Sandra Japs / Julie Davidson +44 (0) 131 651 9511 crm-directorpa@ed.ac.uk
Centre Manager Dr Gordon McLean +44 (0) 131 651 9500 g.mclean@ed.ac.uk
Centre Manager PA Sarah Neal +44 (0) 131 651 9512 s.j.neal@ed.ac.uk
Centre for Translational and Chemical Biology
Role Person Phone number Email
Director Professor Malcolm Walkinshaw +44 (0) 131 650 7054 malcolm.walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk
Facilities Manager Dr Martin Wear +44 (0) 131 650 7045 martin.wear@ed.ac.uk
Facilities Manager Sandra Bruce +44 (0) 131 650 7045 sandra.bruce@ed.ac.uk
SynthSys – Synthetic & Systems Biology Centre
Role Person Phone number Email
Director Professor Alistair Elfick +44 (0) 131 650 7254 synthsys@ed.ac.uk
Director of Operations Dr Liz Fletcher +44 (0) 131 650 7292 synthsys@ed.ac.uk
Administrator Julie Fyffe +44 (0) 131 651 9065 jfyffe@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Facilities and Services
Facility/Service Contact Phone Email
Darwin Workshop N/A +44 (0) 131 650 5406 darworks@ed.ac.uk

 

Press gang