St Cecilia’s Hall: Concert Room and Music Museum
Home to one of the most important historic musical instrument collections anywhere in the world.
St Cecilia's Hall is Scotland's oldest purpose-built concert hall. Originally built by the Edinburgh Musical Society in 1762, the Georgian venue is a real hidden gem, tucked away in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town.
Having undergone a £6.5million renovation St Cecilia’s Hall and Music Museum is now the University’s first visitor attraction and a fantastic addition to Edinburgh’s offer of museums and event venues.
St Cecilia’s Hall comprises of a Concert Room, hosting a range of concerts and public events, and a Music Museum, which is open to the public and brings together the University's collection of musical instruments for the first time.
The Music Museum displays the University's unparalleled collection of musical instruments from across the globe, including its world-famous harpsichords, some of which are playable. Making this the only place in the world, it is claimed, that you can hear 18th-century music being played on 18th-century instruments in an 18th- century setting.
More than 400 instruments have been conserved as part of the redevelopment project by a dedicated conservator of musical instruments. This work continues, as the building features a dedicated space for treating instruments, which is visible for those visiting to see.
|Tuesday – Saturday||10 am – 5pm||last admission 4:30 pm|
St Cecilia’s Hall also has a lively programme of adult and family events, education workshops, group tours and concerts. It can also be hired for private and corporate events.
Entrance to the Museum is from Niddry Street. The museum has a ramp at the entrance. Assistance is available if required.
There is a lift to the museum galleries.
Car parking is available for visitors with mobility limitations. Please contact the Museum in advance.