Professor Stuart Ralston


Stuart H Ralston graduated in Medicine from Glasgow University in 1978 and underwent higher medical training in General Internal Medicine and Rheumatology.  He previously held the chair of Medicine and Bone Metabolism at the University of Aberdeen and moved to Edinburgh University in 2005 when he now holds the Arthritis Research UK Chair of Rheumatology. He is currently director of Edinburgh University's online distance learning MSc in clinical trials and was director of Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit between 2009 and 2016.  He holds an honorary consultant rheumatologist position with NHS Lothian where he is clinical lead for the osteoporosis service and clinical director of the rheumatology service.  Professor Ralston has researched widely on the molecular and genetic basis of osteoporosis and other bone and joint diseases. He has a special interest in the pathogenesis and management of Paget’s disease of bone.  He is joint editor-in-chief of Calcified Tissue International and an editor of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. He was chair of the SIGN 142 guideline group on the Management of Osteoporosis and Prevention of Fragility Fractures in 2015 and 2021 and chairs one of the working groups of the Osteoporosis and Bone Research Academy for the Royal Osteoporosis Society.  He was chair of the Commission for Human Medicines (CHM) for the Medicines and Healthcare Regulatory Authority (MHRA) between 2013 and 2021 during which time the CHM advised that the Pfizer/BioNtech, Moderna and AstraZeneca vaccines should be approved for emergency use in the UK. He continues to act as an advisor to CHM on matters relation to Medicines for Women’s Health and Rheumatology.    


Academic Qualifications

  • Bachelor

    • 1978, Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery, University of Glasgow, MB ChB
  • Doctorate
    • 1987, Doctor of Medicine, University of Glasgow, MD

Professional Qualifications

  • 2015, Honorary Fellow of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine, FFPM
  • 2005, Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, FRSE
  • 1999, Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, FMedSci
  • 1994, Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians Edinburgh, FRCP (Edin)
  • 1980, Member of the Royal College of Physicians, MRCP