Student news

Awards ceremony puts teaching stars in spotlight

Outstanding academics, tutors and support staff have been recognised in annual awards for excellence in teaching.

The Students' Association Teaching Awards – the first of their kind in the UK – celebrate the best contributions made to students' learning experiences in the past year.

Now in their eleventh year, the awards were presented at a ceremony in Teviot Row House.

Student nominations

The winners of the 12 awards were chosen by students, who this year made more than 2000 nominations.

Comments received during the nomination process are used by the Students' Association and the University to further improve teaching and support.

Excellent teaching

Mark Sprevak, Senior Lecturer in the School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences, won the Best Course Award. The runners-up were Jan Penrose, Tom Slater and Julie Cupples in the School of Geosciences, and Robbie Nicol from Moray House School of Education.

The Best Support Staff Award went to Mike Grieve from The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies. Clay Young, from the School of Social and Political Sciences, was the runner-up.

The Best Practice in Inclusive Learning and Teaching Award was presented to Katie Monk from the School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences. Katherine Inglis from the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures was runner-up.

Student feedback

Two prizes were awarded for feedback provided to students.

Fumiko Narumi-Munro from the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures won the Best Implementer of Student Feedback Award. The runner-up was Sakie Chiba-Mooney, also based in the School.

The Best Assessment Feedback Award was presented to Lev Sarkisov from the School of Engineering. Elizabeth Bomberg from the School of Social and Political Sciences was the runner-up.

Outstanding tutors

George Palattiyil from the School of Social and Political Sciences won the Best Personal Tutor Award. James Mooney from the Centre for Open Learning was the runner-up.

The Best Student Who Tutors Award was won by Rhodri Leng, who is studying in the School of Social and Political Sciences. The runner-up was Jason Taylor from the School of Informatics.

The Best Supervisor Award was won by Juliet Kaarbo in School of Social and Political Sciences. Gale Macleod from Moray House School of Education was the runner-up.

College awards

Four awards were presented to recognise the best teaching within the University’s three Colleges.

David Kluth, of Edinburgh Medical School’s Clinical Sciences, won the Kendell Award for Teaching in Medicine. Tom Gillingwater from Edinburgh Medical School’s Biomedical Sciences was the-runner up.

The Award for Teaching in Veterinary Medicine was given to Thalia Blacking. The runner-up was Tom Beeston.

Richard Milne from the School of Biological Sciences was presented with the Van Heyningen Award for Teaching in Science and Engineering. Clare Barnes in the School of GeoSciences was the runner-up.

The Ian Campbell Award for Teaching in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences went to Augusto Voltes-Dorta from Edinburgh Business School. The runner-up was James Harrison from the School of Law.

Special recognition

During the ceremony, the University’s Senior Vice-Principal Professor Charlie Jeffery was recognised with a special award for his long-standing contributions to the student experience at Edinburgh.

Professor Jeffery – who is soon to leave Edinburgh to become Vice-Chancellor at the University of York – was presented with the Outstanding Achievement Award: Championing Students.

Teaching is so important to the student experience, because it helps shape our understanding of ourselves and the wider world, and achieve our full potential. Staff have a fundamental impact on students’ lives. It’s so fantastic that the Teaching Awards can celebrate some of our incredible staff members.

Diva MukherjiEdinburgh University Students’ Association Vice President Education

Related links

Edinburgh University Students’ Association