Staff news

Crum Brown Chair: Polly Arnold

Professor Polly Arnold has been made Crum Brown Chair of Chemistry.

polly arnold

Professor Arnold obtained a BA from the University of Oxford in 1994 and a DPhil from the University of Sussex in 1997.

She was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship for postdoctoral research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and returned to the UK to a lectureship at the University of Nottingham in 1999.

She moved to the University of Edinburgh in 2007, and was promoted to Chair in 2009.

She is also an EPSRC Leadership Research Fellow.

Further research awards made to Professor Arnold include the Bessel Prize from the Humboldt Foundation, a University of Edinburgh Chancellor’s Award, and the Hans Fischer Senior Fellowship from the Institute of Advanced Study in Munich.

In the last year, she has been awarded the Royal Society’s Rosalind Franklin medal, a Royal Society of Chemistry’s Corday-Morgan Prize, and has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the Royal Society of Chemistry.