Staff news

Honorary Professor: Philippe L Toint

Philippe L Toint has been made an Honorary Professor.

Philippe Toint

Professor Toint received his degree in Mathematics from the University of Namur, Belgium in 1974, and his PhD in 1978 under the guidance of Professor MJD Powell.

He was appointed as lecturer at the University of Namur in 1979, were he became associate professor in 1987 and full professor in 1993.

Since 1979, Professor Toint has been the co-director of the Numerical Analysis Unit and director of the Transportation Research Group at the University of Namur.

He was in charge of the University Computer Services from 1998 to 2000 and director of the Department of Mathematics from 2006 to 2009.

His research interests include numerical optimization, numerical analysis and transportation research.

He has published four books and more than 280 papers and technical reports. Elected as SIAM Fellow, 2009, Professor Toint was also awarded the Beale-Orchard-Hayes Prize, 1994, with Conn and Gould, and the Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization, 2006, with Fletcher and Leyffer.

He is the current Chairman (2010-2013) of the Mathematical Programming Society, the international scientific body gathering most researchers in mathematical optimization worldwide.