Staff news

Colleagues recognised for their long service

The Principal hosted a ceremony earlier this week (Tuesday 5 December) to recognise the dedication of staff who have been with the University for 25 years or more.

The annual event at the Playfair Library, brought together 124 staff from across the University to celebrate their long service.

A group are chatting happily in the Playfair Library at the long service ceremony

I am profoundly humbled every time we pay tribute to our longest-serving colleagues. My sincere thanks and admiration to you all on behalf of myself and all the members of the University of Edinburgh community who have benefited from your decades of loyal service.

Sir Peter MathiesonPrincipal and Vice-Chancellor

50 years

Biology Teaching Organisation                                                             Michael Dye
Infection Medicine Pauline McManus
The Roslin Institute Professor Alan Archibald

40 years

Bioresearch & Veterinary Services Keith Chalmers
Chemistry Doctor Patrick Langridge-Smith
Estates Colin Scott
Engineering Amanda Simpson
Institute for Education, Teaching and Leadership                       Paul Nisbet
Institute for Multiscale Thermofluids Dr John Christy
Institute of Molecular Plant Science Professor Stephen Fry
ITI Communications Infrastructure Services Edward Corns
ITI Communications Infrastructure Services Malcolm Bell
Law Doctor Robert Lane
Law Professor Stephen Neff
MRC University Unit for Human Genetics Kathryn Browne
Operational Services Gary Blackie
Relationship Management Abdul Majothi
The Roslin Institute Elisabeth Thornton

29 years

Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre                                                Professor Mark Parsons


25 years

Accommodation, Catering & Events Avril Campbell
Accommodation, Catering & Events Catherine Cairns
Accommodation, Catering & Events Marian Glen
Accommodation, Catering & Events Tracey Whytock
Accommodation, Catering & Events David Sives
Accommodation, Catering & Events Ian Macaulay
Art David Moore
Asian Studies Doctor Julian Ward
Biomedical Sciences Teaching Organisation                                  Doctor Kevin Robertson
Careers Service Matthew Vickers
Careers Service Shelagh Green
Central Maintenance Cameron Duncanson
Central Maintenance Craig Fleming
Centre for Cancer Research Harriet Harris
Centre for Cancer Research Ian Croy
Centre for Cardiovascular Science Professor Martin Denvir
Centre for Cardiovascular Science Professor Simon Maxwell
Centre for Cardiovascular Science Professor Patrick Hadoke
Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences Christine Donaldson
Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences Mary Andrews
Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences Nicholas Attwood
Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences Rosemary Anderson
Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences Professor Mike Ludwig
Centre for Open Learning office Stuart McHardy
Centre for Reproductive Health Professor Colin Duncan
Centre for Reproductive Health Emma Watson
Chemistry Professor Carole Morrison
Estates Edward Gay
Clinical Psychology Professor Joanne Williams
Collections Services Nicola Moncur
Deanery of Biomedical Sciences office Morag Laidlaw
Deanery of Clinical Sciences office Kirsty Ainscough
Design Zoe Patterson
Economics Dr Ahmed Anwar
Edinburgh College of Art office Doctor Francine Shields
Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre Doctor Jonathan Bull
Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre Konstantinos Kavoussanakis         
Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre Maureen Simpson
Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre Tracy Peet
Edinburgh University Press Carol Macdonald
Engineering Colin Higgs
Enterprise Services Thomas Higgison
GeoSciences Alan Hobbs
GeoSciences Doctor Gail Jackson
GeoSciences Justin MacNeil
GeoSciences Professor Robert Haszeldine
Help Services Frances Fullarton
Help Services Winifred Chambers