Staff news

Edinburgh chemists win prestigious awards

Four academics have been recognised for their outstanding work in advancing the chemical sciences.

Polly Arnold, Euan Brechin, Guy Lloyd-Jones and Ying Zheng have each won awards from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

An illustrious list of 50 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including 2016 Nobel laureates Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa.

Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Award

Professor Polly Arnold won the Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Award, which is presented for outstanding contributions to pure or applied research in the field of organometallic chemistry.

Her research is focused on exploratory synthetic chemistry.

Tilden Prize

Professor Euan Brechin won the Tilden Prize, which is awarded for the development of magnetostructural correlations in transition metal coordination complexes.

His work focuses on investigating and exploiting the relationship between the structure of molecules and their magnetic behaviour.

Pedler Award

Professor Guy Lloyd-Jones won the Pedler Award, which is given for contributions to any area of organic chemistry from a researcher under the age of 55.

Professor Lloyd-Jones works on ways of improving chemical reactions.

Applied Catalysis Award

Professor Ying Zheng won the Applied Catalysis Award, which is awarded for the development and application of recyclable, heterogeneous nanocatalysts.

She designs new processes to improve the efficiency, safety and sustainability of chemical plants.

Recognising excellence

Winners are recognised for the originality and impact of their research, or for their contributions to the chemical sciences industry or chemistry education.

The Awards also acknowledge the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, and the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

Related links

School of Chemistry

Royal Society of Chemistry