Staff news

Academics join prestigious young academy

Six Edinburgh academics have been appointed as members of The Royal Society of Edinburgh Young Academy of Scotland.

They are among a new cohort of 53 members in their early-to-mid careers working in a range of sectors across Scotland.

Edinburgh members

The newest members of the RSE Young Academy of Scotland include researchers working in all three of the University’s Colleges.

The Edinburgh academics appointed are:

  • Miranda Anderson, AHRC Research Fellow, Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities.
  • Vaishak Belle, Chancellor's Fellow, School of Informatics
  • Aidan Brown, Postdoctoral Researcher, School of Physics and Astronomy
  • Sarah Chan, Chancellor's Fellow, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics
  • Andrew Graeme McKechanie, Clinical Research Training Fellow and Honorary Consultant, Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences
  • John D O'Connor, Teaching Fellow in Philosophy, School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences.

Emerging leaders

The RSE Young Academy of Scotland (YAS) fosters interdisciplinary activities among emerging leaders from the disciplines of science and humanities, the professions, the arts, business and civil society.

Established in 2011, it provides a platform for young entrepreneurs, professionals and academics to develop a coherent and influential voice, and to address the most challenging issues facing society in Scotland and beyond.

I am pleased to welcome this diverse and accomplished group of new members to the Young Academy of Scotland.

Professor Dame Anne GloverPresident of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

Related links

RSE Young Academy of Scotland