Staff news

Chancellor’s winners announced

The University has honoured five staff members with Chancellor’s Awards for their teaching and research excellence and impact.

Jessie Paterson, Andrew Rambaut, Sam Spiegel, Lesley McAra and Susan McVie were congratulated by the Vice-Chancellor and the Lord Lieutenant and Rt. Hon. Lord Provost of Edinburgh, at a gala dinner held at the Palace of Holyrood House.

Established in 2003, the Chancellor’s Awards now reward staff in four categories for teaching, research, impact and showing great potential in early career research.

Innovative teaching

The Award for Teaching was given to Dr Jessie Paterson who is a lecturer in Student Learning at The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies.

The Award was to recognise her outstanding leadership, innovation and impact in student support and in online and face-to-face course development and delivery.

Research excellence

Professor Andrew Rambaut was the recipient of this year’s Chancellor’s Award for Research in recognition of his exceptional work in the epidemiology of rapidly evolving viruses.

Andrew holds a Personal Chair in Molecular Evolution in the School of Biological Sciences.

Rising star

Dr Sam Spiegel received the Rising Star Award, which honours early-career colleagues who demonstrate great potential. He is a lecturer in International Development and Director of Research, Centre of African Studies.

Sam was commended on the resonance and impact of his work in development studies, including his very high quality publications, demonstrable research impact, an excellent track record in research funding, and his contributions to mentoring and research leadership.


Professors Lesley McAra and Susan McVie became the first recipients of the Chancellor’s Award for Impact, a new category for this year. It honours colleagues whose outstanding research has made a demonstrable contribution to society, globally or locally outside direct academic recognition.

They were recognised for the outstanding impact on policy and practice and, through that, the experience of young people that has resulted from their work on The Edinburgh Study of Youth Transitions and Crime.

Lesley is Assistant Principal Community Relations and holds the Chair of Penology and Susan is Chair of Quantitative Criminology, both in the School of Law.

Related links

Dr Jessie Paterson

Professor Andrew Rambaut

Dr Sam Spiegel

Professor Lesley McAra

Professor Susan McVie

The Edinburgh Study

Chancellor’s Awards