Staff news

Academics join Royal Society’s academy

Twelve members of University staff have been appointed to a prestigious national academy.

They have been recognised as emerging leaders in their academic fields, and have become the newest members of the Royal Society of Edinburgh’s Young Academy of Scotland.

National academy

The Academy fosters interdisciplinary activities among young entrepreneurs, professionals and academics from the fields of science and humanities, the professions, the arts, business and civil society.

It helps members to interact across disciplines and professions with decision makers, opinion formers and experts, business leaders, funding bodies, national institutions, the public and the media within Scotland, the UK and internationally.

New members

Staff from all three of the University’s Colleges are among the new intake for the Young Academy of Scotland:

College of Science and Engineering

Dr Stephen Brusatte, Chancellor's Fellow in Vertebrate Palaeontology

Dr Javier Escudero Rodriguez, Chancellor's Fellow in Biomedical Signal Processing

Dr Philip Hands, Chancellor's Fellow in Microelectronics

Dr Louise Horsfall, Lecturer in Biotechnology

Dr Olof Johansson, Royal Society of Edinburgh/BP Trust Research Fellow

Dr Stephen Thomas, Royal Society University Research Fellow

College of Humanities and Social Science

Dr Matthew Chrisman, Reader in Philosophy

Dr Sotiria Grek, Lecturer in Social Policy

Dr Wenxuan Hou, Reader in Finance

Dr Nikki Moran, Lecturer in Music

Dr Niki Vermeulen, Lecturer in history/sociology of science; Wellcome Research Fellow

College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

Dr Kathrin Cresswell, Chief Scientist Office Postdoctoral Fellow