Staff news

Teaching excellence rewarded

The winners of the 2014 EUSA Teaching Awards have been announced.

Awards in 13 categories, including Best Personal Tutor, Best Feedback and Teaching with Technology, were presented at a ceremony held at Teviot Row House.

More than 100 students and staff members attended the event.

Photo of staff and students at the 2014 EUSA Teaching Awards

Positive impact

The student-led awards recognise the teachers, support staff and students who have made a positive impact on students’ learning experience.

More than 2,500 nominations were received from students and a judging panel comprised of students and staff selected the winners.

Full winners list

The winners and runners-up are:

Best Feedback

  • Winner:
 Dr Dan Swanton (School of GeoSciences)

  • Runner-up: Professor Pete Higgins (Moray House School of Education)

Best Personal Tutor

  • Winner: Dr Ulf-Dietrich Schoop (School of History, Classics & Archaeology)
  • Runner-up: Dr David Kaufman (School of History, Classics & Archaeology)

Best Postgraduate Tutor

  • Winner: Eliana Lambrou (School of Physics & Astronomy)
  • Runner-up: Ariadne-Anna Panagopoulou (School of Law)

Best Research or Dissertation Supervisor

  • Winner: Dr Samantha Griffiths (Division of Pathway Medicine)
  • Runner-up: Professor Theodore Scaltsas (School of Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences)

Teaching with Technology Award

  • Winner: Dr David Kaufman (School of History, Classics & Archaeology)
  • Runner-up: Brian Wall (School of Literatures, Languages & Cultures)

Peer Support Award

  • Winners: Alice Cezanne & Emma Butcher (Biomedical Society)
  • Runner-up: Alison Garden (School of Literatures, Languages & Cultures)

Kendell Award for Teaching in Medicine

  • Winner: Professor Simon Maxwell (School of Clinical Sciences)
  • Runner-up: Dr Paul Kelly (School of Biomedical Sciences)

Teaching in Veterinary Sciences Award

  • Winner: Dr Susan Kempson (Royal [Dick] School of Veterinary Sciences)
  • Runner-up: Professor Anna Meredith (Royal [Dick] School of Veterinary Sciences)

Van Heyningen Award for Teaching in Science & Engineering

  • Winner: Professor Iain Gordon (School of Mathematics)
  • Runner-up: Professor Charles Cockell (School of Physics & Astronomy)

Ian Campbell Award for Teaching in the Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Winner: Dr Rob Dinnis (School of History, Classics & Archaeology)
  • Runner-up: Dr Claire Haggett (School of Social & Political Science)

Best Course

  • Winner: Stem Cells, Neurodegenerative Diseases & Models
  • Runner-up: Parliamentary Studies

Best School or Subject Area

  • Winner: School of Chemistry
  • Runner-up: School of History, Classics & Archaeology

Supporting Students' Learning Award

  • Winner: Tracy Noden (School of Biomedical Sciences)
  • Runner-up: Sheila Macpherson (QMRI)

Photo courtesy of Tom Dance.