Staff news

RSE honour for 10 Schools

The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) has named academics from 10 University of Edinburgh Schools among its 53 new Fellows.

Fifteen academics will join a distinguished Fellowship of more than 1,500 members in disciplines spanning the arts, business, science and technology. New Fellows are elected each year following a rigorous nomination process

University Fellows

The staff members elected to become RSE Fellows are:

School of Biological Sciences

  • Professor Judith Allen
  • Professor Mark Blaxter
  • Professor Keith Matthews
  • Professor Andrew Rambaut

School of Chemistry

  • Professor Peter Tasker

School of Clinical Sciences

  • Professor Anna Glasier OBE

School of Informatics

  • Professor Don Sannella

School of Law

  • Professor Susan McVie

School of Literatures, Languages & Cultures

  • Professor Natascha Gentz

School of Mathematics

  • Professor Ben Leimkuhler
  • Professor Jacques Vanneste

School of Molecular, Genetic & Population Health Sciences

  • Professor Sarah Cunningham-Burley
  • Professor Andrew Jackson

School of Physics & Astronomy

  • Professor Malcolm McMahon

Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies

  • Professor Peter Simmonds

Role model

This year, the RSE has also nominated several role models who will encourage young women to excel in their chosen professions.

These include Professor Anna Glasier OBE, Honorary Professor in the School of Clinical Sciences and a world leader in the study of sexual and reproductive health.

The RSE is a leading educational charity set up to provide public benefit throughout Scotland.

Its work includes awarding research funding, leading major enquiries, informing public policy and delivering events designed to inspire knowledge and learning.