Staff news

RSE fellows announced

Thirteen University of Edinburgh staff members have been elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Professor Arthur Trew
Professor Arthur Trew, who has been made Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

This year, the Society appointed 45 new UK and International Fellows to its 1,500-strong Fellowship of experts in the sciences, arts, humanities, the professions, industry and commerce.

Edinburgh representation

The University academics included in 2011’s intake are:

  • Professor Nigel Brown, Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Science & Engineering
  • Ian Bryden, Professor of Renewable Energy
  • Wenfei Fan, Professor of Web Data Management
  • James Ironside, Professor of Clinical Neuropathology
  • Nigel Osborne, Reid Professor of Music
  • Duncan Pritchard, Professor of Epistemology
  • Jonathan Spencer, Professor of the Anthropology of South East Asia
  • Andrew Taylor, Professor of Astrophysics
  • Arthur Trew, Professor of Computational Science
  • Brian Walker, Professor of Endocrinology
  • Neil Walker, Regius Professor of Public Law and the Law of Nature and Nations
  • Joanna Wardlaw, Professor of Applied Neuroimaging
  • James Wright, Professor of Mathematical Analysis.

I am delighted to be able to announce the new intake of Fellows – each has achieved excellence in his or her field of work, which has been recognised by their peers through their election to the RSE.

Lord Wilson of TillyornPresident of the Royal Society of Edinburgh