Staff news

Medal for medical leader

The University’s Professor Scott Murray has been awarded the William Farr Medal for 2011.

scott murray

The prestigious accolade honours medical practitioners who have made a significant contribution to the management of elderly people as part of original innovative work in the UK.

Significant role

Professor Murray is the St Columba’s Hospice Professor of Primary Palliative Care, and he leads the University’s Primary Palliative Care Research Group.

The group has played a significant role in researching and advocating for the extension of the palliative care approach to all in need, including people with non-malignant conditions and the frail elderly.

The group has contributed to various publications and staged a campaign in the ‘British Medical Journal’, and it has also influenced the current English and Scottish End-of-Life Strategies to develop services appropriate for all people at the end of life.

The William Farr Medal

The William Farr Medal is awarded by the Worshipful Society of Apothecaries of London.

Previous recipients include Edinburgh’s Martin Dennis, Professor of Stroke Medicine in the Division of Clinical Neurosciences, and the first President of the British Society of Stroke Physicians.