University community recognised in New Year Honours

Three members of the University community have been recognised in the King’s New Year Honours List 2024.

Each year on 1 January, extraordinary people from across the UK are rewarded for their service and achievements in public life, receiving orders of chivalry or official honours.  


Services to literature  

Professor Alexander McCall Smith
Professor Alexander McCall Smith

Professor Alexander McCall Smith CBE FRSE, author and academic has received a Knighthood for his services to literature, academia and charity. Professor McCall Smith previously studied at the University of Edinburgh and is Emeritus Professor at the Law School.  


Services to botanical science 

Professor Peter Michael Hollingsworth, Visiting Professor at the University and Director of Science and Deputy Keeper, Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh has received a CBE for services to Botanical Science.


Services to young people 

Janet Legrand KC (Hon) and previously Chair of Trustees at The Children's Society, has been awarded an OBE for services to young people. Janet is currently Senior Lay Member on the University’s governing body, the University Court, having been elected by staff, students and Court members in 2020. 


The announcement of this year’s recipients was published in the official newspaper of the Crown, The Gazette. 

Related links 

The Gazette | Official Public Record 

[Image credit: Roberto Ricciuti/Getty Images]