Centre for Inflammation Research

CIR seminar series

Invited speakers

This seminar series takes place in the IRR South seminar room 1.05 on Tuesday's or Friday's at 11am (unless otherwise stated)

Date Speaker Title Host

Friday 2nd February

Professor Alberto Sanchez-Fueyo, Professor of Hepatology, Academic Head of the Institute of Liver Studies, King’s College London

“Immunomodulation, cell therapy & liver transplantation: trials and tribulations”

Wei-Yu Lu

Friday 9th February

Dr Charlotte Scott, Center for Inflammation Research, VIB-UGent 

“Unravelling the functional heterogeneity of hepatic macrophages in health and disease”

Calum Bain

Friday 23rd February

Professor David Hodson, Radcliffe Department of Medicine, University of Oxford

“Visualizing and interrogating diabetes, obesity and MASLD drug targets from the single cell to the tissue”

Marc Vendrell

11:30 Thursday 29th February 

Professor John Simpson, Newcastle University

“The acquired innate immune dysfunction induced by critical illness”

Chris Lucas
Tuesday 5th March Dr John Grainger, Division of Immunology, Immunity to Infection and Respiratory Medicine, The University of Manchester Title TBC Jenna Cash
Tuesday 12th March

Professor Stephen Tait, CRUK Scotland Institute, Glasgow

Title TBC Chris Gregory
Tuesday 19th March

Dr Manikandan Subramanian, Cardiovascular Inflammation, The William Harvey Research Institute, Queen Mary University of London

"Defective Macrophage Efferocytosis in Atherosclerotic Plaques – Mechanistic Insights and Therapeutic Strategies" Steve Jenkins
10:30 Tuesday 26th March

Dr. Saumya Agrawal, Riken Center for Integrative Medical Science, Japan

Title TBC Kenny Baillie
Friday 19th April

Professor Tom van der Poll, Internal Medicine & Infectious Diseases, Amsterdam University Medical Centre

Title TBC

Manu Shankar-Hari
Friday 26th April

Professor Ning Xu Landen, Dermatology and Venereology Division, Karolinska Institute

Title TBC

Jenna Cash
Tuesday 14th May

Professor Adam Byrne, National Heart & Lung Institute, Imperial College London

Title TBC Nik Hirani
Friday 7th June

Professor Martin Humphries, Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell-Matrix Research, University of Manchester

Title TBC Marc Vendrell
Friday 14th June

Dr Marijana Basic, Institute for Laboratory Animals Science, Hannover Medical School

Title TBC Chengcan Yao
Friday 21st June

Professor Richard White, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, University of Oxford

Title TBC Yi Feng
Tuesday 25th June TBC Title TBC Chengcan Yao
Tuesday 8th October

Dr Filippo Del Bene, INSERM, Sorbonne University, Paris

Title TBC Yi Feng
       

Organiser: Sonia Rafferty (sonia.rafferty@ed.ac.uk)