Centre for Inflammation Research

Principal investigators

Researchers whose primary University of Edinburgh affiliation is with the CIR



Job Title
Dr Ahsan Akram Cancer Research UK Clinician Scientist Fellow / Honorary Consultant in Respiratory Medicine
Professor Steve Anderton

Chair of Therapeutic Immunology

Dr Calum Bain Sir Henry Dale Fellow

Professor Debby Bogaert

Scottish Senior Clinical Fellow and Honorary Consultant in Paediatric Infectious Diseases

Dr Jenna Cash Chancellor's Fellow and Sir Henry Dale Fellow
Dr Gareth Clegg Clinical Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Emergency Medicine
Professor Steve Cunningham Professor of Paediatric Respiratory Medicine
Dr Donald J Davidson Senior Research Fellow / Senior Lecturer / Academic Lead for Public Engagement at CIR
Professor Kev Dhaliwal Chair of Molecular Imaging and Healthcare Technology / Honorary Consultant in Respiratory Medicine

Professor David Dockrell

Chair of Infection Medicine
Professor Julia Dorin Chair of Genetics of Host Defence
Professor Ian Dransfield Chair of Leukocyte and Lung Cell Biology
Dr Rodger Duffin Reader in Respiratory Medicine
Professor Elaine Dzierzak Chair of Haematological Regeneration
Professor Dean Everett Reader / Chancellors Fellow
Professor Jonathan Fallowfield

Senior Clinical Fellow / Honorary Consultant Hepatologist

Dr Yi Feng Reader / Wellcome Trust Sir Henry Dale Fellow
Dr David Ferenbach Wellcome Trust Intermediate Clinical Fellow
Dr Emily Gwyer Findlay

Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellow

Dr Mohini Gray Reader and Honorary Consultant in Rheumatology
Dr Robert Gray NRS Senior Clinical Fellow & Honorary Consultant Respiratory Physician
Professor Christopher D Gregory

Chair of Inflammatory Cell Biology / Director of the Centre for Inflammation Research

Dr David Griffith Senior Lecturer in Anaesthesia and Critical Care / Honorary Consultant in Anaesthesia and Critical Care
Dr Carsten Gram Hansen Chancellor's Fellow
Professor Chris Haslett Chair of Translational Medicine / Director of The Queen's Medical Research Institute
Professor Neil Henderson

Chair of Tissue Repair and Regeneration / Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow in Clinical Science / Consultant Hepatologist

Dr Nik Hirani Principal Investigator
Dr Gwo-Tzer Ho MRC Clinician Scientist and Honorary Consultant Gastroenterologist
Professor Sarah E M Howie Professor of Immunopathology
Professor Jeremy Hughes Chair of Experimental Nephrology
Dr Steve Jenkins Chancellor's Fellow
Dr Tim Kendall Senior Clinical Fellow in Pathology / Honorary Consultant Histopathologist
Dr David Kluth Reader in Nephrology / Honorary Consultant
Dr Christopher Lucas Wellcome Trust Career Development Fellow / Honorary Consultant in Respiratory Medicine
Dr Alison Mackinnon Senior Research Fellow
Professor Lorna Marson Reader in Transplant Surgery
Dr Henry McSorley Chancellor's Fellow
Dr Richard Mellanby Wellcome Trust Intermediate Clinical Fellow
Professor Damian Mole Clinician Scientist Fellow
Dr Richard Phelps Principal Investigator
Dr Clare Pridans Principal Investigator
Dr Sandrine Prost Senior Lecturer in Pathology
Dr Prakash Ramachandran MRC Intermediate Clinical Fellow
Professor Adriano G Rossi Chair of Respiratory and Inflammation Pharmacology / Deputy Director of the Centre for Inflammation Research / Postgraduate Director of the Centre for Inflammation Research
Professor Philippa Saunders Chair of Reproductive Steroids / Director of Postgraduate Research for CMVM
Professor Sir John Savill Chair of Experimental Medicine
Professor Jürgen Schwarze Edward Clark Chair of Child Life and Health
Dr Alan Serrels Research Fellow
Professor Neil Turner Principal Investigator
Dr Marc Vendrell Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Imaging
Dr Sonja Vermeren Senior Lecturer
Professor Sarah Walmsley Chair of Respiratory Medicine
Professor Tim Walsh Chair of Critical Care
Professor Moira Whyte Head of the Medical School / Sir John Crofton Professor of Respiratory Medicine
Professor Steve Wigmore Chair of Transplantation Surgery / Honorary Consultant Surgeon
Professor Will Wood Chair in Tissue Regeneration and Repair
Dr Chengcan Yao Reader / MRC Career Development Award (CDA) Fellow / Chancellor's Fellow