The James Tait Black Prizes
The James Tait Black Prizes logo

The UK's longest running literary award

Established in 1919, the James Tait Black Prizes are also the only major book prize judged by scholars and students.

Student reading book

The book prizes are awarded annually for the best work of fiction and the best biography published in the previous year.

Book prizes

The James Tait Black Prize for Drama is on pause, submissions may re-open in January 2025.

Photo of The James Tait Black Prize co-ordinators Mhairi Morrison and Rosaleen Nolan, both reading books

How to submit entries for the prizes.

Book prize submissions

Drama prize submissions

Highlights from our news reports and previous award ceremonies.

Sign up for a free online course, "How to Read a Novel". Delivered in collaboration with Edinburgh International Book Festival.