College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

History and structure

From Monday 1 August 2016, the College of Humanities and Social Science (formed in 2002) has been known as the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (CAHSS).


55-60 George Square

In 2002, the University underwent a major internal restructuring, when the existing faculties were reorganised into three Colleges, containing a total of 22 Schools.

The three Colleges are:

  • Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Science and Engineering
  • Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

Edinburgh College of Art (ECA) became part of the University of Edinburgh’s College of Humanities and Social Science in 2011. This substantially broadened the range of arts-focused disciplines already accommodated within the College, a range which now spans, inter alia, Art, Design, Architecture and Landscape Architecture, History of Art and Music.

ECA as a standalone institution had a history of reinvention, with attendant evolution in its name, from establishment as the School of Design set up by the Board of Manufactures in 1760. The Trustees’ Academy (housed at the University) then became the municipal Edinburgh College of Fine and Applied Arts at the beginning of the twentieth century, before its association with the Universities of both Heriot-Watt and Edinburgh.

Bringing together  Edinburgh College of Art and the former faculties of Arts, Divinity, Education, Law, Music and Social Science, the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, the largest of the three Colleges, encompasses 11 of the University's 22 schools.

Schools in the College

Central administrative and management services for the College are led by the College Senior Management Team consisting of the Vice-Principal (Head of College), the College Registrar, five deans, the Chief Information Officer, the College Accountant and the Head of College HR.

Management structure

The management structure of the College Office is led by a Vice-Principal, known as the Head of College, who is supported by five Deans and six Associate Deans.

Administrative structure

The administrative structure of the College is led by the College Registrar, with a Resources Team, Finance Team, Human Resources Team, Academic and Student Administration Team and Web Team.