Social Responsibility and Sustainability


The University's Social Responsibility and Sustainability committees meet regularly to help deliver our commitments and policies.

Social Responsibility and Sustainability Committee

SRS Committee was established to advise Central Management Group on how the University might differentiate itself as a leader in Social Responsibility and Sustainability (SRS) and take action to maximize its reputation and impact in this area.

Sustainability Strategy Advisory Group (SSAG)

The group was established to deliver all operational aspects of the University's Sustainability action plans and programmes, seeking to continuously improve the environmental performance of all operational areas of the University.

Sustainable Laboratories Steering Group

This committee provides expert guidance, directs the expanding remit of work associated with sustainable laboratories and links the sustainable laboratories agenda with University-wide strategic plans and objectives to ensure a coordinated approach.

Sustainable Information Technology Group

The University’s IT Committee has considered a proposal for revitalization and renewal of a Sustainable IT Group, securing representation from all areas to agree best practice in terms of the University’s sustainable approach to IT.

Utilities Working Group

Joint Estates / SRS group focusing on opportunities to reduce energy use and the UoE utilities bill, and linked in to review of the Climate Plan.

Travel and Aviation Working Group (TAWG)

sillouette of an airplane against a sunset
TAWG's remit is to support the delivery of the University’s ambition to be a net zero University by 2040 by undertaking a programme of work to secure a University-wide ‘climate conscious’ approach to travel, including aviation.