Prof John Moore

David Hume University Chair of Economics


John Moore is an economic theorist with an interest in the nature of contracts, and the interplay between financial markets and the rest of the economy.

He was appointed to the George Watson's and Daniel Stewart's Chair of Political Economy at the University of Edinburgh in 2000. Previously, in 1983, he was appointed to the London School of Economics, where in 1990 he became Professor of Economic Theory, a position he still holds. In 2018, Moore was appointed David Hume University Chair of Economics.

He was the 2010 President of the Econometric Society. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, the Econometric Society, the European Economic Association and the Royal Society of Edinburgh. He is a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Economic Association.

In 1999, he and his collaborator Nobuhiro Kiyotaki jointly received the Yrjö Jahnsson Award from the European Economic Association.

In 2010, Kiyotaki and Moore won the Stephen A. Ross Prize in Financial Economics for their paper "Credit Cycles".

John Moore's curriculum vitae and links to a selection of his papers and lectures are available at:

Research summary

Economic theory

Nature of contracts

Money, liquidity and the aggregate economy