Staff news

Honorary Professor: John Forrester

John Forrester has been made an Honorary Professor in the College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine.

John Forrester

Professor Forrester is Emeritus Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Aberdeen. Since 2012 he has also been Winthrop Professor of Ocular Immunology at the Lions Eye Institute, University of Western Australia.

He obtained his MBChB and MD from the University of Glasgow and began his career as an NHS Consultant Ophthalmologist in 1979. He became Cockburn Chair of Ophthalmology at the University of Aberdeen in 1984.

Professor Forrester was a founding member of the Academy of Medical Sciences in the UK and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and Glasgow, Royal College of Ophthalmologists, Physicians of Edinburgh, Academy of Medical Sciences, Royal Society of Edinburgh, Institute of Biology and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.

He has received numerous awards and visiting professorships during his career including the Mackenzie Medal (2007), the Doyne Memorial medal (2008) and the David Ben Ezra Medal (2011).

Professor Forrester serves on several boards and committees. He is chairman of both the Royal College of Ophthalmologists medical ophthalmology training committee and Diabetic Retinopathy guidelines committee. He is an editorial board member of the 'British Journal of Ophthalmology', 'European Journal of Ophthalmology', 'Mucosal Immunology' and 'Current Eye Research'.

His research interests include diabetic retinopathy, angiogenesis, endothelial cell function, ocular immunology, uveitis, autoimmune disease, imaging in ophthalmology, wound healing and corneal transplantation.

He has published more than 300 papers.