Staff news

HSS staff honoured

Five staff from the College of Humanities & Social Science have been honoured with inaugural College Recognition Awards.

The awards, which will be annual, celebrate excellence in enhancing teaching, mentoring colleagues, external engagement and collegiality.

A prize-giving ceremony took place in the Playfair Library on Friday, where winners were awarded £3,000 each to put towards their personal and professional development.

We are delighted to acknowledge and celebrate the excellent work of colleagues with these new prizes. The awards showcase the breadth of good work that takes place throughout the College, both within the University and the wider community.

Professor Dorothy MiellHead of the College of Humanities & Social Science

Full winners' list

Awards were given in four categories:

Susan Manning Award for Outstanding Mentor

  • Winner: Mrs Olwen Gorie, Head of Undergraduate Admissions, ECA, for her varied support of colleagues in developing their careers
  • Runner-up: Dr Charles Anderson, the Moray House School of Education

Best Engagement Initiative in the Wider Community

  • Winner: Dr Lloyd Llewellyn-Jones, Senior Lecturer, the School of History, Classics & Archaeology, for his role in setting up and developing the annual Edinburgh–Iranian Festival
  • Runner-up: Dr Anthony Allison, the School of Divinity

Outstanding Collegiality

  • Winner: Dr Hamish Macleod, Senior Lecturer, the Moray House School of Education, in recognition of his willingness to support and mentor staff across the University through his work with the Institute for Academic Development
  • Runner-up: Dr Pete Kingsley, the School of Social & Political Science

Best Teaching Quality Enhancement Initiative

  • Joint winners: Dr Sean Brocklebank, the School of Economics, for his work to improve the student experience and to support Mathematics students; and Dr Anna Souhamialso, the School of Law, for her restructure of the criminology provision in her School
  • Runner-up: Mal Burkinshaw, Programme Director of Fashion at ECA