Staff news

New appointments, new year

As the University settles into a new academic year, it welcomes seven new Heads of School, and a new Head of College.

Professor Lesley Yellowlees

Professor Lesley Yellowlees has been appointed as Head of the College of Science & Engineering.

New Heads have been appointed to the schools of GeoSciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Literatures, Languages & Cultures, Law, Health in Social Science, and Edinburgh College of Art.

First female

Lesley Yellowlees, Professor of Inorganic Electrochemistry, has been with the University as a staff member since 1986.

She is a former Head of the School of Chemistry.

Earlier this year she became the first female to be appointed President Elect of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

ECA Principal

The new Edinburgh College of Art, which merged with the University’s School of Arts, Culture & Environment on 1 August, has appointed Dr Chris Breward, as Principal.

Dr Breward is Head of Research at the Victoria and Albert Museum.

New Heads

The remaining new Heads of School are:

  • Professor Harry Braden (Mathematics)
  • Professor Charlotte Clarke (Health in Social Science)
  • Professor Lesley McAra (Law)
  • Professor Jeremy Robbins (Literatures, Languages & Cultures)
  • Professor Arthur Trew (Physics & Astronomy)
  • Professor Sandy Tudhope (GeoSciences)

With the exception of Professor McAra, who took up post in May, and Dr Breward, who is not yet in post, all new Heads began their roles on 1 August.